LibGuides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | O | P | Q | R | S | U | W

A
Accounting Subject guide
by Cathy Dryden - Last Updated Mar 5, 2012
one stop shop for useful subject links, helpful resources and tips for research in the field of accounting.

African Languages
by Margaret Northey - Last Updated Jun 6, 2011

African Literature
by Margaret Atsango - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
A simple, but not exhaustive compilation of useful information on African Literature.

Agriculture: Government Publications
by Rachel Louis - Last Updated May 15, 2012
Government information on agriculture in South Africa and links to agriculture in some African countries.

Animal, Plant and Environmental Sciences
by Vuvu Minya - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
This LibGuide will provide literature in the search of wide ranging information in the broad fields of Animal, Plant and Environmental Sciences.

Anthropology
by Jay Mathe - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012

Architecture
by Janie Johnson - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
A gateway for students in architectural studies providing guidelines, services, information and research techniques.


C
Chemistry Guide
by Stephen Mitchell - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
This will provide a very useful and helpful guide to the literature of Chemistry for students, staff and researchers alike.


Constitutional Law
by Aysha Patel - Last Updated Mar 5, 2012
This guide lists some print and online sources for researching Constitutional Law.

Construction Economics and Management
by Janie Johnson - Last Updated Apr 4, 2012
Libguides is a gateway to information needed for Construction Management and Quantity Surveying Studies.

Copyright and Related Issues
by Denise Nicholson - Last Updated May 2, 2012
This Libguide is a useful guide on copyright and related issues.

Copyright Guidelines for Staff & Students of the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg (WITS)
by Denise Nicholson - Last Updated May 9, 2012
This LibGuide provides definitions, legislation and procedures for copyright clearance for teaching and research purposes.

D
Data Management
by Nina Lewin - Last Updated Apr 20, 2012
We acknowledge the Science Bibliographers and Interns at Boston College and template Data Management created by University of Nebraska-Lincoln.WITS Data service provides no warranty, nor accepts any liability occurring from any use of data source links.

Data Services
by Nina Lewin - Last Updated Apr 24, 2012
Dr Bern at Syracuse has kindly given permission to reuse his libguide and search engine. WITS Data service provides no warranty, nor accepts any liability occurring from any use of data source links. Data must be cited , agreements are enforceable.

Digital Art
by Nkemeleng Lesejane - Last Updated Jul 26, 2011

Digitisation - Preservation, Curation and Data Management
by Denise Nicholson - Last Updated May 14, 2012
This LibGuides provides resources and assistance to libraries and other organisations embarking on, or involved in, digitization projects.

Dramatic Art
by Nkemeleng Lesejane - Last Updated Jul 26, 2011

E
Economic & Business Sciences
by xoliswa xanko - Last Updated Mar 8, 2012
Your gateway to the Library & Electronic Resources relevant to your subject information needs.

Education
by Cornelia Bothma - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
This is your guide to resources and electronic databases for education theory and practice.

Education (Basic Education): Government Publications
by Sophie Motsewabone - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
A guide to basic education (Grade R-Grade 12) published by the Government Department of Education

Engineering: Aeronautical
by Maryna Van Den Heever - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
This Subject guide is your starting point for doing research in the most relevant resources in Aeronautical Engineering. This include databases, reference materials, citing sources, and workshop programs to assist you with your research.

Engineering: Chemical
by Maryna Van Den Heever - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
This Subject guide is your starting point for doing research in the most relevant resources in Chemical Engineering. This include databases, reference materials, citing sources, and workshop programs to assist you with your research.

Engineering: Civil
by Maryna Van Den Heever - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
This Subject guide is your starting point for doing research in the most relevant resources in Civil Engineering. This include databases, reference materials, citing sources, and workshop programs to assist you with your research.

Engineering: Electrical
by Maryna Van Den Heever - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
This is your one stop gateway to information in Information Engineering. This includes Library Resources, links to websites, workshop details and contact details for support.

Engineering: Environmental
by Maryna Van Den Heever - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
This is your one stop gateway to information in Environmental Engineering. This includes relevant library Resources, links to websites, workshop dates and contact details for support.

Engineering: Industrial
by Maryna Van Den Heever - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
This Subject guide is your starting point for doing research in the most relevant resources in Industrial Engineering. This include databases, reference materials, citing sources, and workshop programs to assist you with your research.

Engineering: Information
by Maryna Van Den Heever - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
This is your one stop gateway to information in Information Engineering. This includes Library Resources, links to websites, workshop details and contact details for support.

Engineering: Mechanical
by Maryna Van Den Heever - Last Updated May 2, 2012
This Subject guide is your starting point for doing research in the most relevant resources in Mechanical Engineering. This include databases, reference materials, citing sources, and workshop programs to assist you with your research.

