Skip to main content

Humanities: Prescribed, Recommended and Open Textbooks: Speech Pathology and Audiology

Prescribed and Recommended

                                                   Image result for free images of books

SPPA 1003 - 1004

SPPA 1003 :  Acoustics and Psychoacoustics

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Introduction to Sound: Acoustics for the Hearing and Speech Sciences.

Speaks, C. (1992).

Recommended

Bases of Hearing Science. (3rd ed.).  (2nd ed. available in the library)

Durrant, J. D. & Lovrinic, J. H. (1995).

Recommended

Audiology: The Fundamentals (4th ed.).

Bess, F.H. & Humes, L. E. (2008).

Recommended

Introduction to Normal Auditory Perception.

Loven, F. (2009).

Recommended

An Introduction to the Psychology of Hearing. (6th ed.) (5th ed. available)

Moore, B. C. J. (2004)

Recommended

 

SPPA 1003 : Pathology of the ear and cerumen management

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Handbook of Clinical Audiology. (6th ed).

Katz, J; Medwetsky, L; Burkard, R & Hood, L.J. (2009).

Prescribed

Audiology Diagnosis. (2nd ed.).

Roeser, R., Valente, M. & Hosford-Dunn, H. (2007).

Recommended/H

Introduction to Audiology. (11th Edition).

Martin, F.N. & Clark, J.G. (2008).

Recommended/H

Audiology: The Fundamentals. (4th Ed.).

Bess, F.H. & Humes, L.E. (2008).

Recommended

Auditory Diagnosis: Principles and Applications

Silman, S. & Silverman, S. (1991).

Recommended

Communication disorders in educational and medical settings: An introduction for speech, language pathologists, educators and health professionals.

Haynes, W. O; Moran, M. J & Pindzola R. H. (2010)

 

Prescribed

Language Development. An Introduction. (6th Ed.)

Owens, R. (2005)

Prescribed

 

SPPA 1004 : Articulation and phonological disorders in children 

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Articulation and phonological disorders: speech sound disorders in children (6th and 7th ed.).

Bernthal, J. et al. (2009). Boston:

Prescribed

Speech correction: an introduction to speech pathology and audiology. (Chapter 6:  Traditional articulation therapy approach)

Van Riper, C. & Emerick, L. (1984).

 

Prescribed

Manual of articulation and phonological disorders: infancy through adulthood.

Bleile, K. (2004). New York:

 

Recommended

Children's speech sound disorders.

Bowen, C. (2009 )

Recommended

Clinical management of articulatory and phonologic disorders (3rd ed.).

Gordon-Brannan, M. & Weiss, C. (2007).

Recommended

 

Phonological disorders in children: clinical decision making in assessment and intervention.

Kamhi, A., & Pollock, K. (2005).

 

Recommended

 

SPPA 1004 : Preschool Language

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Language development: An introduction (6th ed.) ( 7th and 8th also available)

Owens, R.E. (2005)

Prescribed

Language disorders. A functional approach to assessment and intervention (4th ed.). (5th and 6th available in the library)

Owens, R.E. (2004).

 

Prescribed

Language and communication disorders in children. (6th ed.).

Bernstein, O.K., & Tigerman-Faber, E.

(2009)

Recommended

Assessment of language disorders in children.

McCauley, R.J. (2001).

Recommended

Language disorders and language development

Lahey, M. (1988).

Recommended

Clinical methods and practicum in speech-language pathology. 2005

Hegde, M.N., & Davis, D. (1995).

Recommended

Communicative disorders: An assessment manual. (1992 available)

Shipley, K. G., & MacAfee, J. G. (2004).

Recommended

Diagnosis and evaluation in speech pathology. (6th ed.). (8th ed available)

Haynes, W.O., & Pindzola, R.H. (2004).

Recommended

 

SPPA 1004 : Anatomy and physiology of the auditory system

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

The Auditory System: Anatomy, Physiology and Clinical Correlates. (2007 available)

Seikel, J.A., Douglas, D.W. and Drumright, D.G. (2010).

Recommended

 

Anatomy and Physiology of the Peripheral Auditory System. In R.J. Roeser, M. Valente and H. Hosford-Dunn (Eds.) Audiology: Diagnosis (2nd ed.).

Gelfand, S. (2009).

 

Recommended

Clinical Audiology: An Introduction (2nd ed.).

Kramer, S. (2008).

Recommended

Anatomy and Physiology of the Vestibular System. In R.J. Roeser, M. Valente and H. Hosford-Dunn (Eds.) Audiology: Diagnosis (2nd ed.).

