LibGuides: WHSL Pharmacy and Pharmacology: Databases & Websites

Essential databases

AccessPharmacy
Search across leading pharmacy online textbooks and references. Includes Q&A, calculators, Dx tests, virtual cases and care plans.
Essential, interactive source. Includes textbooks as well as tools such as videos, animations, quizzes and case studies. It is continually updated.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy: These gross anatomy videos are comprised of 5 volumes, organized by region. Each volume offers in depth coverage of the bones, joints, muscles and more..
WORKS BEST WITH MOZILLA FIREFOX or CHROME as your BROWSER
Anatomy TV
Anatomy TV covers a full range of interactive and accurate 3D models of human anatomy online, with specialised resources on various clinical areas and body systems. Includes comprehensive modules on the human body encompassing 3D anatomy and integrated physiology content..
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialities in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, customised patient education handouts and more. You will ensure that your care teams have access to evidence-based information, so they can answer complex questions related to their patients' conditions. For full access to all features you will need to register from a Wits (on campus) computer using your wits email details and activate the remote access option for 90 days. A link is then sent to your Wits email address which needs to be activated within 60 minutes of your registration. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password. You will be required to reactivate remote access at a Wits networked computer after every 90 days using your wits email details.
NB CLINICALKEY DOES WORK ON IPADS OR ANDROID TABLETS, BUT WITHOUT FULL FUNCTIONALITY
ClinicalKey Student
Centralized hub of learning resources and tools. ALLOWS DOWNLOAD OF BOOKS FOR OFF-LINE USE & NOTE TAKING.
TO REGISTER GO TO https://www.clinicalkey.com/student/registration
Link to CK registration video: https://web.microsoftstream.com/video/dbec26bc-3a7d-4762-9eb5-2ab3b08cd6dc
For the video in Streams, Students will need to log in to Office365 with their Wits credentials to view the video. The video would not be zero-rated.
February 2022 training session link:
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/5F7mrnr6TxLRgEyDqGAPGk-gpqXeh1qjneIyf5bUtCvfBdyFJi_j7j9MK3mNXU-4.fYLkx-giwmh8Xz5P (Passcode: rcZ4?!FD)
more...less...
For the video in Streams, Students will need to log in to Office365 with their Wits credentials to view the video. The video would not be zero-rated.
Training recorded 1 June 2021 10h00
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/eJ4q-qk8YMjmEv_14rB0K318MSXVOrNypy5ACygyFVFFKu5huYBMZJBGP91hux2k.da_cJC_upQWZu3DN Passcode: W*0@T9CR
4 June 2021 session 16h00
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/9207UpBrLhpPvaZYxBRSq2LnUmK0yIQpbC-RM6q6MGe08Q9W1llkhjNW5dTQTlMA.W66M4dVthjtn5-Kc Passcode: j0P1&C?&

Earlier training sessions see below under the "more" link
Link to Training -12 May 2021 10h00-11h00
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/DugnpNyScfFef4BtJmJXSiHuEPkfupV_dMZP6v-E1rM48f0s_Ar2mApQJTPcy5tj.1eXrW_Za4N_ZJb1H Passcode: Z!bFwS3f (Please type the password when prompted, rather than copying and pasting.
Training 13 May 2021 16h00-1700
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/lgwuHTfK-vuK2wAPfGYPFtau8lL3RXZdEn6n04Ouh0aFTYcL-FgPIT0NuU1ycDOf.qzsv8pgnaHlnJoF2 Passcode: Aa*mWY7N (Please do not copy and paste the link, rather type it in when prompted.)
Training recording 9 Feb 2021 15h00
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/RnLbDWje2aZ-bNcGKx2K7A92ComLzZMw0FmQia78pDvOwLqzh0E-G8MdP8MRQxrY.PjUvusoh07yngfoP (Access Passcode: e23c#cC6)