Engineering: Metallurgical
by Maryna Van Den Heever - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
This is your one stop gateway to information in Metallurgical Engineering. This includes Library Resources, links to websites, workshop information and contact details for support.

Engineering: Mining
by Maryna Van Den Heever - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
This is your one stop gateway to information in Mining Engineering. This includes Library Resources, Links to websites and contact details for support.

Entrepreneurship
by xoliswa xanko - Last Updated May 9, 2012

Executive Education
by Anna Siwela - Last Updated Jan 11, 2012
This guide is created for you. It has all the resources you will need on one page.

F
Film & Television
by Nkemeleng Lesejane - Last Updated Sep 26, 2011

Fine Art
by Nkemeleng Lesejane - Last Updated Jul 26, 2011

G
Geography
by Stephen Mitchell - Last Updated Feb 23, 2012
One stop shop to your geographic information resources


Geology
by Stephen Mitchell - Last Updated Feb 23, 2012
Gateway to all Geological subjects

Government Publications
by Buyisiwe Mncube - Last Updated Apr 26, 2012
Sources of Government Publications.

H
Higher Education
by Cornelia Bothma - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
Tertiary education

History
by Jay Mathe - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012

History of Art
by Nkemeleng Lesejane - Last Updated Jul 26, 2011

Housing
by Janie Johnson - Last Updated Sep 3, 2011


I
Inclusive Education
by Cornelia Bothma - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
Resources for the Wits School of Education's course in Inclusive Education.

International Relations Subject Portal
by Jay Mathe - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012

J
Journalism and Media Studies
by Denise Nicholson - Last Updated May 10, 2012

L
Law Library
by Surendra Jugdav, Anna Siwela - Last Updated May 15, 2012
A Comprehensive Guide to Law Information

Law Library
by Surendra Jugdav, Anna Siwela - Last Updated May 16, 2012
A One Stop Facility To Access Legal Information Resources

Library and Information Science
by Cornelia Bothma - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012
This subject guide is aimed at the library staff of the University of the Witwatersrand for personal career development and interest

Linguistics
by Margaret Northey - Last Updated Nov 25, 2011

M
Master of Management (Innovation studies)
by Jennifer Croll - Last Updated Aug 16, 2011
This short guide will direct you to useful resources for your studies

Master's of Business Administration
by xoliswa xanko - Last Updated May 9, 2012
This Libguide or Subject Portal has been created especially for MBA student's studying at WBS. It contains all the neccesary information needed by students to get the best MBA they can - 'a one stop shop'.

Masters of Finance Subject Portal/Libguide
by xoliswa xanko - Last Updated May 9, 2012
This subject portal has been created for students at WBS who are studying for the above degree. You will find links to important library resources, all on one page, that will help you with your research.

Mining: Government Publications
by Rachel Louis - Last Updated Jul 29, 2011
Publications published by the Government of South Africa and some of Southern African countries on mining

Mobile Technologies, M-Learning & Social Networking
by Denise Nicholson - Last Updated May 11, 2012
This LibGuide provides articles and other resources on Mobile Technologies, particularly relating to libraries and access to knowledge.

Music
by Nkemeleng Lesejane - Last Updated Aug 18, 2011

O
Open Access, A2K & Scholarly Communication
by Denise Nicholson - Last Updated May 14, 2012
This LibGuide provides useful information about the Open Access Movement, open access publishing and scholarly communication trends.

Open Learning Resources
by Denise Nicholson - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
This LibGuide provides resources on open learning guidelines, websites, articles, etc.

P
Philosophy
by Jay Mathe - Last Updated Jan 17, 2012

Physics Guide
by Vuvu Minya - Last Updated Apr 26, 2012


Political Studies
by Jay Mathe - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012

Property Studies
by Siyabonga Zondi - Last Updated Mar 29, 2012
This is provides valuable information needed for Property Studies

Psychology
by Sello Borephe - Last Updated May 16, 2012
Psychology is one of the Department within the School of Human and Community Development of the Faculty of Humanities

Public and Development Management's Libguide
by xoliswa xanko - Last Updated May 9, 2012
This Libguide is designed for students in P&DM. It includes library resources that will be relevant to them.

Q
Quantity Surveying
by Janie Johnson - Last Updated Sep 3, 2011
QS is a discipline in the Built Environment for which this Libguide is intended. We hope to provide a service to QS students as well as providing a platform for communication in this Libguide.

