Skip to main content

William Cullen Library: Government Publications

About Us

Collections


This collection is situated on the Ground Floor of the William Cullen Library.

The early collection holds government publications of the Zuid-Afrikaanse Republiek, Orange Free State Republic, the Cape Colony, Orange River Colony, the Colony of Natal and the Transvaal Colony. Early British publications include the debates of the House of Commons and the House of Lords dating from 1803 to the present, British Command Papers relating to Southern Africa in the 19th century, and the Irish University Press reprint of British Parliamentary Papers of 19th century: African Colonies.

The modern collection comprises government publications from southern African countries (excluding Angola and Mozambique) and Britain. These include government departmental reports, gazettes, legislation, parliamentary debates, commissions of inquiry, policy documents, statistics and census reports. South African provincial publications and legislation are also kept. An extensive collection of former homeland publications is available in hardcopy and on microfiche. Indexes compiled in-house by Government Publications provide access to this material and online access to many resources is available in addition to the Library's electronic resources.

Useful links include:

Loans

The Government Publications collection is available for in-library use only, and only photocopies from the collection are provided through Interlibrary Loans. A photocopier is available in the Government Publications section.
The collection is also open to members of the Corporate User Scheme.