Recorded Zoom Training 26 May 2020 11h00- copy and past link into browser
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/uulsDZyu5mlJb4n32Vv8QbxiWZTeaaa803IY8_ILxU3PHgGPKuAcWQTLLP0YMVlp Password: 7a*5W@!#
Recording Training session Thursday 28 May 2020 13h00 Copy & Paste link into browser https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/u_d7FpLUrWNIerPK0WeDS6EoRJ66aaa8hiAYr_BfyUhBOxJ_tDipNRsv2_OPtg4x (Access Password: 8U#c$.94)
Lexidrug (Lexicomp)
Lexidrug (previously Lexicomp Online) is a comprehensive clinical database that provides access to current drug and disease information. Features include drug identification, drug dosing calculation, AHFS content, patient education materials, and more. This also includes modules from Facts & Comparisons: Trissel’s IV Check; Drug Comparison Reviews; Comparative Data Tables; and Formulary Monograph Service.
Training videos: https://www.wolterskluwer.com/en/solutions/lexicomp/resources/lexicomp-user-academy/videos
PubChem Compound
PContains unique, validated chemical structures (small molecules) that can be searched using names, synonyms or keywords. The compound records may link to more than one PubChem Substance record if different depositors supplied the same structure. These Compound records reflect validated chemical depiction information provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance. Structures stored within PubChem Compounds are pre-clustered and cross-referenced by identity and similarity groups. Additionally, calculated properties and descriptors are available for searching and filtering of chemical structures.
PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to free full text articles as well as links to WHSL's subscribed content.
Sage Research Methods Core
Sage Research Methods is a tool designed to help researcher explore methods concepts, design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. The core subscription provides access to the e-book, reference and e-journal content only. It focuses specifically on research methodologies, and is not limited to specific disciplines
SciFinder
SciFinder-n is one of the most comprehensive databases for the chemical literature.
(SciFinder Scholar Online Tutorials)
SCOPUS
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Coverage broader than PubMed. Provides citation data and h-index data. Excellent database for physiology.
Includes health sciences, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics. There are some links to full text. A large part of Embase is included.
UpToDate
An electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine. "Designed to provide physicians access to current clinical information. It addresses specific clinical issues in the form of topic reviews. According to UpToDate, it “is designed to get physicians the concise, practical answers they need when they need them most—at the point of care.” Topic reviews are written by physician experts who review the literature then synthesize the information into specific recommendations for diagnosis, management, and therapy." (J.A.Garrison.2003)

Drug Information Resources

DailyMed
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA package inserts. This site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service. Please remember that this is a US site, and the information applies in the US
Dietary Supplements Labels Database
Drug Digest
Noncommercial, evidence-based, consumer health and drug information site dedicated to empowering consumers to make informed choices about drugs and treatment options.
Drug Information Guide: National Library of Medicine
Provided by the Public Services Division of the US National Library of Medicine, this subject guide will help you find the best drug information
Drugs.com
A US site providing free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent advice on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products. Includes a pill identifier
Drugs @ FDA
Search for mongraphs on FDA-approved drugs
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)
This is a US , peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
Drugs and Supplements (Mayo Clinic)
Look up prescription and over the counter drug information, with useful data on herbs, supplements and vitamins
Essential Medical Guidance ( EMGuidance)
Free, instant access to locally relevant medicines info & clinical guidelines.Comprehensive clinical support platform created by medical professionals, for medical professionals.
The EMGuidance website and search engine is South Africa’s most comprehensive, evidence-based, consistently updated and fully-referenced medicines resource. It is created in partnership with a national network of pharmacologists, specialists and academic institutions.
The medicines information is intuitively searchable by trade name, active ingredient and registered indication. You required to create an account to access the resource.
LiverTox
Comprehensive information about drug induced liver injury
NLM Drug Information
Site created by the US National Library of Medicine. Search by drug name to find links to more information
Office of Dietary Supplements
A US site, provided by National Institutes of Health. "Strengthening knowledge and understanding of dietary supplements."
Orange Book (FDA)
US approved drugs with therapeutic evaluations. This is produced by the United States Federal Drug Agency.
PillBox
The pill-identification tool is under construction. It provides a quick way to identify pill from basic information such as colour, shape, etc. It is being developed by the National Library of Medicine.
Pubmed Dietary Supplement Subset
A US database for finding articles related to dietary supplements including chemical composition, biochemical role, clinical trials, etc.
Tip: For full text cut and paste the PMID into Pubmed
RxClass
Great new way to search for drug information by drug class. RxClass allows users to search and browse drug classes and their RxNorm drug members through a simple Web interface
Searching Drugs or Chemicals in PubMed ( Tutorial)
If you want to do a thorough drug search in PubMed, here is a tutorial that explains the best way to do that.
South African Electronic Package Inserts

