Whole Life Costing by
Whole life costing has been a subject waiting to come of age for many years. What was previously of mainly academic interest is now becoming a key business tool in the procurement and construction of significant projects. With the advent of PPP and in particular of PFI, details of the project life need to be assessed and tied in to funding and operation plans. Many of these projects run to millions of pounds and are of high political or social importance, so the implications of the life of materials is crucial. A fundamental requirement of these procurement routes has been that the whole enterprise should be included within the bid, so that a company takes on not only the construction but also the running and maintenance of any building. Additionally as sustainability has emerged and grown in importance, so has the need for a whole life time costing approach, partly driven by governmental insistence. At the heart of sustainability is an understanding of what the specification means for the future of the building and how it will affect the environment. Whole life costing considers part of this and provides an understanding of how materials may perform and what allowances are needed at the end of their life. This book sets out the practical issues involved in the selection of materials, their performance, and the issues that need to be taken into account. The emphasis, unlike in other publications, is not to formularise or to package the issues but to leave the reader with a clear understanding and a sensible practical way of arriving at conclusions in the future.
Designing Out Unintended Consequences When Undertaking Solid Wall Insulation by
Refurbishing solid walls with externally or internally applied insulation can help to reduce heat loss from a building, but it has the potential to introduce a range of undesirable effects such as condensation and mould growth if not carried out correctly. This guide for surveyors, designers and installers provides advice on assessing the potential risks and reducing the likelihood of long-term problems. It discusses: ¿ surveying and assessment of exposure risk and existing ventilation, ¿ detailed design, ¿ quality assurance on site, ¿ an integrated approach by surveyors, designers and installers. The guide will also be useful to clients and householders in creating realistic expectations as they commission an appropriate team of professionals to undertake an installation.
Embedded Security by
Buildings protect what is important to us and given that there will always be threats to building security, there is a need to deploy appropriate and proportionate protective security to protect people and assets from losses. This guide, written for the procurement team, discusses the importance of establishing security objectives at the outset of a new project and the need for close collaboration between project team members and security advisers. It describes: - facility planning and design of a protective security system - how to integrate an effective protective security system into the procurement process for new building projects - key security tasks, information exchanges, and security roles and responsibilities - the need to protect information relating to buildings and their security, especially as the industry adopts BIM for procurement and asset management efficiencies. The importance of testing, evaluating and reviewing security system performance to ensure the system remains fit for purpose through the life of the facility is highlighted.
Estimating for Builders and Surveyors by
Written for students taking courses in building and surveying, 'Estimating for Builders and Surveyors' describes and explains the method used by the estimator to build up prices or rates for items described in the SMM7 format. Each chapter is a self-contained unit related to a particular element in the building. Worked examples throughout reflect both traditional and up-to-date technology. Written by an author team of academics and professional surveyors, this book continues to be an invaluable introduction to the subject of estimating.
Facilities Planning by
Tompkins/White/Bozer/Tanchoco is the leading facilities planning book on the market, today. Its blending of breadth and depth of coverage are unmatched. Thousands of engineering students and practitioners have used the book to prepare them to design new facilities and expand or renovate existing facilities. The book combines applied aspects with proven quantitative methodologies. It carries the reader through the entire process of planning facilities, regardless of the application settings for the facilities.
Guide to elemental cost estimating & analysis for building works, 2016 by
Guide to elemental cost estimating and analysis for building works, 2016
Guide to elemental cost estimating, 2016
Site Planning by
A comprehensive, state-of-the-art guide to site planning, covering planning processes, new technologies, and sustainability, with extensive treatment of practices in rapidly urbanizing countries. Cities are built site by site. Site planning--the art and science of designing settlements on the land--encompasses a range of activities undertaken by architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, and engineers. This book offers a comprehensive, up-to-date guide to site planning that is global in scope. It covers planning processes and standards, new technologies, sustainability, and cultural context, addressing the roles of all participants and stakeholders and offering extensive treatment of practices in rapidly urbanizing countries. Kevin Lynch and Gary Hack wrote the classic text on the subject, and this book takes up where the earlier book left off. It can be used as a textbook and will be an essential reference for practitioners. Site Planning consists of forty self-contained modules, organized into five parts: The Art of Site Planning, which presents site planning as a shared enterprise; Understanding Sites, covering the components of site analysis; Planning Sites, covering the processes involved; Site Infrastructure, from transit to waste systems; and Site Prototypes, including housing, recreation, and mixed use. Each module offers a brief introduction, covers standards or approaches, provides examples, and presents innovative practices in sidebars. The book is lavishly illustrated with 1350 photographs, diagrams, and examples of practice.
