LibGuides: WHSL BCMP: Databases & Websites

What is here?

The Clinical Tools tab has been divided into boxes for article searching, diagnosis, calculators, evidence-based resources, clinical examination, and drug information. The links within each of these boxes open up either a web site, a database, or an e-book.

Essential Databases

AccessEmergency Medicine
Includes textbooks and EM Manual, videos, images, self-assessment Q&A, procedures and calculators. Also audio grand rounds lectures, and CORD (Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors) Cases. Complete online service that allows users to quickly search the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of emergency cases. Includes textbooks, images, updates, multimedia, and cases. It is fully customisable.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3
AccessMedicine
Site license. A comprehensive resource for pre-clinical and clinical medical sciences. Includes clinical and pre-clinical textbooks, Dx tests, DDx, Primary Care Guidelines, Quick Answers to common medical problems, case files, patient education and sets of readings built around key topics for internal medicine.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3
Anatomy TV
Anatomy TV covers a full range of interactive and accurate 3D models of human anatomy online, with specialised resources on various clinical areas and body systems. Includes comprehensive modules on the human body encompassing 3D anatomy and integrated physiology content..
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health.
ClinicalKey
It is a clinical search engine, including access to full text books, journals, guidelines and multimedia. For full access to all features you will need to register from a Wits (on campus) computer. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password.
NB CLINICALKEY DOES WORK ON IPADS OR ANDROID TABLETS, BUT WITHOUT FULL FUNCTIONALITY
ClinicalKey Student
Centralized hub of learning resources and tools. ALLOWS DOWNLOAD OF BOOKS FOR OFF-LINE USE & NOTE TAKING.
TO REGISTER GO TO https://www.clinicalkey.com/student/registration
Link to CK registration video: https://web.microsoftstream.com/video/dbec26bc-3a7d-4762-9eb5-2ab3b08cd6dc
For the video in Streams, Students will need to log in to Office365 with their Wits credentials to view the video. The video would not be zero-rated.
February 2022 training session link:
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/5F7mrnr6TxLRgEyDqGAPGk-gpqXeh1qjneIyf5bUtCvfBdyFJi_j7j9MK3mNXU-4.fYLkx-giwmh8Xz5P (Passcode: rcZ4?!FD)
more...less...
For the video in Streams, Students will need to log in to Office365 with their Wits credentials to view the video. The video would not be zero-rated.
Training recorded 1 June 2021 10h00
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/eJ4q-qk8YMjmEv_14rB0K318MSXVOrNypy5ACygyFVFFKu5huYBMZJBGP91hux2k.da_cJC_upQWZu3DN Passcode: W*0@T9CR
4 June 2021 session 16h00
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/9207UpBrLhpPvaZYxBRSq2LnUmK0yIQpbC-RM6q6MGe08Q9W1llkhjNW5dTQTlMA.W66M4dVthjtn5-Kc Passcode: j0P1&C?&

Earlier training sessions see below under the "more" link
Link to Training -12 May 2021 10h00-11h00
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/DugnpNyScfFef4BtJmJXSiHuEPkfupV_dMZP6v-E1rM48f0s_Ar2mApQJTPcy5tj.1eXrW_Za4N_ZJb1H Passcode: Z!bFwS3f (Please type the password when prompted, rather than copying and pasting.
Training 13 May 2021 16h00-1700
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/lgwuHTfK-vuK2wAPfGYPFtau8lL3RXZdEn6n04Ouh0aFTYcL-FgPIT0NuU1ycDOf.qzsv8pgnaHlnJoF2 Passcode: Aa*mWY7N (Please do not copy and paste the link, rather type it in when prompted.)
Training recording 9 Feb 2021 15h00
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/RnLbDWje2aZ-bNcGKx2K7A92ComLzZMw0FmQia78pDvOwLqzh0E-G8MdP8MRQxrY.PjUvusoh07yngfoP (Access Passcode: e23c#cC6)

Recorded Zoom Training 26 May 2020 11h00- copy and past link into browser
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/uulsDZyu5mlJb4n32Vv8QbxiWZTeaaa803IY8_ILxU3PHgGPKuAcWQTLLP0YMVlp Password: 7a*5W@!#
Recording Training session Thursday 28 May 2020 13h00 Copy & Paste link into browser https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/u_d7FpLUrWNIerPK0WeDS6EoRJ66aaa8hiAYr_BfyUhBOxJ_tDipNRsv2_OPtg4x (Access Password: 8U#c$.94)
PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to free full text articles as well as links to WHSL's subscribed content.
PubMed for handhelds/ mobile

Videos Demonstrating Procedures

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy: These gross anatomy videos are comprised of 5 volumes, organized by region. Each volume offers in depth coverage of the bones, joints, muscles and more..
WORKS BEST WITH MOZILLA FIREFOX or CHROME as your BROWSER
MedlinePlus
For surgical procedures, look at MedlinePlus
YouTube
YouTube is a good source of video clips where procedures are demonstrated. Just enter the terms (e.g. "blood pressure monitoring") or the name of the device (e.g. "Glucometer") into the search bar at the top of the page
Visible Body
Visible Body is a suite of online programs that covers anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models , animations, quizzes and more.. WORKS BEST with CHROME as your BROWSER

Search Engines: Google Scholar or Wikipedia or OpenMD or Mednar

Discovery tool: Search for library materials and digital content

This search tool allows you to find content from the library catalogue, all the library’s databases, journals, ebooks, the institutional repository WIReDSpace, and unique digital collections only available in the Wits library.

Advanced Search Find e-books & e-journals LibGuides e-Wits Catalogue