Chemical Information

CAS Registry and CAS Registry numbers
Chemical Abstract Services: Site of the American Chemical Society. Only available via Scifinder and only with username and password available from the Electronic Resources Librarian (Jo-Anne.king at wits.ac.za)
more...less...
https://0-scifinder.cas.org.innopac.wits.ac.za/
Hazardous Substances Databank (HSDB®)
PubChem Compound
PContains unique, validated chemical structures (small molecules) that can be searched using names, synonyms or keywords. The compound records may link to more than one PubChem Substance record if different depositors supplied the same structure. These Compound records reflect validated chemical depiction information provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance. Structures stored within PubChem Compounds are pre-clustered and cross-referenced by identity and similarity groups. Additionally, calculated properties and descriptors are available for searching and filtering of chemical structures.
Reaxys
Reaxys provides user-friendly access to experimentally validated data about chemical structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and properties. Includes medicinal chemistry.
Off Campus users need to register on the publisher's website using a Wits e-mail address.
A source of experimentally validated data about chemical structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and properties. It is made up of three chemistry databases:
Beilstein - information on the structures, reactions,and properties of organic carbon compounds, drawn from the journal literature back to the 18th century.
Gmelin - information on structures and properties of inorganic and metal-organic compounds, drawn from the journal and patent literature back to the early 19th century.
Patent Chemistry Database - a new file of organic chemistry information drawn from selected English-language chemical patents (US, WO, EP, 1976- ). Additional historical (1869-1980) patent coverage comes from the Beilstein and Gmelin files.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals
The Royal Society for Chemistry is a major publisher and provider of chemical information. Includes MedChemComm; Molecular BioSystems. Includes full text journals, books, and Chemspider with comprehensive compound data
SciFinder-n
A core research tool for Chemical Abstracts databases. Access to the database is by username and password, and is restricted to currently registered staff and students of the university.
** First-time users will need to register and create an account in order to access the database
To register Link https://0-origin--scifinder-cas-org.innopac.wits.ac.za/registration/index.html?corpKey=B720CD5EX86F350ABX3256183B5D4D65995D.
A core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering fields. The database has five components:
Chemical Abstracts (CAplus) A bibliographic database that indexes journal articles and patent records, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations and meeting abstracts
CAS registry A comprehensive list of organic and inorganic substances and sequences dating from 1957 - present
CASREACT A database of single and multi-step reactions indexed from journal articles and patents dating from 1840- present
CHEMCATS A catalogue of commercially available chemicals from more than 900 commercial chemical suppliers
CHEMLIST A database of substances regulated national and international agencies. Includes the EINECS and Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA) Inventory
more...less...
E-mail address of Jo-Anne King: jo-anne.king@wits.ac.za
Sigma Aldrich
Searchable for information on compounds
TOXNET
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases from the NLM.

Evidence-Based Resources

These resources contain pre-appraised information, as well as some Guideline sites

Best Practice
Evidence-based resource for each condition including a summary, definition, aetiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment. There are links to the full text of Martindale. Also includes patient education.
There is BMJ BestPractice app available for Wits users
Cochrane Library
SAMRC cancelled subscription for SA. Placed on list of possible subscriptions.
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; CENTRAL (Controlled Trials); Database of Abstracts of reviews of Effects (DARE). Evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic reviews, clinical trials and reviews of effectiveness. Recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, Professional version
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Industry Links

Business Monitor International
Includes information on the pharmaceutical industry
Compendex / Engineering Village 2
Useful for biomedical engineering; drug manufacturing processes; pharmaceutical packaging.
IEEE Xplore
Use for information on manufacture of drugs

Legal/ Official Links

Federal Drug Administration
Includes drug regulatory information from US, as well as news relating to medicinal products
Government Gazettes (SABINET)
South African Government Gazettes from 1994 to present. Search the Government Gazettes. For older Gazettes, see Retrospective Government Gazettes.
LexisNexis Academic
In addition to legal information, this includes news, pharmaceutical, company, ethics, patent and other information relevant to the health care field. It is US focused, but includes international information.
Medicines Control Council
The official site of the South African Medicines Control Council, includes legal and drug safety information
Retrospective Government Gazette Archive
The Sabinet Retrospective Government Gazette Archive contains more than 22 000 Government Gazettes covering the period 1910 to 1993.
SABINET Legal
South African Legal information
South African Department of Health
Search here for official fact sheets, statistics, etc.
South African Pharmacy Council

Discovery tool: Search for library materials and digital content

This search tool allows you to find content from the library catalogue, all the library’s databases, journals, ebooks, the institutional repository WIReDSpace, and unique digital collections only available in the Wits library.