Water Index by
In the wake of an escalating global crisis with water, Water Index is the first critical inventory and analysis of innovative architecture, landscape architecture and design solutions to address the rising, disappearing, and contamination of water. As an ecological disaster complex ferments in contemporary architectural discourse, design competition briefs, conference topics and journal themes optimistically call for designers to reconcile or reimagine the relationship between water, architecture and city. Anxiety is elevated by the onslaught of extreme weather in the form of super-storms, hurricanes, tsunamis, landslides, floods, and droughts whose frequencies and intensities continue to increase. Couple the ever-present exposure to disaster with scientific data that suggests a future characterized by climate change and population growth, and then we have the ingredients for a full-fledged paranoia: the perfect motivation for absurd, expansive and radical building projects. Water Index, examines three hydrological tragedies (flood, contamination, and drought) through strategies that offer methods for controlling, escaping, or adapting to the vital natural resource. Water Index is a collective vision of the future that provides solutions for every continent and spans the disciplines of urban design, landscape architecture and architecture. The book works to create an enduring manual and manifesto for water development and design in the twenty-first century and to acknowledge crisis-initiated design as an important trajectory for architectural discourse. Water Index highlights a moment when designers have linked formal concerns with social, ecological and political agendas offering solutions for expanding global problems.
Constructing Architecture by
Systematically structured and prepared with the student in mind, the book conveys in one volume the necessary basic technical building construction knowledge to enable readers to implement a wide range of designs. For this reason, over the last 14 years, it has developed into an indispensable information and reference handbook, not only for students and teachers, but also for architects. The 4th edition of this standard work for building construction has again been revised in terms of content and illustrations. References to standards, thermal insulation standards, and some project examples have been updated; they are now comprehensively and systematically documented, explaining the design process from start to finish.
Building Surveys by
Building Surveys has been a trusted guide for both students and professionals for over 30 years, evolving throughout its eight editions to address the challenges and responsibilities of the building surveying role. It covers everything needed for initial inspections such as equipment, know-how and procedures to writing an accurate report, making it indispensable to those practicing in or studying this field. This updated eighth edition features new material on modern methods of construction, and the drive for green homes. Essential reading for building construction students, professional surveyors, and others who may be required to inspect and report on buildings. Illustrated throughout with colour photos showing examples of building defects in full detail. All the structural aspects of property surveying are explained, covering foundations, walls and roofs as well as what to look out for, and how to deal with problems. Materials and techniques no longer in use are covered as well as new technologies, so the reader is prepared for anything they might encounter. Legal considerations and recent cases are also used to illustrate good working practice, making this an extremely practical companion to the subject.
Facilities Management by
This book will cover the essential role and responsibilities of the facilities manager as it pertains to building maintenance. Facilities management is a broad-based discipline that calls into play architectural, construction, engineering, and management and human skills, particularly for running and maintaining commercial, institutional, academic, and industrial buildings. If you're a newcomer to facilities management you will find this book an excellent introduction to managing maintenance. Already an established professional? You'll be able to brush up on the latest technological and regulatory trends affecting how complex facilities should be successfully maintained by way of risk assessment. The book contains ample, ready-to-use assessment forms and resources for extended practical information. Highlights include: Coverage of key components of facilities maintenance management including risk management, building safety, operations and purchasing, staffing, and more. Guidance on new trends including 'lean building maintenance' and Green Building specs (Green Spec) like LEED as well as guidance on legal contracts, safety regulations, energy efficiency, and more. The author also details specific management guidance by building type including apartments, office buildings, hotels and resorts, government buildings, schools, transport facilities, and many others.
The Access Manual by
This manual covers the design, improvement, maintenance and management of accessible environments. It shows you how to provide and run buildings, services, and employment facilities to enable independent and convenient use by everyone. The Access Manual was first published in November 2003 and has been used by architects and facilities managers needing to meet the requirements of new legislation in 2004. It was well received by design, management, access, and health professionals. This is a fast-moving area and there are now several additional pieces of legislation and guidance central to inclusive design and making buildings accessible to all. This 3rd edition follows the same structure and approach and updates three main areas: The Equality Act 2010 Building Regulations: Approved Documents to Parts M (2013) and K (2013) British Standards: amendment and updating of BS8300 The authors have also updated the material on access auditing, providing additional examples and sample access audit reports and access statements. With its comprehensive information on standards, legislation and good practice, The Access Manual: designing, auditing and managing inclusive built environments, 3rd edition ensures you can: be fully aware of the issues involved in accessibility and inclusive design understand your legal obligations and the guidance available commission access audits create and manage an access improvement programme maintain accessibility in buildings and working practices understand access issues in the design of new buildings
Intelligent Buildings by
This book introduces the concept of Intelligent Buildings to the wider construction community. Edited by the Father of Intelligent Buildings, Derek Clements-Croome, the book explains that intelligent buildings should be sustainable, healthy, technologically aware, meet the needs of occupants and business, and should be flexible and adaptable to deal with change. This means the processes of planning, design, construction, commissioning and facilities management including post-occupancy evaluation are all important. Buildings comprise many systems devised by many people and yet the relationship between buildings and people can only work satisfactorily if there is an integrated team with a holistic vision.