Musiek, F.E. and Baran, J.A. (2007)

Recommended

The Auditory System: Anatomy, Physiology and Clinical Correlates.

Musiek, F.E., Weihing, J.A. and Oxholm, V.B. (2007).

Recommended

Anatomy and Physiology of the Central Auditory Nervous System. In R.J. Roeser, M. Valente and H. Hosford-Dunn (Eds.) Audiology: Diagnosis (2nd ed.). 

Salvi, R.J., Sun, W. and Lobarinas, E.

(2007)

Recommended

Anatomy and Physiology of the Peripheral Auditory System. In R.J. Roeser, M. Valente and H. Hosford-Dunn (Eds.) Audiology: Diagnosis (2nd ed.).

Stach, B.A. (2010).

 

Recommended

Clinical Audiology: An Introduction (2nd ed.).

Wright, C. and Schwade, N.D. (2007).

Recommended

SPPA 2001 - 2003

SPPA 2001 : Behavioural site of lesion assessment and introduction to central auditory processing disorders

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Handbook of Clinical Audiology (6th edition).

Katz, J., Medwetsky, L., Bukard, R. & Hood, L. (2009

Prescribed

Handbook of Clinical Audiology (4th edition)

Katz, J. (1994).

Recommended

Handbook of Clinical Audiology (5th edition).

Katz, J. (2002).

Recommended

Audiology: Diagnosis

Roeser, R., Valente, M., & Hosford-Dunn, H. (2000).

Recommended

Audiology: The Fundamentals

Bess, F.H., & Humes, L.E. (2008).

Recommended

Central Auditory Processing Disorders in the Educational Setting: from science to practice.

Bellis, T.J. (2003).

 

Recommended

 

SPPA 2001 :  ABR, Ecog and ASSR

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Handbook of Clinical Audiology (6th edition).

Katz, J., Medwetsky, L., Bukard, R. & Hood, L. (2009).

Prescribed

Audiology Diagnosis

Roeser, Ross.J.(Ed.) (2000)

Recommended

Audiology: The Fundamentals.

Bess, F.H., & Humes, L.E. (2008).

Recommended

Handbook of Auditory Evoked Responses.

Hall, J.W. (latest edition),

Recommended

Handbook of Clinical Audiology (5th edition).

Katz, J. (2002).

Recommended

Handbook of Clinical Audiology (4th edition).

Katz, J. (1994).

Recommended

Audiology: Diagnosis.

Roeser, R., Valente, M., & Hosford-Dunn, H. (2000).

Recommended

Handbook of clinical audiology (5th Ed.).

Katz J. (2002).

Prescribed

Tinnitus Handbook

Tyler, R.S. (Ed) (2000).

Recommended

Tinnitus Treatment: Clinical protocols.

Tyler, R. S. (2006).

Recommended

Handbook of otoacoustic emissions.

Hall, J.W. (2000).

Recommended

Audiology Diagnosis.

Roeser, R. J. et al (2000).

Recommended

 

SPPA 2001 :  OAE and Tinnitus

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Handbook of clinical audiology (5th Ed.).

Katz J. (2002).

Prescribed

Tinnitus Handbook.

Tyler, R.S. (Ed) (2000).

Recommended

Tinnitus Treatment: Clinical protocols.

Tyler, R. S. (2006).

Recommended

Handbook of otoacoustic emissions.

Hall, J.W. (2000).

Recommended

Audiology Diagnosis

Roeser, R. J. et al (2000).

Recommended

 

SPPA 2001 : Paediatric Audiology

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Handbook of Clinical Audiology. (6th ed).

Katz, J; Medwetsky, L; Burkard, R & Hood, L.J. (2009).

Prescribed

Paediatric Audiology: Diagnosis, technology, and management.

Madell, J.R. & Flexer, C. (Eds.) (2008).

Recommended/H

The handbook of paediatric audiology.

Gerber, S.E. (2000).

Recommended/H

New Handbook of Auditory Evoked Responses.

Hall, J.W. (2006)

Recommended/H

Paediatric audiology: 0-5 years.

McCormick, B. (Ed) (2004).

Recommended/H

 

SPPA 2003 : Preschool Language

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Language Disorders: A functional Approach to Assessment and Intervention. 5th ed   (6th ed also available)

Owens, R E (2010)

 

Prescribed

Language development: An introduction (6th ed.). (7th and 8th ed available)

Owens, R.E. (2005)

Prescribed

Language disorders. A functional approach to assessment and intervention (4th ed.). (5th and 6th ed available)

Owens, R.E. (2004).

Prescribed

Language and Communication Disorders in Children (6th ed.).

Bernstein, D.K. & Tigerman-Farber, E. (2009).