Advanced Search Find e-books & e-journals LibGuides e-Wits Catalogue

Useful links

AccessMedicine
Site license. A comprehensive resource for pre-clinical and clinical medical sciences. Includes clinical and pre-clinical textbooks, Dx tests, DDx, Primary Care Guidelines, Quick Answers to common medical problems, case files, patient education and sets of readings built around key topics for internal medicine.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health.
DOI
Digital Object Identifier site
Plain English Campaign
Includes useful tools to assist in writing of good Englsh
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect has evolved from a web database of Elsevier Science journals to one of the world s largest providers of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Full text coverage of all Elsevier journals from date of inception to the present.
Supporting resource: To access the recording of ScienceDirect training please follow Recording link
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/AxSnkZuNV130tCeYVnhi0Lm6DrVwqr8Rdi6AB3Fa7Zh5pjEFASOt_rwZKxAO0w
as.J3Xkl5f8m2u1DLb9
Access Passcode: Elsevier123!

Calculators

CEBM Stats Calculators
Diagnostic Test - calculates the Sensitivity, Specificity, PPV, NPV, LR+, and LR-
Prospective Study - calculates the Relative Risk (RR), Absolute Relative Risk (ARR), and Number Needed to Treat (NNT)
Case-control Study - calculates the O
EBM Calculators
Canadian resource
JAMAEvidence Calculators
Therapy, Risk Reduction, Number Needed to Treat, Harm, Risk Increase, Number Needed to Harm, Diagnosis, Likelihood Ratio, Agreement Calculator (Kappa)
MedCalc
RPhWorld.com: Calculators
Clinical calculators, creatinine clearance calculator, pharmacist calculators, clinical risk calculator, clinical tools, cancer drug dose calculator, drug potency conversion calculator, pharmacist dispensary calculation, pharmacist dilution calculator, fluid dilution calculator, medical calculator, medical formula calculators
Student Nurse Forum: Nursing Calculators
Dosages, unit conversions, IV rate, Scores, etc.
UpToDate Calculators
Calculators used in Cardiology, Critical Care, Emergency Medicine, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Haematology, Hospital Medicine, ID, Nephrology, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Paediatrics, Primary Care, Pulmonology, Rheumatology and Surgery

Search Engines: Google Scholar or Wikipedia or OpenMD or Mednar

Our Access Databases via Mobile Devices

Using your browser on a PC, open the Access database (Medicine, Pharmacy, or Emergency Medicine).

Click on "My Accessmedicine" (or equivalent) > Create Profile > Save.

You will be able to use this username and password on your mobile device to open the McGrawHill Access products. As with all our e-resources you will have to go in via a link from a library site.

AccessMedicine
Site license. A comprehensive resource for pre-clinical and clinical medical sciences. Includes clinical and pre-clinical textbooks, Dx tests, DDx, Primary Care Guidelines, Quick Answers to common medical problems, case files, patient education and sets of readings built around key topics for internal medicine.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3
AccessPharmacy
Search across leading pharmacy online textbooks and references. Includes Q&A, calculators, Dx tests, virtual cases and care plans.
Essential, interactive source. Includes textbooks as well as tools such as videos, animations, quizzes and case studies. It is continually updated.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3
AccessEmergency Medicine
Includes textbooks and EM Manual, videos, images, self-assessment Q&A, procedures and calculators. Also audio grand rounds lectures, and CORD (Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors) Cases. Complete online service that allows users to quickly search the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of emergency cases. Includes textbooks, images, updates, multimedia, and cases. It is fully customisable.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3

Witwatersrand Health Sciences Library

7 York Road

Parktown

Johannesburg

2193

SOUTH AFRICA

Tel: 011 717-2348

WHSL Pharmacy and Pharmacology: Databases & Websites