Sustainable Construction by
The leading green building reference, updated with the latest advances in the field Sustainable Construction is the leading reference for the design, construction, and operation of high performance green buildings. With broad coverage including architecture, engineering, and construction, this book nevertheless delivers detailed information on all aspects of the green building process, from materials selection to building systems and more. This new fourth edition has been updated to reflect the latest codes and standards, including LEED v4, and includes new coverage of carbon accounting. The discussion has been updated to align with the current thinking on economics, climate change, net zero buildings, and more, with contributions by leaders in the field that illustrate the most recent shifts in thinking and practice. Ancillary materials including an instructor's manual and PowerPoint presentations for each chapter help bring this clear and up-to-date information into the classroom, making this book a valuable reference for working construction professionals. Also, Interactive graphics found throughout the course help activate the content and highlight key concepts for students. Sustainable construction has gone mainstream, and will one day be the industry norm. This book provides a comprehensive reference to all aspects of a project to show you how green building concepts and principles apply throughout the design and construction process. Get up to date on the latest green building codes and standards Learn about the newest technology in green building materials Adopt the best practices in procurement and delivery systems Apply sustainability concepts to all aspects of construction and design Green buildings operate at a very high level of efficiency, which is made possible only by careful consideration every step of the way. Appropriate land use, landscaping, construction materials, siting, water use, and more all play a role in a structure's ultimate carbon footprint. Sustainable Construction provides clear guidance for all aspects of green building, including the most recent advances and the latest technology.
Organizational Resource Management by
The management of organizational resources is extremely difficult. Managers face serious and complex challenges when managing the required resources for the benefit of their organization. This book presents a unique approach that aims to tackle these management challenges. This approach is based on four propositions that together form a solid framework for the management of organizational resources. The propositions state that organizational resources that are considered as management objects must first be conceptually modeled. With the help of these models, stakeholders are integrated into the management process. The new management approach presented in this book is called the Evolute approach. The Evolute approach precisely defines the meaning of organizational resources for management on three levels: concept level, organizational resource level, and situation level. The Evolute approach helps managers lead their people and manage their resources in a more targeted way, providing better results with less effort. The author includes real-world case studies that illustrate how this approach can be used in several different fields. The Evolute approach has been used and tested in many companies, organizations, and universities in more than ten languages around the world. The scope of the book is general management, since the Evolute approach is applicable to any kind of management field. It can be applied to the management of any kinds of objects--not only organizational resources. With this book, managers will have the tools to develop more relevant organizational resources and, thus, improve the performance of their entire organization in an efficient and targeted manner.
Strategic leadership across cultures : the GLOBE study of CEO leadership behavior and effectiveness in 24 countries by
How does leadership management behavior affect workers' performance and attitudes? Unique in its focus, methodology, and impact, Strategic Leadership Across Cultures: the GLOBE Study of CEO Leadership Behavior and Effectiveness in 24 Countries is a must-have for those studying or practicing in the fields of global leadership, cross-cultural leadership, and organization studies. Reporting on research obtained during the third phase of the ten-year GLOBE project, the book examines strategic leadership effectiveness for executive and top-level management based on data from more than 1,000 CEOs and over 6,000 top management team members in 24 countries. The authors offer a series of propositions about executive leadership based on the unified theory--developed after the publication of the first GLOBE book--and empirically test these propositions. They provide evidence that leadership matters, executive leadership matters greatly, and that societal cultures influence the kind of leadership that is expected and effective.-from back cover.
Megaproject Risk Analysis and Simulation by
Providing new knowledge on risk analysis and simulation for megaprojects, this book is essential reading for both academics and practitioners. Its focus is on technical descriptions of a newly developed dynamic systems approach to megaproject risk analysis and simulation. This is backed up by a discussion of the methodology as applied in a comprehensive case study on the Edinburgh Tram Network (ETN) project. The book informs both academic researchers and megaproject stakeholders with the latest information on risk as applied to megaprojects. As well as the complete case study, the book includes a general risk analysis framework for megaprojects, an analytic network process (ANP) method for risk quantification, a system dynamics (SD) method for risk simulation, and practical guides for the application of the dynamic systems approach in megaproject research and practice.
Target Cost Contracting Strategy in Construction by
The problems inherent in the traditional design-bid-build procurement method often lead to the adversarial working relationships within the construction industry. Target cost contracts, accompanied by a gain-share/pain-share arrangement serving as a cost incentive mechanism, have emerged in the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia and Hong Kong with the aim of achieving better value for money and more satisfactory overall project performance under a collaborative working relationship. This book presents the underlying principles, practicalities and a series of short case studies of applying the target cost contracting strategy. Principles begin with the fundamentals then cover the development of target cost contracting in major countries/cities, definitions of target cost contracting, perceived benefits, potential difficulties and critical success factors for implementation. Practices include the target cost contracting approach and process in general, the key risk factors, risk assessment model, risk allocation and risk mitigation measures for target cost contracts in particular, together with a conceptual framework for the performance measurement of target cost contracts. Several short real-life case studies from the United Kingdom, Hong Kong, Australia and New Zealand are provided for further illustration. The book will appeal to a wide spectrum of readers from industrial practitioners to undergraduate students, researchers and academics interested in construction contracts and procurement methods.