R
Reducing a PDF File Size
by Khulisa Sithole - Last Updated Apr 1, 2010
This is a step by step guide of how to reduce a PDF file size

Resources for Blind and Visually-Impaired Persons
by Denise Nicholson - Last Updated May 16, 2012
This Libguide provides information and useful websites and resources to assist users who are blind or visually impaired and organizations servicing blind and visually impaired persons.

Resources for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Persons
by Denise Nicholson - Last Updated May 14, 2012
This Libguide provides information and useful web resources for persons who are deaf or who have hearing impairments, as well as persons providing education, training or other services to persons with hearing problems.

S
Safety and Security (Defence): Government Publications
by Rachel Louis - Last Updated Jul 29, 2011
Publications published by the Government of South Africa National Defence force.

Safety and Security (Policing): Government Publication
by Rachel Louis - Last Updated Jul 29, 2011
Goverment information published by the South African Police service

Scenario Planning
by xoliswa xanko - Last Updated May 9, 2012
The course code for this elective, lectured by Koffi, is PADM5224




Security Studies
by xoliswa xanko - Last Updated May 9, 2012
A Higher Diploma and Masters offered at P&DM

Sociology Subject Guide
by Jay Mathe - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012

Stats
by Vernon Naidoo - Last Updated Feb 20, 2012
General stats

U
Urban Regional Development & Planning
by Janie Johnson - Last Updated Feb 17, 2012
This is a gateway to support students in rural- as well as urban developmental studies.

W
WHSL Anaesthesiology
by Trish Warner - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012
A guide to assist students and staff locate Anaesthesiology-related resources.

WHSL Basic Searching in PubMed
by Glenda Myers - Last Updated Jul 19, 2011
A brief guide to using one MeSH term to search PubMed

WHSL Chemical Pathology
by Trish Warner - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012

WHSL Citing the Medical Literature
by Glenda Myers - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012
How to cite print and electronic books and journals using Vancouver or Harvard styles for use in the Faculty of Health Sciences, University of the Witwatersrand (GEMP 1 PCMS, MTP1, MTP2)

WHSL Clinical Questions using PubMed
by Glenda Myers - Last Updated Apr 5, 2012
The first in a series of evidence-based medicine guides

WHSL e-Resources in Health Care
by Trish Warner - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012
Links to electronic databases, books and journals relevant to health care

WHSL Emergency Medicine
by Trish Warner - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012

WHSL Evaluating Web Sites for Health Information
by Glenda Myers - Last Updated Apr 17, 2012
A brief guide showing how to evaluate web sites used to provide health information

WHSL Evidence-Based Medicine
by Glenda Myers - Last Updated Apr 4, 2012
This guide supplements WHSL lectures and tutorials on EBM information searching

WHSL Family Medicine
by Trish Warner - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012

WHSL Forensic Medicine
by Trish Warner - Last Updated Mar 6, 2012

WHSL Guide for New Academic Staff at the Faculty of Health Sciences
by Glenda Myers - Last Updated Mar 19, 2012
Useful information about WHSL for new academic staff members

WHSL Guide to Information Sources in the Health Sciences
by Glenda Myers - Last Updated Mar 3, 2011
Guides you through the various types of information sources and their use

WHSL Introduction to the Medical Literature
by Glenda Myers - Last Updated Feb 23, 2012
This guide will show you the basics of how to find information in print and online at the Witwatersrand Health Sciences Library (GEMP 1 PCMS Module 1)

WHSL Medical Subject Headings for PubMed Searching
by Glenda Myers - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012
This guide will assist you to use the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) when you are searching in PubMed

WHSL New Students Guide
by Phindile Bekwa - Last Updated Feb 20, 2012
A guide to the use of the Witwatersrand Health Sciences Library for new students

WHSL Nursing
by Trish Warner - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012

WHSL Occupational Therapy
by Glenda Myers - Last Updated Dec 9, 2011
Using Library resources related to Occupational Therapy

WHSL Paediatrics
by Trish Warner - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012

WHSL Pharmacy and Pharmacology
by Trish Warner - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012

WHSL Physiology
by Trish Warner - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012


WHSL RefWorks
by Trish Warner - Last Updated Apr 30, 2012
Help getting started in managing your references

WHSL Saved Searches - PubMed's My NCBI
by Trish Warner - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012
How to use PubMed's My NCBI, and other methods of keeping up to date with the latest medical information

WHSL Systematic Reviews
by Glenda Myers - Last Updated May 6, 2011
A brief overview of how to find systematic reviews using PubMed


Witsplus Subject Guide
by xoliswa xanko - Last Updated Mar 3, 2012
A gateway to Electronic Resources relevant to your field of study.

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Receive Email Updates

Featured Librarian

Profile Image
Khulisa Sithole
Logo - Skype
Contact Info
011 717 1930
Send Email