Recommended

Assessment of language disorders in children.

McCauley, R.J. (2001).

Recommended

Language disorders and language development.

Lahey, M. (1988).

Recommended

Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language pathology.

Hegde, M.N. and Davis, D. (1995),

Recommended

Communicative Disorders: An Assessment Manual.

Shipley, K.G. and McAfee, J.G. (2004)

Recommended

Diagnosis and Evaluation in Speech Pathology (6th ed.). (8th ed available)

Haynes, W.O. and Pindzola, R.H. (2004).

Recommended

 

  SPPA 2003 :  Fluency disorders

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Stuttering: An integrated approach to its nature and treatment. (3rd ed.).

Guitar, B. (2006).

Prescribed

Current issues in stuttering research and practice.

Bernstein Ratner, N., & Tetnowski, J. (2006).

Recommended

A handbook on stuttering (5th ed.).   (1969 available in the library)

Bloodstein, O. (1995).

Recommended

Successful stuttering management program (SSMP) for adolescent and adult stutterers. (2nd ed.).

Breitenfeld, D.H., & Lorenz, D.R. (1999).

 

Recommended

The school-age child who stutters: Working effectively with attitudes and emotions…A workbook.

Chmela, K.A., & Reardon, N. (2001).

 

Recommended

Stuttering.

Conture, E. (1990).

Recommended

Stuttering therapy: An integrated approach to theory and practice.

Culatta, R., & Goldberg, S.A. (1995).

Recommended

Stuttering and related disorders of fluency (2nd ed.).

Curlee, R.F. (1999).

Recommended

Stuttering: Science, therapy and practice: The most complete book about stuttering.

Kehoe, D. (1999).

Recommended

Stuttering severity instrument (4th ed.).

Riley, G.D. (2009)

 

Overall assessment of the speaker’s experience of stuttering.

Yaruss, J.S., & Quesal, R.W. (2008).

Recommended

 

  SPPA 2003 : Voice disorders

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Clinical Voice Disorders. 4th ed

Aronson, A.E. and Bless, D.M (2009)

Prescribed

Exercises for Voice Therapy

Behrman,A. and Haskell, J (eds) (2008)

Recommended /H

 

SPPA 2003 :  Early Intervention

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Young Children with Disabilities in Natural Environments.

Noonan, M.J., & McCormick, L. (2006)

Prescribed

Critical Thinking about Critical Periods.

Bailey, D. (2001).

Recommended

An Activity-based Approach to Early Intervention.

Bricker, D. (1997).

Recommended

Early Intervention: The Essential Readings.

Feldman, M. (2004).

Recommended

Young Children with Disabilities in Natural Environments.

Noonan, M.J., & McCormick, L (2006)

Prescribed

The Developmental Systems Approach to Early Intervention.

Guralnick, M. (2004).

Recommended

Understanding Families: Approaches to Diversity, Disability and Risk.

Hanson, M., & Lynch, E.W. (2004).

Recommended

Developing Play for the Under 3s (2nd Ed).

Hughes, A.M. (2010).

Recommended

Transdisciplinary play-based assessment: A functional approach to working with young children.

Linder, T.W. (1993).

Recommended

Alternative Approaches to Assessing Young Children (2nd Ed).

Losardo, A., & Notari Syverson, A. (2011).

Recommended

Early Intervention Practices around the World.

Odom, S.I., Hanson, M.J., Blackman, J.A., & Kaul, S. (2003)

Recommended

Communication Intervention. Birth to Three (2nd Ed).

Rossetti, L.M. (2002

Recommended

Play in Early Childhood. From Birth to Six Years (3rd Ed). (1999 available)

Sheridan, M.D. (2008).

Recommended

Developmental and Therapeutic Interventions in the NICU.

Vergara, E.R., & Bigsby, R. (2004).

Recommended

SPPA 3001 -3005

  SPPA 3001 : Hearing Implications

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Hearing Aids.

Dillon, H. (2001).

 

Recommended

Sound and Hearing (3rd Ed.).

Widex. (2007).

 

Recommended

Hearing aids: Standards, options, and limitations (2nd Ed.).

Michael Valente, (2002).

 

Recommended

 

SPPA 3001 : Paediatric Aural Rehabilitation

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Foundations of aural rehabilitation: Children, adults and their families. 4th ed. 2015.

Tye-Murray, N. (2009).

 

 

Prescribed

 

Children with hearing loss: Developing listening and talking.

Cole, E.B. & Flexer, C. (2007).

 

Recommended

Listen, Learn and Talk.

Cochlear limited (2003)

 

Recommended

Facilitating hearing and listening in young children.