Sustainability of Construction Materials by
Sustainability of Construction Materials, Second Edition, explores an increasingly important aspect of construction. In recent years, serious consideration has been given to environmental and societal issues in the manufacturing, use, disposal, and recycling of construction materials. This book provides comprehensive and detailed analysis of the sustainability issues associated with these materials, mainly in relation to the constituent materials, processing, recycling, and lifecycle environmental impacts. The contents of each chapter reflect the individual aspects of the material that affect sustainability, such as the preservation and repair of timber, the use of cement replacements in concrete, the prevention and control of metal corrosion and the crucial role of adhesives in wood products. Provides helpful guidance on lifecycle assessment, durability, recycling, and the engineering properties of construction materials Fully updated to take on new developments, with an additional nineteen chapters added to include natural stone, polymers and plastics, and plaster products Provides essential reading for individuals at all levels who are involved in the construction and selection, assessment and use, and maintenance of materials
Sun, Wind and Light by
An updated guide to designing buildings that heat with the sun, cool with the wind, and light with the sky. This fully updated Third Edition covers principles of designing buildings that use the sun for heating, wind for cooling, and daylight for natural lighting. Using hundreds of illustrations, this book offers practical strategies that give the designer the tools they need to make energy efficient buildings. Hundreds of illustrations and practical strategies give the designer the tools they need to make energy efficient buildings. Organized to quickly guide the designer in making buildings respond to the sun, wind and light.
Environment and Services by
Environment and Services provides a comprehensive introduction to the technical aspects of building design and construction in the fields of physical environment and services installation. It explains the principles involved, the materials and equipment required, design methods and applications. The eighth edition has been brought fully up-to-date with the current building regulations and reflects recent trends by placing increased emphasis on environmental issues related to buildings. The book is suitable for undergraduate degree courses in building, building surveying, building engineering and management, and architecture. It is also suitable for HNC/D courses in building studies and building services engineering as well as CIOB and RIBA examinations.
Environmental Science in Building by
This popular textbook covers how the built environment and the management of energy relate to the quality of human living-conditions and the environmental performance of buildings. It is the key introductory text for understanding the principles and theories of the environmental science behind construction, and the only text on the market to provide the basic scientific principles of such a broad range of topics. The text covers a range of areas in the field, including climate change, energy management, and sustainability in construction, with an important focus on contemporary environmental topics such as carbon, lifetime performance and rating schemes. The author is known for his extremely clear, finely crafted text, and the book offers a wealth of excellent worked examples. This text is designed to be useful, at all levels, to students and practitioners of architecture, construction studies, building services, surveying, and environmental science.
The Ecology of Building Materials by
The Ecology of Building Materials explores key questions surrounding sustainability of building materials. It provides technical data to enable design and building professionals to choose the most appropriate materials for a project: those that are least polluting, most energy efficient, and from sustainable sources. The book also gives information and guidance on a wide range of issues such as recycling, detailing for increased durability and Life Cycle Analysis. Berge's book, translated from the Norwegian by Chris Butters and Filip Henley, offers safe and environmentally friendly material options. It provides an essential and easy-to-use reference guide to this complex subject for the building industry professional. New to this edition: * Thorough exploration of building materials in relation to climate change issues * Extensive updating of basic data, as well as the introduction of a wide range of new materials * Methods for recycling and reuse of materials * More information on the interaction between materials and the indoor environment, ventilation and energy use * Full colour text and user-friendly larger format Bjørn Berge is a practicing architect, researcher and lecturer. Since the 1970s, he has written several books on building ecology for the Scandinavian public. He is one of the founders of Gaia Architects who have developed a wide range of pioneering techniques in sustainable building.
Compulsory Purchase and Compensation by
Compulsory Purchase and Compensationis the essential guide to this complex and increasingly relevant area of the law. Now in its tenth edition, no other book presents the same level of information on the law relating to compulsory purchase and compensation in England and Wales in such an accessible way. The best-selling book on the subject, previous editions have been used by professionals and students alike in order to gain a full understanding of a key subject for any surveyor or lawyer. The book is also especially suited to those coming to this complex subject without a specific background in the law and ideal reading for those students taking planning and built environment law modules. Surveyors in particular will find this book invaluable. This new edition has been extensively revised, and reflects the Localism Act 2011 and other recent decisions of the courts and the Upper Tribunal, all of which will be of particular interest to those working on cases related to HS2, the proposed high-speed railway line from London to Birmingham, Leeds and Manchester.
Understanding the NEC3 ECC Contract by
As usage of the NEC (formerly the New Engineering Contract) family of contracts continues to grow worldwide, so does the importance of understanding its clauses and nuances to everyone working in the built environment. Currently in its third edition, this set of contracts is different to others in concept as well as format, so users may well find themselves needing a helping hand along the way. Understanding the NEC3 ECC Contractuses plain English to lead the reader through the NEC3 Engineering and Construction Contract's key features, including: main and secondary options the use of early warnings programme provisions payment compensation events preparing and assessing tenders. Common problems experienced when using the Engineering and Construction Contract are signalled to the reader throughout, and the correct way of reading each clause explained. The way the contract effects procurement processes, dispute resolution, project management, and risk management are all addressed in order to direct the user to best practice. Written for construction professionals, by a practicing international construction contract consultant, this handbook is the most straightforward, balanced and practical guide to the NEC3 ECC available. An ideal companion for employers, contractors, project managers, supervisors, engineers, architects, quantity surveyors, subcontractors, and anyone else interested in working successfully with the NEC3 ECC.
