WHSL Dermatology: Databases & Websites

A clinical search engine, including access to full text books, journals, guidelines and multimedia. For full access to all features you will need to register from a Wits (on campus) computer. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password.

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to free full text articles as well as links to WHSL's subscribed content.

The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Coverage broader than PubMed. Provides citation data and h-index data. Excellent database for physiology.
Includes health sciences, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics. There are some links to full text. A large part of Embase is included.

Links through to WHSL's subscribed full text articles

Collection of more than 600 slides of easily recognised conditions, from the University of Florida. Copyright restrictions apply.

Image collection made available by Johns Hopkins University. Includes over 7500 images submitted by 280 contributors. Search by diagnoses, disease categories, or body sites. Copyright restrictions apply.

Includes over 23 000 dermatology images. Search by disease category and condition, and images from weekly clinics. Copyright restrictions apply.

DermIS is the largest dermatology information service available on the internet. It offers elaborate image atlases (DOIA and PeDOIA) complete with diagnoses and differential diagnoses, case reports and additional information on almost all skin diseases. Copyright restrictions apply.

DermNet NZ was established by the New Zealand Dermatological Society, the national association of New Zealand registered dermatologists, to provide information about skin diseases, conditions and treatment for patients and their health professionals. Copyright restrictions apply.

The International Atlas of Dermatology and Dermatopathology is a joint effort of doctors in various countries to cover the spectrum of skin disease in all skin colours and races. Copyright restrictions apply.

Searchable by diagnosis, lesion characteristics, patient demographics, and treatments. Hosted by the Department of Family and Community Medicine of the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Copyright restrictions apply.

Image collection sorted alphabetically by disease to aid in the teaching of dermatology. Copyright restrictions apply.