Flexer, C. (1994).

 

Recommended

The developmental systems model for early intervention.

Guralnick, M.J. (2001)

 

Recommended

Handbook of outcomes measurement in audiology.

Johnson, C.E. & Danhauer, J. L (2002)

 

Recommended

When your child is deaf.

Luterman, D. & Ross, M. (1991).

 

Recommended

Pediatric Audiology: Diagnosis, Technology, and Management.

Madell, J. R., & Flexer, C. (2008).

 

 

 

SPPA 3001 :  Central Auditory Processing Disorders and Educational Audiology

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Central Auditory Processing Disorders in the Educational Setting: from science to practice (2nd Ed.)  ( 2nd ed. 2003 available)

Bellis, T.J. (2011).

 

Prescribed

Auditory processing disorders: Assessment, management and Treatment.

Geffner, D. & Ross-Swain, D. (2007).

 

Prescribed

Educational Audiology Handbook (2nd Ed.).

DeConde Johnson, C. & Seaton, J.B. (2012).

 

Prescribed

 

SPPA 3001 :  Adult Aural Rehabilitation

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Foundations of aural rehabilitation: Children, adults and their families

Tye-Murray, N. (2009).

 

 

Prescribed

 

SPPA 3002 : Clinical Practical in Speech Pathology

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Language Development: An Introduction (6th edition)

Owens, R.E. (2005)

 

Prescribed

Language Disorders. A functional approach to assessment and intervention (4th Ed).

Owens, R.E. (2004)

 

Prescribed

Language Therapy: A programme to teach English

Lewis, R.E. & Penn, C. (1989).

 

Prescribed

 

SPPA 3003 : Neurology

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Anatomy and physiology for speech language and hearing.

Seikel, JA, King, D.W., Drumright, D.G (2010).

 

Prescribed

Neurology for the Speech-Language Pathologist. (4th ed.).

Love, R.J. and Webb, W.G. (2001).

 

Prescribed

 

SPPA 3005 : Aphasiology

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Language intervention strategies in aphasia and related neurogenic communication disorders (5th).

Chapey, R. (Ed.) (2008).

 

Recommended

Stroke: Caring and Coping.

Fritz, V. and Penn, C. (1992).

 

Recommended

Manual of Aphasia Therapy.

Helm-Estabrooks, N. and Albert, M. (1991).

 

Recommended

An Introduction to Luria’s Aphasiology Theory and Application.

Kagan, A. and Saling, M. (1988).

 

Recommended

Aphasia and Related Neurogenic Language Disorders. (3rd ed.).

LaPointe, L.L. (ed.).

 

 

Recommended

Talking about Aphasia.

Parr, S., Byng, S. and Gilpin, S. (1998).

 

Recommended

Beyond Aphasia: Therapies for Living with Communication Disability

Pound, C. Parr, S. Lindsay, J. and Woolf, C. (2001).

 

Recommended

Neurogenic Communication Disorders: A Functional Approach.

Worrall, L.E. and Frattali, C.M. (2000).

 

Recommended

 

SPPA 3005 : Peadiatric Neurogenic Communication Disorders and Traumatic Brain Injury

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Cerebral Palsy: Resource Book for Speech-Language Pathologists.

Workinger, M.S (2005).

 

Recommended

Pediatric traumatic brain injury: Proactive intervention.

Blosser, J.L., & de Pompei, R. (2004).

 

Recommended

Childhood motor speech disability.

Love, R. (1992).

 

Recommended

 

SPPA 3005 : Paediatric Dysphagia

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Paediatric Swallowing and Feeding: Assessment and Management. (2nd Edition).

Arvedson, J., & Brodsky, L. (2002)

 

Prescribed

Recorded incidence and management of paediatric dysphagia in an outpatient paediatric neurodevelopmental clinic.

Barratt, J. & Ogle, V. (2010).

South African Journal of Child Health. 4 (2): 38-

41.

Prescribed Reading/Article

Assessment of paediatric dysphagia and feeding disorders: Clinical and Instrumental approaches.

Arvedson, J.C (2008).

 

Developmental Disabilities Research Reviews.14: 118-127.

Prescribed Reading/Article

Clinical Practice: swallowing problems in cerebralpalsy.

 

Erasmus, C.E.; van Hulst, K.; Rotteveel, J.J.; Willemson, M.; Jongerius, P.H (2012).

European Journal of Paediatrics. 171: 409-414.

Prescribed Reading/Article

Evaluating service delivery for speech and swallowing problems following paediatric brain injury: An international survey.

Morgan, A.T. & Skeat, J. (2010).