Adaptive Thermal Comfort: Foundations and Analysis by
There has been widespread dissatisfaction with accepted models for predicting the conditions that people will find thermally comfortable in buildings. These models require knowledge about clothing and activity, but can give little guidance on how to quantify them in any future situation. This has forced designers to make assumptions about people's future behaviour based on very little information and, as a result, encouraged static design indoor temperatures. This book is the second in a three volume set covering all aspects of Adaptive Thermal Comfort. The first part narrates the development of the adaptive approach to thermal comfort from its early beginnings in the 1960s. It discusses recent work in the field and suggests ways in which it can be developed and modelled. Such models can be used to set dynamic, interactive standards for thermal comfort which will help overcome the problems inherited from the past. The second part of the volume engages with the practical and theoretical problems encountered in field studies and in their statistical analysis, providing guidance towards their resolution, so that valid conclusions may be drawn from such studies.
Handbook of Qualitative Research Methods on Human Resource Management by
Human resource management as a field of research is a broad church, with a wide variety of research methods in use. This Handbook focuses on qualitative research methods and explores the opportunities and challenges of new technologies for innovating data collection and data analysis. The editors have brought together 18 chapters, written by some of the world's leading researchers in their field. They begin with the importance of good project design and then move on to reflect on innovations and developments in data sources, such as netnographical methods, legal research methods, the use of news media, and historical research. They go on to outline innovations in data collection methods with particular pertinence to key HRM topics. Finally, the contributors explore innovative data analysis, looking at the importance of computer-supported qualitative research, causal cognitive mapping and deriving behavioural role descriptions from the perspectives of job-holders.This Handbook is an invaluable tool for students, researchers and academics in the field of human resource management.
New Methods of Market Research and Analysis by
New Methods of Market Research and Analysis prepares readers for the new reality posed by big data and marketing analytics. While connecting to traditional research approaches such as surveys and focus groups, this book shows how new technologies and new analytical capabilities are rapidly changing the way marketers obtain and process their information. In particular, the prevalence of big data systems always monitoring key performance indicators, trends toward more research using observation or observation and communication together, new technologies such as mobile, apps, geo-locators, and others, as well as the deep analytics allowed by cheap data processing and storage are all covered and placed in context. Scott Erickson goes beyond the buzzwords to provide relevant explanations of the meaning and impact of both big data and analytics, placing them in context with traditional marketing research. His engaging subject matter focuses on the practical aspects of big data concepts, precisely defining and illustrating key concepts and providing illuminating real world examples. This approachable style enables marketers to understand what data scientists are doing with big data systems and analytics, giving them a taste of the capabilities of contemporary statistical software and its practical applicationsThis book can be used as a supplement to a traditional marketing research text or on its own. It will serve as a key reference for graduate students and advanced undergraduates in marketing research, marketing analytics, or business intelligence courses as well as marketing professionals looking to stay up to date with current trends and have them explained in a context they understand.
Handbook of Research Methods in Corporate Social Responsibity by
Corporate social responsibility now touches upon most aspects of the interaction between business and society. The approaches taken to research in this area are as varied as the topics that are researched; yet this is the first book to address the whole range of methods available. This Handbook identifies the existing methods, evaluates their use and discusses the circumstances in which they might be appropriate.The design of a research project is an essential part of undertaking research, as is choosing appropriate methods for investigation and analysis. In addition, business and management research raises theoretical and practical problems that are not encountered in other fields. The chapters address this challenge over distinct parts. Part I on methodology planning is concerned with various aspects of planning the research project, including secondary data and ethics in the research process. Parts II and III outline quantitative and qualitative methods respectively, covering the vast majority of relevant approaches. Part IV provides forward-thinking guidance from experienced academics on the future directions of research in this area.Aimed specifically at researchers, this comprehensive and in-depth Handbook provides an essential resource for anyone working at the forefront of corporate social responsibility research.
How to Be an Academic Superhero by
In universities across the world, academics struggle to establish and sustain their careers while satisfying intensifying institutional demands. Drawing from the author's decades of observation and experience in academia, this exceptional book responds to the challenges of fostering a successful academic career.Featuring an overarching focus on holistic career development as well as specific chapters on mentorship, networking, job applications and interviews, publishing, funding and more, this book guides readers through their prospective academic careers while offering informed and compassionate advice and insights. While the book is organized chronologically, providing early-, mid- and late-career guidance, the issues and challenges discussed can be addressed continuously and sometimes simultaneously across an academic's professional life.In a straightforward and engaging style, How to be an Academic Superhero offers realistic, practical advice for anyone contemplating or developing an academic career in the social sciences, arts or humanities. Career mentors looking for a useful and accessible instructional resource will also find it to be of value.
The Leasing Process by
This book provides a comprehensive review of the lease negotiation process, elucidating the unique perspectives of both the landlord and the tenant. As veteran real estate management professionals with over 70 years combined experience in the field, the authors share the key components that go into each party's role in the leasing process, from the initial stages through execution. Landlords, asset managers, brokers, and tenants alike will gain tips for handling the toughest of negotiations in order to achieve a win-win outcome. Readers will learn about the following and more:* All the players in the leasing process, including legal and support staff* Landlord/tenant concessions and options that may be granted* Maintaining a building's value through the value of its leases* Negotiating the brokerage agreement* Knowing how market conditions affect the leasing deal* Determining monthly rent and pass-through charges* Elements found in a commercial lease document* Successful communication strategies for negotiationsThe Leasing Process: Landlord and Tenant Perspectives will improve the leasing process and negotiation outcomes for those involved in lease negotiations on any level.
