Skip to main content

Social Sciences - Philosophy: Reference Sources

Reference Books

A Companion to Aesthetics
Edited by: David E. Cooper

The Blackwell Guide to Aesthetics
Edited by: Peter Kivy

None A Companion to Aesthetics: Second Edition
Edited by: Stephen Davies, Kathleen Marie Higgins, Robert Hopkins, Robert Stecker and David E. Cooper

A Companion to African-American Philosophy
Edited by: TOMMY L. LOTT and JOHN P. PITTMAN

A Companion to African Philosophy
Edited by: KWASI WIREDU

The Blackwell Guide to American Philosophy
Edited by: Armen T. Marsoobian and John Ryder

A Companion to Analytic Philosophy
Edited by: A. P. MARTINICH and DAVID SOSA

A Companion to Ancient Philosophy
Edited by: Mary Louise Gill and Pierre Pellegrin

The Blackwell Guide to Ancient Philosophy
Edited by: Christopher Shields

A Companion to Applied Ethics
Edited by: R. G. FREY and CHRISTOPHER HEATH WELLMAN

A Companion to Bioethics Edited by: HELGA KUHSE and PETER SINGER

None A Companion to Bioethics: Second Edition
Edited by: Helga Kuhse and Peter Singer

A Companion to Business Ethics
Edited by: ROBERT E. FREDERICK

The Blackwell Guide to Business Ethics
Edited by: Norman E. Bowie

The Blackwell Companion to Christian Ethics
Edited by: Stanley Hauerwas and Samuel Wells

A Companion to Cognitive Science
Edited by: WILLIAM BECHTEL and GEORGE GRAHAM

The Blackwell Companion to Consciousness
Edited by: Max Velmans and Susan Schneider

A Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy
Edited by: Robert E. Goodin, Philip Pettit and Thomas Pogge

A Companion to Continental Philosophy
Edited by: SIMON CRITCHLEY and WILLIAM R. SCHROEDER

The Blackwell Guide to Continental Philosophy
Edited by: Robert C. Solomon and David Sherman

A Companion to Descartes
Edited by: Janet Broughton and John Carriero

A Companion to Early Modern Philosophy
Edited by: Steven Nadler

A Companion to Environmental Philosophy
Edited by: DALE JAMIESON

A Companion to Epistemology
Edited by: Jonathan Dancy and Ernest Sosa

The Blackwell Guide to Epistemology
Edited by: John Greco and Ernest Sosa

None A Companion to Epistemology: Second Edition
Edited by: Jonathan Dancy, Ernest Sosa and Matthias Steup

The Blackwell Guide to Ethical Theory
Edited by: Hugh LaFollette

A Companion to Feminist Philosophy
Edited by: ALISON M. JAGGAR and IRIS MARION YOUNG

The Blackwell Guide to Feminist Philosophy
Edited by: Linda Martín Alcoff and Eva Feder Kittay

A Companion to Genethics
Edited by: Justine Burley and John Harris

A Hegel Dictionary
Edited by: Michael Inwood

A Companion to Heidegger
Edited by: HUBERT L. DREYFUS and MARK A. WRATHALL

A Heidegger Dictionary
Edited by: Michael Inwood

A Hobbes Dictionary
Edited by: A. P. Martinich

A Companion to Hume
Edited by: Elizabeth S. Radcliffe

A Companion to Kant
Edited by: Graham Bird

A Kant Dictionary
Edited by: Howard Caygill

None A Companion to Latin American Philosophy
Edited by: Susana Nuccetelli, Ofelia Schutte and Otávio Bueno

The Blackwell Guide to Medical Ethics
Edited by: Rosamond Rhodes, Leslie P. Francis and Anita Silvers

A Companion to Metaphysics
Edited by: Jaegwon Kim and Ernest Sosa

The Blackwell Guide to Metaphysics
Edited by: Richard M. Gale

A Companion to Metaphysics: Second Edition
Edited by: Jaegwon Kim, Ernest Sosa and Gary S. Rosenkrantz

The Blackwell Guide to the Modern Philosophers
Edited by: Steven M. Emmanuel

The Blackwell Companion to Natural Theology
Edited by: William Lane Craig and J. P. Moreland

A Companion to Nietzsche  
Edited by: KEITH ANSELL PEARSON

A Companion to Phenomenology and Existentialism
Edited by: HUBERT L. DREYFUS and MARK A. WRATHALL

A Companion to the Philosophers
Edited by: ROBERT L. ARRINGTON

The Blackwell Guide to Philosophical Logic
Edited by: Lou Goble

A Companion to Philosophical Logic
Edited by: DALE JACQUETTE

The Blackwell Companion to Philosophy
Edited by: NICHOLAS BUNNIN and E. P. TSUI-JAMES

