Skip to main content

WHSL Systematic Reviews: Finding Systematic Reviews

A brief overview of how to find systematic reviews using PubMed

Databases Used to Find Systematic Reviews

Although the Cochrane Library is generally regarded as the "Gold Standard" of evidence-based searching, it does not include all systematic reviews.

You may use any or all of the links below to help you find a systematic review on a particular topic.

Databases Used to Find Systematic Reviews

You can use any or all of these database to locate systematic reviews on particular topics.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane Reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information: other systematic reviews abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials - all the current evidence in one single environment. The Cochrane Library includes contributions from the Cochrane Collaboration (see box on right).

Cochrane Library Database

Interactive EBM Tutorial

Who was Archie Cochrane?

Archie CochraneThe Cochrane Collaboration is named in honour of Archie Cochrane, a British medical researcher who contributed greatly to the development of epidemiology as a science. The Cochrane Collaboration, established in 1993, is an international network of people helping healthcare providers make well-informed decisions about human health care by preparing, updating and promoting the accessibility of The Cochrane Library.

Photograph reproduced by kind permission from the Cardiff University Library, Cochrane Archive, University Hospital Llandough.