Transformational Leadership in the New Age of Real Estate by
In today's rapidly evolving marketplace, the only constant is change. Will you emerge as a leader or merely a survivor? The ability to harness the power of change is what distinguishes the good from the great. Get your hands on the latest edition of Christopher Lee's best-selling publication, Transformational Leadership in the New Age of Real Estate - a road map to gaining a competitive edge. This New Edition Outlines How To: • Foster an environment that rewards creativity/innovation • Attract the best talent and strategic partners • Adopt and integrate technology in the organization • Create a differentiating story and brand • Hardwire the voice of the customer into everything. Bonus Feature: This new edition features 100 predictions that will shape the future of real estate!
Quantitative methods for business decisions by
Provides students with all the tools they need to pass the typical Quantitative Methods course. This title includes chapters that focus on a selection of statistical techniques, illustrated with examples from across business, marketing, economics, finance, and public administration, that may appeal to students across the business spectrum.
Real Estate Modelling and Forecasting by
As real estate forms a significant part of the asset portfolios of most investors and lenders, it is crucial that analysts and institutions employ sound techniques for modelling and forecasting the performance of real estate assets. Assuming no prior knowledge of econometrics, this book introduces and explains a broad range of quantitative techniques that are relevant for the analysis of real estate data. It includes numerous detailed examples, giving readers the confidence they need to estimate and interpret their own models. Throughout, the book emphasises how various statistical techniques may be used for forecasting and shows how forecasts can be evaluated. Written by a highly experienced teacher of econometrics and a senior real estate professional, both of whom are widely known for their research, Real Estate Modelling and Forecasting is the first book to provide a practical introduction to the econometric analysis of real estate for students and practitioners.
Procurement in the construction industry : the impact and cost of alternative market and supply processes by 
Claims, Disputes and Litigation Involving Bim by
Are you unsure about: the current US legal environment with respect to BIM and VDC? the evolving standards of care for design and construction professionals using BIM and VDC? what practical methods and techniques can be used for analyzing construction claims and disputes involving BIM technologies and VDC processes? Building Information Modeling (BIM) technologies and Virtual Design and Construction (VDC) processes are aggressively and fundamentally changing the design, construction and operation of buildings. Supporters of BIM have highlighted the potential these technologies have to reduce the need for claims, disputes and litigation, but evidence from several early sources shows they are not universally successful in this. This timely and unique book provides crucial new methods for analyzing construction disputes in this emerging AEC technological landscape. It explains how BIM & VDC has significantly altered the production　and delivery of construction drawings, quantity surveys, and schedules, and how these changes might impact construction disputes.　 The findings and advice in this book are indispensable to any stakeholder in a construction project using BIM. It will help Contractors, Cost Managers, Architects, Building Designers, Quantity Surveyors, and Project Managers to navigate and understand their responsibilities and exposure to risk when working with this new technology.
Construction Contracts by
The fifth edition of this bestselling textbook has been thoroughly revised to provide the most up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of the legislation, administration and management of construction contracts. It now includes comparisons of working with JCT, NEC3, and FIDIC contracts throughout. Introducing this topic at the core of construction law and management, this book provides students with a one-stop reference on construction contracts. Significant new material covers: procurement tendering developments in dispute settlement commentary on all key legislation, case law and contract amendments In line with new thinking in construction management research, this authoritative guide is essential reading for every construction undergraduate and an extremely useful source of reference for practitioners.
Successful Contract Administration by
The success of every construction project begins with reading and understanding the contract. Contract Administrators and Project Managers for all parties in the construction process must realize the major impact their actions have on cost, schedule, and quality in relation to the contract terms and conditions. Written in a clear and accessible way from a Constructor's perspective, Successful Contract Administration guides the student through the critical issues of understanding contract law and obligations for effective project execution. Through examples, exercises, and case studies, this textbook will: Improve knowledge and comprehension of key contract elements Help the student apply knowledge to real case scenarios Improve the student's ability to analyze and create different scenarios for success Evaluate critical issues of responsibility and ethics in relation to contract administration. The text is supported by a companion website featuring additional resources for both students and instructors. Resources for the student include additional case studies, links to useful websites, video commentary and interviews for increased understanding of important chapter material, true/false sample quiz questions and a flashcard glossary to reinforce comprehension of key terms and concepts. Additional instructor material includes a testbank of questions, (including true/false, multiple choice, and sample essay questions), website links to contract documents and PowerPoint slides.
Construction Contract Variations by
Changes to the work on construction projects are a common cause of dispute. Such variations lead to thousands of claims in the UK every year and many more internationally. Liability for variations is not only relevant to claims for sums due for extra work but this is also an important underlying factor in many other construction disputes, such as delay, disruption, defects and project termination. This is the first booknbsp;to deal exclusively with variations in construction contracts and provide the detailed and comprehensive coverage that it demands.nbsp; Construction Contract Variations analyses the issues that arise in determining whether certain work is a variation, the contractor's obligation to undertake such work as well as its right to be paid. It deals with the employer's power to vary and the extent of its duties to approve changes. The book also analyses the role of the consultant in the process and the valuation of variations. It reviews these topics by reference to a range of construction contracts. This is an essential guide for practitioners and industry professionals who advise on these issues and have a role in managing, directing and compensating change. Participants in the construction industry will find this book an invaluable guide, as will specialists and students of construction law, project management and quantity surveying.
