WHSL Anaesthesiology: Databases & Websites

Includes textbooks, videos, self-assessment Q&A, guidelines, procedures and calculators, and quick access to vital tables and figures (At Your Fingertips).
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3

ClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialities in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, customised patient education handouts and more. You will ensure that your care teams have access to evidence-based information, so they can answer complex questions related to their patients' conditions. For full access to all features you will need to register from a Wits (on campus) computer using your wits email details and activate the remote access option for 90 days. A link is then sent to your Wits email address which needs to be activated within 60 minutes of your registration. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password. You will be required to reactivate remote access at a Wits networked computer after every 90 days using your wits email details.
NB CLINICALKEY DOES WORK ON IPADS OR ANDROID TABLETS, BUT WITHOUT FULL FUNCTIONALITY

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to free full text articles as well as links to WHSL's subscribed content.

The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Coverage broader than PubMed. Provides citation data and h-index data. Excellent database for physiology.
Includes health sciences, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics. There are some links to full text. A large part of Embase is included.

An electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine. "Designed to provide physicians access to current clinical information. It addresses specific clinical issues in the form of topic reviews. According to UpToDate, it “is designed to get physicians the concise, practical answers they need when they need them most—at the point of care.” Topic reviews are written by physician experts who review the literature then synthesize the information into specific recommendations for diagnosis, management, and therapy." (J.A.Garrison.2003)

Evidence-based resource for each condition including a summary, definition, aetiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment. There are links to the full text of Martindale. Also includes patient education.
There is BMJ BestPractice app available for Wits users

SAMRC subscription for SA.
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; CENTRAL (Controlled Trials); Database of Abstracts of reviews of Effects (DARE). Evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic reviews, clinical trials and reviews of effectiveness. Recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.

An electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine. "Designed to provide physicians access to current clinical information. It addresses specific clinical issues in the form of topic reviews. According to UpToDate, it “is designed to get physicians the concise, practical answers they need when they need them most—at the point of care.” Topic reviews are written by physician experts who review the literature then synthesize the information into specific recommendations for diagnosis, management, and therapy." (J.A.Garrison.2003)

Essential Evidence Plus is the only evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries.

Spanish National Health System has English translations of clinical practice guidelines, as well as training materials, and materials related to evidence-based medicine

US government site

US site

US Government site

When searching PubMed, use the Limit "Guidelines " under Type of Article. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine

Microsoft Academic (academic.microsoft.com) is a project exploring how to assist human conducting scientific research by leveraging machine’s cognitive power in memory, computation, sensing, attention, and endurance.

guidelines and updates in searching PubMed

Site license. A comprehensive resource for pre-clinical and clinical medical sciences. Includes clinical and pre-clinical textbooks, Dx tests, DDx, Primary Care Guidelines, Quick Answers to common medical problems, case files, patient education and sets of readings built around key topics for internal medicine.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3

Use this site to find the DOI for a specific journal, essential for citing electronic articles.

South African Government Gazettes from 1994 to present. Search the Government Gazettes. For older Gazettes, see Retrospective Government Gazettes.

Search here for mongraphs on pathologies, remembering that this is an American database.

Includes useful tools to assist in writing of good Englsh

The Sabinet Retrospective Government Gazette Archive contains more than 22 000 Government Gazettes covering the period 1910 to 1993.

ScienceDirect has evolved from a web database of Elsevier Science journals to one of the world s largest providers of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Full text coverage of all Elsevier journals from date of inception to the present.
Supporting resource: To access the recording of ScienceDirect training please follow Recording link
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/AxSnkZuNV130tCeYVnhi0Lm6DrVwqr8Rdi6AB3Fa7Zh5pjEFASOt_rwZKxAO0w
as.J3Xkl5f8m2u1DLb9
Access Passcode: Elsevier123!

Search here for official fact sheets, statistics, etc.

A US registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world. Provided by National Institutes of Health

Produced by WHO. In order to improve research transparency and strengthen evidence, this site attempts to provide a complete view of research accessible to all those involved in health care decision making.

"An international initiative that aims to improve the quality of clinical trial protocols by defining an evidence-based set of items to address in a protocol."

A prescription pain medicine web site for consumers, provided by Washington Department of Health, USA.

Diagnostic Test - calculates the Sensitivity, Specificity, PPV, NPV, LR+, and LR-
Prospective Study - calculates the Relative Risk (RR), Absolute Relative Risk (ARR), and Number Needed to Treat (NNT)
Case-control Study - calculates the O

Canadian resource

Therapy, Risk Reduction, Number Needed to Treat, Harm, Risk Increase, Number Needed to Harm, Diagnosis, Likelihood Ratio, Agreement Calculator (Kappa)

Clinical calculators, creatinine clearance calculator, pharmacist calculators, clinical risk calculator, clinical tools, cancer drug dose calculator, drug potency conversion calculator, pharmacist dispensary calculation, pharmacist dilution calculator, fluid dilution calculator, medical calculator, medical formula calculators

Dosages, unit conversions, IV rate, Scores, etc.

Calculators used in Cardiology, Critical Care, Emergency Medicine, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Haematology, Hospital Medicine, ID, Nephrology, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Paediatrics, Primary Care, Pulmonology, Rheumatology and Surgery

Useful learning tool

Login with your My Best Practice login You create this on the Best Practice site using a Wits-networked device.
PLEASE NOTE: Remote access rights are granted for the remaining duration of the institutional subscription, or for six months (whichever period is shorter). To renew your access, login to My Best Practice.

Powerful tool for counselling patients on diet and exercise

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine from Elsevier, a world-leading provider of scientific, technical and medical information products and services. When every second counts, ClinicalKey knows what clinicians need: fast answers built on trusted evidence.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

Store and share files online with your mobile device

medication guide. . Set up your own medicine records, look for details about drugs, but remember it is a US app.

Android and iOS smartphones and tablets are auto-detected and automatically directed to the mobile EBSCOhost website, but this is not available for iPads

Essential drug information for health care professionals

Online publication for medical professionals, patients, and analysts interested in mobile medical technology and health care apps.

For iPad

This is the most popular app used in US for clinical information, and it is free.

You will be automatically redirected to m.psychiatryonline.com when visiting the main PsychiatryOnline.com site from a wireless-enabled mobile device.
First create a “My PsychiatryOnline” account at PsychiatryOnline from a Wits desktop. Click the “My PsychiatryOnline” link from the homepage, and follow the instructions for creating an account. Your “My PsychiatryOnline” username and password will then give you access to the mobile site.When you want to use PsychiatryOnline on your Mobile go to m.psychiatryonline.com.

Search PubMed with screens designed for mobile devices.Works on all Handheld devices

This is one of many PubMed apps. It does not have the full PudMed functionality, but works for quick searches.

Test your radiology knowledge

For iPad

This is a quiz, and learning tool. Check your knowlegde of anatomy

STAT!Ref Mobile App allows you to access your institution’s STAT!Ref subscription from your Android™ device. It includes e-books and ACP Smart Medicine. This has been bought by the library, so you need to register on a Wits PC on the STAT!Ref database before you can use this.

For all the Thieme e-books. First download ipublish central reader

TRIP (originally Turning Research Into Practice) has long been established as the premier free search engine for evidence-based practice. The App is easy to use, and you can log in to your personal TRIP account (or set one up if you have not already done so). Currently (February 2019) only available for Apple devices.

UpToDate, the evidence-based clinical decision support resource from Wolters Kluwer, is trusted at the point of care by clinicians worldwide.