Skip to main content

Research Support: Follow Research and Ideas

Research support guide for faculty and students.

Keep up-to-date with Research

Many of the library's electronic resources and publishers webpages support features to keep you up-to-date on new material published in your research area(s). To use these features, create a free personal account with each of the databases/vendors. Not all our databases/journal vendors support all the features below.

  • Search Alerts:

Develop a search in a database that displays results of interest to you and then automatically receive alerts (by email or rss feeds) containing new, relevant items that match your original search criteria when the database is updated.

  • Publication / Table of Contents (TOC) Alerts:

As soon as new issues of journals are published/indexed automatically receive the table of contents or a list of articles in the issue via email or rss feed. NOTE: If this feature is not available from a database/vendor, but Search Alerts are available, you can create a search where you put the journal name of interest in the publication title/source field, and then create an alert for that search.

JournalTOCs is a free service that can alert you (via RSS feed or email) when a new issue of any of 22,000 journals that you choose to follow is published.

  • Saved Searches:

Create a database search that displays results of potential interest and then save the search so that you can run it quickly whenever you want without having to type all the original search terms

  • Citation Alerts:

Select specific articles that interest you in a database/journal vendor collection and then automatically receive notice when those articles are cited by new articles that are tracked by the database/vendor.

EXPLORE THE RESOURCES RELEVANT TO YOUR FIELD OF RESEARCH, AND SET UP AN ALERT SERVICE TO RECEIVE REGULAR UPDATES ON NEW DEVELOPMENTS IN RESEARCH.

RSS Feeds

RSS feeds are an easy way to keep up-to-date with new content on the web.

 

Overview: RSS feeds are created by the author of the original source, such as journals, newspapers, blogs, and publishers. RSS feeds bring you updated content through alerts, so you do not have to check all of the sources separately. Check out this quick tutorial if you are unfamiliar with RSS feeds. 

How to sign up: First, you’ll need to set up a RSS reader or “aggregator," which is a website where all the feeds you subscribe to are collected in one place.

Web-based RSS Feed Readers:

Web-based Personal Dashboards: (more than just a feed reader!)

Browser or Client-based & Mobile apps :

  • Feedly - a FireFox add-on and mobile app
  • NetNewsWire - RSS reader for the iPhone, iPad and Mac

The following icon is the most widely used indication that a RSS feed is available from the source:

When you have signed up to a newsreader, you can access your regular RSS feeds.

Conferences

Conferences are an important part of keeping up with research. Conferences provide you with opportunities to:

  • Publicize your work.
  • Connect with others in your research area.
  • Learn about current issues, publications, and topics.

Conferences may be facilitated by a university or an organization associated with a discipline. Ask your advisor or department about conferences that may suit your research, as well as funding opportunities to supplement your attendance. Social media is another way to stay involved (Link+, Facebook).

For information about research committees and organizations, see the Research Administration tab of this LibGuide.