 

Journal of Evaluation in Clinical Practice. 17: 275-281

Prescribed Reading/Article

Indications, medical conditions and services related to gastrostomy placement in infants and children at a tertiary hospital in South Africa.

Norman, V.; Singh, S.; Hittler, T.; Jones, N.; Kenny, N.; Mann, R.; McFarlane, S, Moeng, A. (2011).

South African Journal of Child Health. 5 (3): 86-89.

Prescribed Reading/Article

An overview of paediatric dysphagia.

Prasse, J.E. & Kikano, G.E. (2009).

Clinical Paediatrics. 48 (3): 247-251.

Prescribed Reading/Article

Multidisciplinary management of paediatric dysphagia in government hospitals in Gauteng, South Africa: A pilot study.

Seedat, J.; Mupawose, A.; & Choonara, T. (2011).

South African Journal of Child Health. 5 (3): 97-98.

 

Prescribed Reading/Article

Dysphagia and aspiration in children.

Tutor, J.D. & Gosa, M.M (2012).

Paediatric Pulmonology. 47: 321-337.

Prescribed Reading

Dysphagia: foundation, theory and practice.

Cichero, J., & Murdoch, B. (2006).

 

Recommended

Dysphagia: Diagnosis and management. 3rd Edition.

Groher, M. (Ed). (1997).

 

Recommended

Paediatric dysphagia resource guide.

Hall, K. (2001).

 

Recommended

Dysphagia and the child with developmental disabilities : medical, clinical, and family interventions.

Rosenthal, S, Sheppard, J., & Lotze, M. (Eds). (1995).

 

Recommended

The source for paediatric dysphagia.

Swiggert, N. (1998).

 

Recommended

Disorders of feeding and swallowing in infants and children: pathophysiology, diagnosis and treatment.

Tuchman, D., and Walter, R. (eds). (1994).

 

Recommended

Practical management of eating and drinking difficulties in children.’

Winstock, A. (1993).

 

Recommended

Practical management of eating and drinking difficulties in children: A guide for practioners.

Winstock, A. (1993).

 

 

Recommended

 

SPPA 3005 : Adult Dysphagia

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Dysphagia.

Palmer, J. B. (2008).

 

Prescribed

Dysphagia: Foundation, theory and practice

Cichero, J. & Murdoch, B. (2006).

 

Prescribed

SPPA 4001 - 4007

SPPA 4001 : Clinical Neurology

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Neurology for the speech-language pathologist

Webb, W. G.; Adler, R. K. & Love, R. J (2007)

 

Recommended

Clinical Neurology: A Primer

Gates, P (2010)

 

Recommended

Anatomy and physiology for speech language and hearing.

Seikel, JA, King, D.W., Drumright, D.G (2010).

 

Recommended

 

SPPA 4002 :  Cortically evoked auditory potentials

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Auditory evoked potentials from the cortex: audiology applications.

 

Cone-Wesson, B. & Wunderlich, J. (2003).

 

Current Opinion in Otolaryngology & Head and Neck Surgery. 11:372-377.

Prescribed Reading/Article

 

The mismatch negativity: A review of underlying mechanisms.

Garrido, M.I., Kilner, J.M., Stephan, K E. and Friston, K.J. (2009).

Clinical Neurophysiology 120:453–463.

Prescribed Reading/Article

Auditory evoked potentials as measures of plasticity in humans.

Purdy, S.C., Kelly, A.S. and Thorne, P.R. (2001).

Audiology and Neurotology. 6(4):212-215

Prescribed Reading.

New perspectives on assessing amplification effects.

Souza, P.E. and Tremblay, K.L. (2006).

Trends in Amplification. 10: 119-143.

Prescribed Reading.

 

SPPA 4002 :  Balance Disorders: Evaluation and Management

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Handbook of Clinical Audiology. (6th ed).

Katz, J; Medwetsky, L; Burkard, R & Hood, L.J. (2009).

 

Prescribed

Balance Function: assessment and management.

Jacobson, G. P. & Shepard, N. T. (2008).

 

Recommended Highly

Vestibular function: evaluation and treatment.

Desmond, A. (2004).

 

Recommended Highly

Vestibular Rehabilitation. (3rd ed).

Herdman, S. J. (2007).

 

Recommended Highly

Vestibular Rehabilitation: protocols and programs.

Gans, R. E. (1996).

 

Recommended

A Textbook of Audiological Medicine: Clinical Aspects of Hearing and Balance.

Luxon, L., Furman, J. M., Martini, A., & Stephens, D. G. (2003).

 

Recommended

Congenitally deafblind children and cochlear implants: effects on communication.

Dammeyer, J. (2009).

 

Journal of deaf studies and deaf education. Vol14 (2): 278-289

Prescribed Reading/Article

Does visual impairment lead to additional disability in adults with intellectual impairment?

Evenhuis, H.M., Sjoukes, L., Koot, H.M, & Kooijman, H.J. (2009).

Journal of intellectual Disability Research. Vol.53. (1): 19-28.

Prescribed Reading/Article

Differentiating characteristics of deafblindness and autism in people with congenital deafblindness and profound intellectual disability.

Hoevenhaars-van der Boom, M.A.A., Antonissen, A.C.F.M.; Knoors, H., & Vervloed, M.P.J. (2009

Journal of Intellectual disability Research. Vol.53. (6): 548-558.

Prescribed Reading/Article

Early identification of Infants who are deafblind

Malloy, P., Stremel Thomas, K., Schalock, M., Davies, S., Purvis, B., & Udell, T. (2009).

National Consortium on Deafblindness.

Prescribed Reading/Article

Recommended communication-based interventions for individuals with severe intellectual disabilities.

Ogletree, B.T., Bruce, S.M., Finch, A., Fahey, R., & Mclean, L. (2011).

Communication Disorders Quarterly. Vol.32 (3): 164-175.

Prescribed Reading.

Congenitally deafblind children and cochlear implants: effects on communication.

Dammeyer, J. (2009).

 

Journal of deaf studies and deaf education. Vol14 (2): 278-289.

Prescribed Reading/Article

Language and play in students with multiple disabilities and visual impairments or deafblindness.

Pizzo, L. & Bruce, S.M. (2010).

 

Journal of Visual Impairment and Blindness. p. 287-297.

Prescribed Reading.

Adaptive assessment of young children with visual impairment.

Ruiter, S., Nakken, H., Janssen, M., van der Meulen, B., Looijestijn, P. (2011).

The British Journal of Visual Impairment. Vol.29 (2): 93-112.

Prescribed Reading/Article

Twenty years of communication intervention research with individual who have severe intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Snell, M., Brady, N., McLean, L., Ogletree, B., Siegel, E., Sylvester, L., Mollica, B., Paul, D., Romski, M., Sevcik, R. (2010).

American Journal of Intellectual and developmental Disabilities. Vol.115 (5): 364-380.

Prescribed Reading/Article

Attentional processes in young children with congenital visual impairment.

Tadic, V., Pring, L., Dale, N. (2009).

British Journal of Developmental Psychology. Vol. 27: 311-330

Prescribed Reading/Article

Conversations for three: Communicating through interpreters.

Chen, D., Chan, S., Brekken, L., & Valverde, A. (2000).

 

Recommended

Including students with severe and multiple disabilities in typical classrooms: Practical strategies for teaching.

Downing, J. (1996).

 

 

Recommended

Education of dual sensory impaired children: Recognising and developing ability.

Etheridge, D. (1995).

 

Recommended

A world without words: The social construction of children born deaf and blind.

Goode, D. & Zola, I. (1994).

 

Recommended

Hand in hand: Essentials of communication and orientation and mobility for your students who are deaf-blind. Vol. 1.

Hueber, K., Prickett, J., Welch, T., & Joffee, E. (1995).

 

Recommended

Promoting language through active interaction: A guide to early communication with young children who have multiple disabilities.

Klein, M., Chen, D., & Haney, M (2000).

 

Recommended

A guide to planning and support for individuals who are deaf-blind.

McInnes, J. (1999).

 

Recommended

Remarkable conversations: A guide to developing meaningful communication with children and adults who are deaf-blind.

Miles, B., & DeRiggio, M. (1999).

 

 

Recommended

Educating children who have visual impairments and other disabilities

Sacks, S. & Silberman, R. (1998).

 

 

Recommended

Guidelines: practical tips for working and socializing with deaf-blind people.

Smith, T. (1994).

 

 

Recommended

Deaf-blind infants and children: A developmental guide.

Treffry, J. & McInnes, J. (1994).

 

Recommended

 

SPPA 4006 :  Research Report

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Completing your thesis: A practical guide.

Bak, N. (2004).

Pretoria: Van Schaik.

Recommended

Guide for the preparation of research reports, project reports, research proposals, research papers, theses and dissertations.

 

Bendixon, M.T. (2002).

 

Johannesburg: University of the Witwatersrand Graduate School for Business Administration.

Recommended

Research reports and research proposals. A guide for scientists seeking funding.

Chapin, P. (2004).

 

Recommended

Guide for the preparation of research proposals, research reports, and project reports.