A Companion to Philosophy in the Middle Ages
Edited by: JORGE J. E. GRACIA and TIMOTHY B. NOONE

None A Companion to the Philosophy of Action
Edited by: Timothy O'Connor and Constantine Sandis

A Companion to the Philosophy of Biology
Edited by: Sahotra Sarkar and Anya Plutynski

The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Computing and Information
Edited by: Luciano Floridi

The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Education
Edited by: Nigel Blake, Paul Smeyers, Richard Smith and Paul Standish

A Companion to the Philosophy of Education
Edited by: Randall Curren

A Companion to the Philosophy of History and Historiography
Edited by: Aviezer Tucker

A Companion to the Philosophy of Language
Edited by: BOB HALE and CRISPIN WRIGHT

The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Language
Edited by: Michael Devitt and Richard Hanley

A Companion to Philosophy of Law and Legal Theory
Edited by: DENNIS PATTERSON

The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Law and Legal Theory
Edited by: Martin P. Golding and William A. Edmundson

None A Companion to the Philosophy of Literature
Edited by: Garry L. Hagberg and Walter Jost

A Companion to the Philosophy of Mind
Edited by: Samuel Guttenplan

The Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Mind
Edited by: Stephen P. Stich and Ted A. Warfield

A Companion to Philosophy of Religion
Edited by: PHILIP L. QUINN and CHARLES TALIAFERRO

The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Religion
Edited by: William E. Mann

The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Science
Edited by: Peter Machamer and Michael Silberstein

A Companion to the Philosophy of Science
Edited by: W. H. Newton-Smith

A Companion to the Philosophy of Technology
Edited by: Jan Kyrre Berg Olsen, Stig Andur Pedersen and Vincent F. Hendricks

The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of the Social Sciences
Edited by: Stephen P. Turner and Paul A. Roth

A Companion to Plato
Edited by: HUGH BENSON

A Companion to Pragmatism
Edited by: JOHN R. SHOOK and JOSEPH MARGOLIS

A Companion to Rationalism
Edited by: ALAN NELSON

The Blackwell Companion to Religious Ethics
Edited by: William Schweiker

None Science and Religion in Dialogue
Edited by: Melville Y. Stewart

The Blackwell Guide to Social and Political Philosophy
Edited by: Robert L. Simon

The Blackwell Dictionary of Western Philosophy
Edited by: NICHOLAS BUNNIN and JIYUAN YU

A Wittgenstein Dictionary
Edited by: HANS-JOHANN GLOCK

A Companion to World Philosophies
Edited by: ELIOT DEUTSCH and RON BONTEKOE

Oxford Journals: Humanities

Adaptation
American Literary History
Analysis
Applied Linguistics
The British Journal of Aesthetics
The British Journal for the Philosophy of Science
The Cambridge Quarterly
Christian bioethics: Non-Ecumenical Studies in Medical Morality
Classical Receptions Journal
Contemporary Women's Writing
Early Music
ELT Journal
English: Journal of the English Association
The English Historical Review
Enterprise & Society: The International Journal of Business History
Environmental History
Environmental History Review
Essays in Criticism
European Review of Economic History
Forest & Conservation History
Forum for Modern Language Studies
French History
French Studies
French Studies Bulletin
German History
History Workshop Journal
Holocaust and Genocide Studies
Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature and Environment
International Journal of Lexicography
Journal of the American Academy of Religion
Journal of American History
Journal of Church and State
Journal of Design History
The Journal of Hindu Studies
Journal of the History of Collections
Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences
Journal of Islamic Studies
The Journal of Medicine and Philosophy: A Forum for Bioethics and Philosophy of Medicine
Journal of Semantics
Journal of Semitic Studies
Journal of Social History
The Journal of Theological Studies
The Leo Baeck Institute Yearbook
The Library
Literary Imagination
Literary and Linguistic Computing
Literature and Theology
Mind
Modern Judaism - A Journal of Jewish Ideas and Experience
Music and Letters
The Musical Quarterly
Notes and Queries
OAH Magazine of History
The Opera Quarterly
The Oral History Review
Oxford Art Journal
Past & Present
Philosophia Mathematica
Public Health Ethics
The Review of English Studies
Review of Finance
Screen
Social History of Medicine
Twentieth Century British History
Writing Systems Research
The Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory
The Year's Work in English Studies

Philosophy - Reference Sources

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy (2 rev. ed.)  

Simon Blackburn

 

‘the most comprehensive dictionary of philosophy in English ’, Times Literary Supplement

This best-selling dictionary covers all areas of philosophy and contains terms from the related fields of religion, science, and logic. Clear and authoritative definitions and make it an essential resource for students and teachers and an ideal introduction for anyone with an interest in philosophy.

This edition includes 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers and covers the most recent terms and concepts from Western philosophical traditions, as well as Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish ....