Skip to main content

Engineering library: New Academics: Home

An overview of the Gold Fields Engineering library services and resources for new and existing staff.

Welcome

This Libguide has been created to guide academic staff through some of the most important library services and resources that are available to support teaching and research, whether you are a new or existing staff member in Engineering.

The Gold Fields Engineering Library is located on the Ground Floor of the Chamber of Mines Building. Our collection pertains to all areas of engineering as well as related subjects. For more information about the library consult the Engineering library Libguide.

We encourage you to contact your librarian for a one-on-one library session for library assistance.

Loan Periods

Loan rules in the Engineering library vary by item, by location, and by user type.

Academic staff can take out up to 30 books at a time and the following loan rules apply:

Location     Loan Period
Open Shelf Books     45 Days
Short Loan collection  1 Day or 3 Days
Bound Journals  1 Week
Unbound Journals  3 Days

 

Items you have borrowed can be renewed up to 4 times after which you will have to return the books to the library to be checked in and reissued if needed. Log in via the My Library Account on the Library Homepage.

We send courtesy e-mails to remind users when library materials are due for return. Reminders are not sent for Short loan (1 day)  items borrowed from the library.

If you want to borrow an item which is already on loan you may place a hold on it; when it is returned it will be kept for you at the library Circulation Desk. Where a book is in high demand, you may be placed in a queue, but at least you know you will get access to the book once its your turn.

ALL loans, are subject to recall. Such items may have to be returned to the Library earlier than the original due date as they are required by another user. Users are informed of recalls and revised due dates by email.

Any overdue item, when returned or renewed, will result in a charge being placed on your account.

Quick Search Links

The Quick catalogue search boxe below allows you to:

The Catalogue will help you find resources – mainly hardcopy books as well as electronic books, but also journals, multimedia, DVD’s and more. By using the catalogue, library items can be ‘located’ thus identifying the location (section), shelf no and if it is in the library…. or out with a borrower. Use the dropdown menu to allow more search options, i.e. by author, title, subject, keyword, etc.


more search options

Inter-Library Loans

The University Library offers an Inter-Library Loan service which provides access to material not held in the Wits Libraries whilst also supplying material from its own stock to other libraries. To make a request or find information about the Inter-Library Loan service offered to Wits library Users, click here. Please note that you will need your library PIN to submit an online Interlibrary Loan request. The dedicated team of librarians in the Interlibrary Loans department will keep you informed of the status of your requests.

Photocopying and Printing

Photocopying & Printing in the Library: If photocopies (38c per copy) or printing (30c per page) need to be done in the library you will have to upload "kudu bucks" on your staff card. Icam machines to upload kudu bucks are available at various locations on campus.

Prescribed and Recommended Books

Prescribed and recommended books in high demand are placed in the library's short loan collection and can be taken out for one or three days. Books will be allocated to the short loan collection on recommendation of academic staff. Please contact the librarian if you would like to make a suggestion.

Building our Collection

Librarians work closely with faculty to select books, periodicals, DVDs and other formats essential for teaching and research. We invite you to partner with us to identify key materials that support your academic discipline. A new booklist will be published regularly in the Engineering Library Newsletter.

Send your requests to the Engineering librarian. For interest also consult the library Collection Development and Management Policy .

Faculty Library Committee

Each School in the Faculty has a representative that serves on the Faculty Library Committee.The objectives of the committee are:

   - to advise on the formulation of policies regarding the development of resources for teaching and research,

   - advise on budget allocation and expenditure

   - the development of library facilities

   - support library information literacy initiatives

   - to report library related matters to the schools

School representatives in Engineering:

   - Chemical and Metallurgical Engineering: Nthabiseng Maledi

   - Civil and Environmental Engineering: Luis Alberto Torres Cruz

   - Electrical and Information Engineering: Cuthbert Nyamupangedengu

   - Mechanical, Industrial and Aeronautical Engineering: Ionel Botef

   - Mining Engineering: Paseka Leeuw

Contact Us

 

General Enquiries and Renewals:

(011) 717-1970

Staff:

Maryna van den Heever:  Manager: Research Support Services, (011) 717-1971

Pinky Matai: Engineering Librarian, (011) 717-1975

Mantu Nyangiwe, Simon Netshaulo & Phili Mhlongo, (011) 717-1970

 

Engineering library QR Code

Access to the Library

Access to the Library: Your staff card will give you access to the Wits libraries and allows you to borrow library materials. If you loose your card please report it immediately to the Icam office for replacement.

Checklist

  Set up your Library PIN.

Your Library PIN enables you to:
+ Access library electronic resources off campus.
+ Request material, not available in the Wits library, on an Interlibrary Loan.
+ Access your library account to view all titles issued out to you.
+ Place a hold on an item which is issued out to another patron.

Consult your subject specific Libguide for relevant library resources.

The Copyright Libguide provides answers to frequently asked questions, assists with copyright administrative processes, help authors to use and enforce their rights, and to demystify copyright law as much as possible. The copyright office is part of the University Library and served as the centralised point for all matters concerning copyright.

Training Sessions for Students

Information literacy is a set of abilities requiring individuals to "recognize when information is needed and have the ability to locate, evaluate, and use effectively the needed information."  From: The Association of College & Research Libraries

If you would like us to present an Information literacy session to your students please feel free to contact us. We have found that these sessions are most valuable when presented in conjuction with a particular assignment or project. Sessions can be delivered in a school lecture facility or in the library's Electronic Classroom (capacity 16). A course specific Libguide can be developed as additional support for students.