Understanding Nec3 by
As usage of the NEC (formerly the New Engineering Contract) family of contracts continues to grow worldwide, so does the importance of understanding its clauses and nuances to everyone working in the built environment. This set of contracts, currently in the third edition, is different to others in concept as well as format, so users may well find themselves needing a helping hand along the way. Understanding the NEC3 Engineering and Construction Short Contract uses plain English to lead the reader through the contract's key features, including: the use of early warnings programme provisions payment compensation events preparing and assessing tenders Common problems are signalled to the reader throughout, and the correct way of reading each clause explained. In addition, the things to consider when deciding between the ECSC and the longer Engineering and Construction Contract are discussed in detail. Written for professionals without legal backgrounds, by a practicing construction contract consultant, this handbook is the most straightforward, balanced and practical guide to the NEC3 ECSC available. An ideal companion for Employers, Contractors, Project Managers, Supervisors, Engineers, Architects, Quantity Surveyors, Subcontractors, and anyone else interested in working successfully with the NEC3 ECSC.
Faber and Kell's Heating and Air-Conditioning of Buildings by
For over 70 years, Faber & Kell's has been the definitive reference text in its field. It provides an understanding of the principles of heating and air-conditioning of buildings in a concise manner, illustrating practical information with simple, easy-to-use diagrams, now in full-colour. This new-look 11th edition has been re-organised for ease of use and includes fully updated chapters on sustainability and renewable energy sources, as well as information on the new Building Regulations Parts F and L. As well as extensive updates to regulations and codes, it now includes an introduction that explains the role of the building services engineer in the construction process. Its coverage of design calculations, advice on using the latest technologies, building management systems, operation and maintenance makes this an essential reference for all building services professionals.
Agents and Multi-Agent Systems in Construction by
This book describes current advances and future directions in the theory and application of intelligent agents and multi-agent systems in the Architecture, Engineering and Construction (AEC) sector. It is the product of an international effort involving a network of construction IT and computing researchers, investigating different aspects of agent theory and applications. The contributed chapters cover different perspectives and application areas, and represent significant efforts to harness emerging technologies such as intelligent agents and multi-agent systems for improved business processes in the AEC sector. The first four chapters cover the theoretical foundations of agent technology whilst the remaining chapters deal with the application of agent-based systems in solving problems in the construction domain.
Managing Risks in Projects by
Managing Risks in Projectspresents the latest skills, techniques, knowledge and experience of managing risks in projects from the leading worldwide experts. Many different types of projects are addressed spanning development, software, re-engineering, engineering and construction.
Technology, Design and Process Innovation in the Built Environmen by
Buildings and infrastructure represent principal assets of any national economy as well as prime sources of environmental degradation. Making them more sustainable represents a key challenge for the construction, planning and design industries and governments at all levels; and the rapid urbanisation of the 21stcentury has turned this into a global challenge. This book embodies the results of a major research programme by members of the Australia Co-operative Research Centre for Construction Innovation and its global partners, presented for an international audience of construction researchers, senior professionals and advanced students. It covers four themes, applied to regeneration as well as to new build, and within the overall theme of Innovation: Sustainable Materials and Manufactures, focusing on building material products, their manufacture and assembly - and the reduction of their ecological 'fingerprints', the extension of their service lives, and their re-use and recyclability. It also explores the prospects for applying the principles of the assembly line. Virtual Design, Construction and Management, viewed as increasing sustainable development through automation, enhanced collaboration (such as virtual design teams), real time BL performance assessment during design, simulation of the construction process, life-cycle management of project information (zero information loss) risk minimisation, and increased potential for innovation and value adding. Integrating Design, Construction and Facility Management over the Project Life Cycle, by converging ICT, design science engineering and sustainability science. Integration across spatial scales, enabling building-infrastructure synergies (such as water and energy efficiency). Convergences between IT and design and operational processes are also viewed as a key platform increased sustainability.
Managing Knowledge in the Construction Industry by
Knowledge management presents a new way of understanding organizations and companies, and is especially suited to sophisticated and highly technical firms and operations such as those in the construction industry. nbsp;This new book draws on hard data from three separate research programs in Sweden and shows how the concept of knowledge can make sense in the construction industry, an industry which can be viewed in essence as being engaged in the material transformation of "nature into buildings". In particular it explores and examines three different businesses: a medium sized construction firm; Wingårdh Architecture, Sweden's most prestigious architecture firm; and BESAB, a specialist concrete injection firm working on underground construction. An emerging theme is the situational and context-bound nature of knowledge in the construction industry, thus showing "knowledge" to be a remarkably heterogeneous concept. A range of readers should find the book useful, from students and construction managers through to researchers.
Implementing virtual design and construction using BIM : the current and future practices by
Cover; Half Title; Title Page; Copyright Page; Table of Contents; List of Illustrations; Preface; 1 Introduction; 2 The Practice of VDC; 2.1 VDC Services; 2.2 Information Models; 3 Case Studies; 3.1 Interview with Luis Tormenta, CEO of LiRo Group; 3.2 City Point Phase II; 3.3 East Side Access; 3.4 RFK Toll Plaza Rehabilitation; 3.5 Adult Behavioral Health Center at the Bronx Psychiatric Center; 4 VDC Tools; 5 Reference Documents; 5.1 Software Templates and Workflows; 5.2 VDC Specifications; 5.3 VDC Implementation Plan; 5.4 Classification Systems; 5.5 VDC Standards; 6 The Future of VDC.
