WHSL Emergency Medicine: Databases & Websites

Includes textbooks and EM Manual, videos, images, self-assessment Q&A, procedures and calculators. Also audio grand rounds lectures, and CORD (Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors) Cases. Complete online service that allows users to quickly search the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of emergency cases. Includes textbooks, images, updates, multimedia, and cases. It is fully customisable.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3

ClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialities in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, customised patient education handouts and more. You will ensure that your care teams have access to evidence-based information, so they can answer complex questions related to their patients' conditions. For full access to all features you will need to register from a Wits (on campus) computer using your wits email details and activate the remote access option for 90 days. A link is then sent to your Wits email address which needs to be activated within 60 minutes of your registration. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password. You will be required to reactivate remote access at a Wits networked computer after every 90 days using your wits email details.
NB CLINICALKEY DOES WORK ON IPADS OR ANDROID TABLETS, BUT WITHOUT FULL FUNCTIONALITY

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to free full text articles as well as links to WHSL's subscribed content.

The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Coverage broader than PubMed. Provides citation data and h-index data. Excellent database for physiology.
Includes health sciences, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics. There are some links to full text. A large part of Embase is included.

Search across leading pharmacy online textbooks and references. Includes Q&A, calculators, Dx tests, virtual cases and care plans.
Essential, interactive source. Includes textbooks as well as tools such as videos, animations, quizzes and case studies. It is continually updated.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3

The BP is the official collection of standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances, produced by the British Pharmacopoeia Commission Secretariat of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency.
NB: WORKS BEST WITH recent version of popular browsers, such as Chrome 22, Firefox 27, IE 8, 9 and 10, IE 11 or Safari 7

Includes fundamental principles, the clinical basis of medical toxicology as well as case studies and study questions.

This is an AccessMedicine ebook.
This contains practical advice for the diagnosis and management of poisoning and drug overdose and concise information about common industrial chemicals.

Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases from the NLM.

American College of Physicians produces this resource to help busy physicians keep up with changing guidelines in primary care, ACP Medicine is a continually updated, evidence-based reference of internal medicine. This is available via the STAT!Ref app.

Evidence-based resource for each condition including a summary, definition, aetiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment. There are links to the full text of Martindale. Also includes patient education.
There is BMJ BestPractice app available for Wits users

Best Evidence Topics: An evidence-based medicine site for emergency medicine, created at Manchester Royal Infirmary. Comment and contributions from practitioners is welcomed.

SAMRC cancelled subscription for SA. Placed on list of possible subscriptions.
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; CENTRAL (Controlled Trials); Database of Abstracts of reviews of Effects (DARE). Evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic reviews, clinical trials and reviews of effectiveness. Recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.

From University of Illinois.

Canadian resource

An American database with useful search features arranged by symptom or condition

Evidence-based medical information

Turning Research Into Practice evidence-based medicine

Site license. A comprehensive resource for pre-clinical and clinical medical sciences. Includes clinical and pre-clinical textbooks, Dx tests, DDx, Primary Care Guidelines, Quick Answers to common medical problems, case files, patient education and sets of readings built around key topics for internal medicine.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3

This is a full-text resource, including toxicology, chemical hazards, carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, teratogenicity, and more.

Improving access to disaster health information : US Department of Health & Human Services

In addition to legal information, this includes news, pharmaceutical, company, ethics, patent and other information relevant to the health care field. It is US focused, but includes international information.

Includes useful tools to assist in writing of good Englsh

Choose a news channel to find what you are looking for

Radio 702's news channel

South African news site.

South African news site

This is a clipping site covering South African resources.

South African Government Gazettes from 1994 to present. Search the Government Gazettes. For older Gazettes, see Retrospective Government Gazettes.

The Sabinet Retrospective Government Gazette Archive contains more than 22 000 Government Gazettes covering the period 1910 to 1993.

Full text collection of South African electronic journals. Includes scholarly publications.

South African Legal information

Includes section on documents, statistics, fact sheets, etc.

Diagnostic Test - calculates the Sensitivity, Specificity, PPV, NPV, LR+, and LR-
Prospective Study - calculates the Relative Risk (RR), Absolute Relative Risk (ARR), and Number Needed to Treat (NNT)
Case-control Study - calculates the O

Canadian resource

Therapy, Risk Reduction, Number Needed to Treat, Harm, Risk Increase, Number Needed to Harm, Diagnosis, Likelihood Ratio, Agreement Calculator (Kappa)

Clinical calculators, creatinine clearance calculator, pharmacist calculators, clinical risk calculator, clinical tools, cancer drug dose calculator, drug potency conversion calculator, pharmacist dispensary calculation, pharmacist dilution calculator, fluid dilution calculator, medical calculator, medical formula calculators

Dosages, unit conversions, IV rate, Scores, etc.

Calculators used in Cardiology, Critical Care, Emergency Medicine, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Haematology, Hospital Medicine, ID, Nephrology, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Paediatrics, Primary Care, Pulmonology, Rheumatology and Surgery

Spanish National Health System has English translations of clinical practice guidelines, as well as training materials, and materials related to evidence-based medicine

US government site

US site

US Government site

When searching PubMed, use the Limit "Guidelines " under Type of Article. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine

Microsoft Academic (academic.microsoft.com) is a project exploring how to assist human conducting scientific research by leveraging machine’s cognitive power in memory, computation, sensing, attention, and endurance.

guidelines and updates in searching PubMed

Site license. A comprehensive resource for pre-clinical and clinical medical sciences. Includes clinical and pre-clinical textbooks, Dx tests, DDx, Primary Care Guidelines, Quick Answers to common medical problems, case files, patient education and sets of readings built around key topics for internal medicine.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3

Search across leading pharmacy online textbooks and references. Includes Q&A, calculators, Dx tests, virtual cases and care plans.
Essential, interactive source. Includes textbooks as well as tools such as videos, animations, quizzes and case studies. It is continually updated.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3

Includes textbooks and EM Manual, videos, images, self-assessment Q&A, procedures and calculators. Also audio grand rounds lectures, and CORD (Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors) Cases. Complete online service that allows users to quickly search the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of emergency cases. Includes textbooks, images, updates, multimedia, and cases. It is fully customisable.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3