De Villiers, G. (2001).

 

Recommended

How to succeed in your master’s and doctoral studies: A South African guide and resource book.

Mouton, J. (2001).

 

Recommended

Research proposals: A guide to success.

Ogden, T.E. (2002).

 

Recommended

Developing effective research proposals: A practical guide.

Punch, K. (2000).

 

Recommended

Writing papers in psychology: A student guide to research reports, essays, proposals, posters, and brief reports.

Rosnow, R.L. (2003).

 

Recommended

 

SPPA 4007 :  Augmentative & Alternative Communication

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Augmentative & Alternative Communication: supporting children & adults with complex communication needs.

Beukelman, R.B. & Mirenda, P. (2005)

 

Prescribed

Roles and Responsibilities of Speech-Language Pathologists with Respect to Augmentative and

ASHA Special Interest Division 12: Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC). (2004).

 

Recommended

Enhancing Vocabulary Selection for Preschoolers Who Require Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC).

Fallon, K., Light, J., Paige, T. (2001).

 

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 10, 81-94.

Recommended

Supporting Augmentative and Alternative Communication Use by Beginning Communicators With Severe Disabilities.

 

Johnston, S., Reichle, J., Evans, J. (2004).

 

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 13, 20-30

 

Recommended

Patterns of interaction between children with physical disabilities using augmentative and alternative communication systems and their peers.

Clarke, M. T. and Kirton, A. (2003).

 

 

Recommended

Augmentative and Alternative Communication for Students With Autism: Manual Signs, Graphic Symbols, and Voice Output Communication Aids.

Mirenda, P. (2003). Toward Functional

 

Language and speech, heating services in schools, 34, 203-216.

Recommended

 

SPPA 4006 :  Organic Voice Disorders

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Working with Oral Cancer.

Appleton, J., & Machin, J. (1995)

 

Recommended

Clinical manual for laryngectomy and head and neck cancer rehabilitation

 

Casper, J.K & Colton, R.H (1993).

 

 

Recommended

Communication and Swallowing Management of Tracheostomised and Ventilator-Dependant Adults (2nd ed).

Dikeman, K. J., & Kazandjian, M. S. (2003).

 

 

Recommended

Head and neck Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach (3rd edition).

Harrison, L.; Sessions, R.; & Hong, W. (2008).

 

Recommended

Tracheotomy: Airway Management, Communication and Swallowing.

Myers, E. N., & Johnson, J. T. (2008).

 

Recommended

Management of Breathing, Speaking and Swallowing.

Tippett, D. C. (2000).

 

Recommended

Head and Neck Cancer: Treatment, Rehabilitation and Outcomes.

Ward, E.C; & van As-Brooks, C.J. (2007).

 

Recommended

 

SPPA 4007 :  Craniofacial Disorders

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

 

Cleft Palate Sourcebook.

Albery,l. & Russell, J. (1994).

 

Recommended

Cleft Lip and Palate: Diagnosis and Management (2nd Ed)

Berkowitz, S. (Ed.) (2006).

 

 

 

A Parent-Child Cleft Palate Curriculum.

Brookshire, B. L., Lynch, J.I. & Fox, B. R. (1986).

 

Recommended

Communicative Disorders Related to Cleft Lip & Palate (3rd Ed.).

Bzoch, K.R. (Ed.) (1989).

 

 

Recommended

Therapy Techniques for Cleft Palate Speech and Related Disorders.

Golding-Kushner, K.J. (2001).

 

 

Recommended

Cleft palate and craniofacial anomalies: The effects on speech and resonance.

Kummer, A.W. (2008).

 

 

Recommended

A Curriculum For Infants And Toddlers With Cleft Palate: Developing Speech and Language.

Lynch, J Brookshire, B.L. and Fox, D. R. (1993).

 

Recommended

Management of Cleft Lip and Palate in the Developing World.

Mars,M. Sell, D. & Habel, A. (Eds.) (2008).

 

Recommended

Cleft Palate Speech (2nd Ed.)

McWilliams, B.J., Shelton, R. & Morris, H. (1990).

 

Recommended

Cleft Palate Speech (3rd Ed.)

Peterson-Falzone, S.J., Hardin-Jones, M.A. & Karnell, M.P. (2001)

 

Recommended

The Clinician’s Guide to Treating Cleft Palate Speech.

Peterson-Falzone, S.J., Trost-Cardamone, J.E. Karnell, M.P. & Hardin-Jones, M.A. (2006)

 

Recommended

Velopharyngeal Incompetency: A Practical Guide for Evaluation & Management.

Rampp, D.L., Pannbacker,H. & Kinnebrew, M.C. (1984).