Innovation in Small Construction Firms by
Innovation in Small Construction Firms promotes the benefits of innovation, and stimulate innovation capability within and between small and medium sized (SMEs) construction firms in an effort to bring in a new 'can innovate, should innovate, want to innovate' culture to the construction industry. Presenting new theoretical and practical insights and models grounded in descriptive case studies, the issues addressed include: what is the motivation to innovate? what is appropriate innovation? how can small construction firms create, manage and exploit innovation? what practice-based models, tools and techniques support the capability of small construction firms to innovate well? how does this fit in the context of leading international work in construction innovation? Findings are contextualised in the broader literature to make them of relevance to policy makers, practitioners and researchers interested in small, project-based firms in general.
Collaborative Construction Information Management by
Most construction projects are large and costly. Collaborative working involves two or more stakeholders sharing their efforts and resources to complete the project more effectively and efficiently. Collaborative, integrative and multi-disciplinary teams can tackle the complex issues involved in creating a viable built environment. This tends to be looked at from three interrelated perspectives: the technological, organizational, and social; and of these the key issue is to improve productivity and enable innovation through the empowerment and motivation of people. This book provides insights for researchers and practitioners in the building and construction industry as well as graduate students, written by an international group of leading scholars and professionals into the potential use, development and limitations of current collaborative technologies and practices. Material is grouped into the themes of advanced technologies for collaborative working, virtual prototyping in design and construction, building information modelling, managing the collaborative processes, and human issues in collaborative working.
Employee Resourcing in the Construction Industry by
Construction is one of the most challenging industrial environments for effective people management. It is characterised by geographically dispersed projects, production-oriented management styles, long working hours, high levels of staff turnover and employment practices grounded in the traditional 'personnel' paradigm. The employee resourcing function - recruitment, selection and deployment - is largely reactive and intuitive, and fails to draw on the longer-term benefits of strategic human resource management (SHRM). This book explores the challenges inherent in employee resourcing in-depth. It provides insights into the strategic considerations and operational approaches adopted by large construction organisations in deploying their human resources. It presents an improved framework for informed SHRM-style decision-making derived from an extensive study conducted within eight major construction organisations. This book provides a valuable resource for both students and practitioners interested in evaluating and improving current organisational practice.
Delivering Value with BIM by
Building Information Modelling (BIM) is a global phenomenon which is gaining significant momentum across the world. Currently there is little information on how to realise and monitor benefits from implementing BIM across the life-cycle of a built environment asset. This book provides a practical and strategic framework to realise value from implementing BIM by adapting Benefit Realisation Management theory. It presents an approach for practitioners aiming to implement BIM across the life-cycle of built environment assets, including both buildings and infrastructure. Additionally, the book features: wide-ranging information about BIM, the challenges of monitoring progress towards benefit goals and the greater context of implementation; a set of dictionaries that illustrate: how benefits can be achieved, what the benefit flows are and the enabling tools and processes that contribute to achieving and maximising them; a suite of measures that can serve to monitor progress with examples of how they have been used to measure benefits from BIM; real-world examples from across the world and life-cycle phases that show how these benefits can be achieved; and information on international maturity and competency measures to complement the value realisation framework. Including a blend of academic and industry input, this book has been developed in close collaborative consultation with industry, government and international research organisations and could be used for industry courses on BIM benefits and implementation for asset management or by universities that teach BIM-related courses.
Research methology in built environment by 
Communication in Construction Teams by
Construction teams are usually complex, interdisciplinary and temporary, and, as such, the need for effective communication is crucial. However, published data regarding the manner in which individuals interact within the temporary project team is scarce, with little other than anecdotal evidence available. Recognizing this gap,Communication in Construction Teamsprovides a comprehensive overview of the literature on interpersonal communication and delivers a critical review of various research methods previously used in and outside the construction management field. Making use of Bales' interaction process analysis (IPA), a tool used successfully in many fields to collect interaction data, the text investigates the link between successful projects and the effectiveness of communication, finding that participants in the construction process exhibit regular patterns of interaction and, most significantly, that there are different patterns of interaction associated with successful and unsuccessful projects. Putting forward a number of practical suggestions to assist all actors involved in construction projects, this insightful publication will be of interest to researchers in the fields of building design and construction management.
Relationship Contracting for Construction Excellence by
Improved efficiency and effectiveness in the construction industry provide huge potential savings. Various forms of relational contracting such as partnering, alliancing, public private partnership (PPP), and joint venture are good examples of this. Relational Contracting for Construction Excellence presents the principles of relational contracting, practicalities and a series of short case studies. Principles begins with the fundamentals then covers development in major countries, definitions of relational contracting, their benefits, difficulties, critical success factors and key performance indicators. Practice includes the relational contracting approach and process in general, and significant factors which make workshops successful, at whatever stage of the process. A number of real-life case studies from the UK, USA, Australia, and Hong Kong are provided. Since the book draws on a combination of practical consultancy works and university research, a wide range of readers will find it useful, i.e. from industrial practitioners to undergraduate students.