Skip to Main Content

Social Sciences - Anthropology: Reference Sources

English Language Reference

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology
The Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar
Oxford Dictionary of English Idioms
Concise Oxford Companion to the English Language
A New Dictionary of Eponyms
The Oxford Essential Dictionary of Foreign Terms in English
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics
The Oxford Dictionary of Modern Slang

The Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs
The Oxford Dictionary of Reference and Allusion
Oxford Dictionary of Rhymes
The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction
The New Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors
The Oxford Dictionary of American Usage and Style
Pocket Fowler's Modern English Usage
The Oxford Dictionary of Word Origins

Reference Books

A Companion to the Anthropology of American Indians
Edited by: Thomas Biolsi

A Companion to the Anthropology of Japan
Edited by: Jennifer Robertson

A Companion to the Anthropology of Politics
Edited by: David Nugent and Joan Vincent

A Companion to Biological Anthropology
Edited by: Clark Spencer Larsen

A Companion to Latin American Anthropology
Edited by: Deborah Poole

A Companion to Linguistic Anthropology
Edited by: Alessandro Duranti

A Companion to Psychological Anthropology
Edited by: Conerly Casey and Robert B. Edgerton

Reference Sources Online

English Dictionaries

New Oxford American Dictionary
The Australian Oxford Dictionary
The Canadian Oxford Dictionary

Oxford Dictionary of English
The New Zealand Oxford Dictionary
The Oxford Paperback Thesaurus
Visual English Dictionary