 

Recommended

Practical Intervention for Cleft Palate Speech.

Russell, J & Albery, L. (2005).

 

Recommended

Genetic Syndromes and Communication Disorders.

Shprintzen, R.J. (2000).

 

Recommended

Syndrome Identification for Speech-Language Pathologists: An Illustrated Pocket Guide.

Shprintzen, R.J. (2000).

 

 

Recommended

Cleft Palate Speech Management: A Multidisciplinary Approach.

Shprintzen, R.J. & Bardach, J. (1995).

 

Recommended

Working with Cleft Palate.

Stengelhofen, J. (1990).

 

Recommended

Management of Cleft Lip and Palate: Studies in Disorders of Communication.

Watson, A.C.H., Sell, D.A. & Grunwell P. (2001).

 

Recommended

 

SPPA 4007 :  Advanced child language

TITLE

AUTHOR

ISBN

 

Sensory integration and the child: understanding hidden sensory challenges.25th anniversary edition.

Ayres, J. (2005).

 

 

Recommended

Uncommon Understanding: Development and disorders of language comprehension in children.

Bishop, D. V.M.(1999).

 

 

Recommended

Speech and Language Impairments in Children: Causes, Characteristics, Intervention and Outcomes.

Bishop, D. & Leonard, L. (Eds.), (2000).

 

Recommended

Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders.

Cohen, D.J. & Volkmar, F.R. (Eds.), (1997).

 

Recommended

The Course of Language Learning in Children with Down Syndrome. In Tager-Flusberg (Eds). Constraints on Language Acquisition. Studies of Atypical Children.

Fowler, A.E., Gelman, R. & Gleitman, I.R. (1994).

 

 

Recommended

Dual Language Development and Disorders: A handbook on Bilingualism and Second Language Learning.

Genesee, F., Paradis, J. & Crago, M. (2004).

 

 

Recommended

Engaging autism.

Autism and the Development of Theory of Mind.

Greenspan, S., & Wieder, S. (2006).

Hobson, R.P. (1993).

 

Recommended

Understanding the Connection between Metacognition, Metalinguistic Awareness, and Learning: A Brief Overview for Teachers.

Hopper, P.F., Jayroe, T., & Franz, D.P. (2008).

 

 

Recommended

Language Disorders in Bilingual Children and Adults.

Kohnert, K.(2008)

 

Recommended

Children with Specific Language Impairment.

Leonard, L.B. (1997).

 

Recommended

Let me Hear Your Voice: A Family’s triumph over Autism.

Maurice, C. (1993).

 

Recommended

Exploring the spectrum of autism and pervasive developmental disorders: Intervention strategies.

Murray-Slutsky, C., & Paris, B. (2000).

 

Recommended

Language Disorders from a Developmental Perspective: Essays in Honor of Robin S. Chapman

Paul, R. (Ed) (2007)

 

Recommended

Enabling Communication in Children with Autism

Potter, C. & Whitaker, C. (2001).

 

Recommended

Do –Watch- Listen- Say: Social and Communication Intervention for Children with Autism.

Quill, K.A. (2000).

 

 

Recommended

Developmental Language Disorders From Phenotypes to Etiologies

Rice, M.L. and Warren, S.F. (eds) (2004)

 

Recommended

Childhood Communication Disorders: Organic Bases.

Schoenbrodt L. (2004).

 

Recommended

Handbook of Child Language Disorders.

Schwartz, R (ed) (2009)

 

 

Disorganized Children: A guide for parents and professionals.

Stein, S., & Chowdhury, U. (Eds.). (2006).

 

Recommended

Classification of Developmental Language Disorders Theoretical Issues and Clinical Implications

Verhoeven,L. and van Balkom, H (eds) (2004)

 

Recommended

Autism Spectrum Disorders: A Transactional Developmental Perspective.

Wetherby, A. & Prizant, B. (2000).

 

 

Recommended

The Relationship between Cognitive and Meta-cognitive Strategy Use and EFL Reading Achievement.

Zare-ee, A. (2007).

 

Journal of Applied Pyschology, 2, 105-119.

Recommended

 

SPPA 4007 :  Advanced Adult language

 

TITLE

AUTHOR

ISBN

 

Acquired speech and language disorders: A neuroanatomical and Functional neurological approach (2nd Ed)

 

Murdoch, B. E. (2010)

 

 

Prescribed

Right hemisphere damage: disorders of communication and cognition

Myers, P. S. (1999)

 

 

Prescribed

Cognitive-communication disorders of dementia.

Bayles, K. A. & Tomoeda, C. K. (2007)

 

Prescribed