Skip to main content

Engineering Library Newsletter: Engineering Library Newsletter: June/July 2019

This library newsletter for faculty and students keeps you informed of our activities, services and resources.

Request a Workshop

Students often have difficulty narrowing topics, choosing search terms, selecting appropriate databases, evaluating sources, referencing and generally finding their way in the library system. If you have noticed gaps in student's use of relevant information for assignments and projects please consider arranging a library training session. We’d much rather teach your class as a group than try to teach each student individually (often the day before the project is due). You're welcome to contact us for further details.

THINK > CHECK > SUBMIT

THINK - CHECK - SUBMIT: Sharing research results with the world is key to the progress of your discipline and career. But with so many publications, predatory journals and publishers, how can you be sure you can trust a particular journal? Follow this check list to make sure you choose trusted journals for your research. The campaign has been produced with the support of a coalition from across scholarly communications in response to discussions about deceptive publishing. See a list of founding organisations

Access the lists of DOHET accredited journals here, or use the search engine to find out if a specific journal is accredited and on which accredited list it appears.

Interlibrary / Interbranch Loans

Interlibrary loans (ILL) is a service which supports and enhances the University Library collections when these fail to meet the needs of the University academic staff and postgraduate students. ILLs are transactions between the libraries of institutions to facilitate access to information which extends beyond that held by any individual library. This service is available to Postgraduate Students and Wits Staff. Contact details.

Interbranch loans are available to Staff only, and are for loans to/from Main Campus, Education  and Management Libraries only. This service in not for loans between Main Campus and branches on the East and West Campus.

Please note that you will need to have a library PIN to submit your requests online.

New Books in the Library

        

The following books are now on display in the Engineering library. eBooks are displayed on the library's digital screen.

Spotlight on...

The Britannica Group Inc, is a world -wide leader at the forefront of the information revolution for 205 years. They have empowered the way the world teaches and learns, and they continue to pave the way in reimagining discovery and inquiry.

Another Spotlight...

        

African Newspapers

Access World News - Africa 
Full text access to current African news sources, 1997- present. Consists predominantly of African newspapers, but also includes newswires, magazines and other sources


Rand Daily Mail Archive: 1902-1985 
From its early beginnings in 1902, the Rand Daily Mail was known for its controversial yet courageous journalism. Despite significant pressure from the conservative government, its writers openly addressed issues that white readers knew little about. Now, decades later, this critically acclaimed title—and its wealth of unique perspectives on 20th century South Africa—is available as a fully searchable online resource containing articles, advertisements, editorials, cartoons, photographs, and more.


World Newspaper Archive: African Newspapers 1800-1922 
Full text access  to African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries; over 30 titles from South Africa in English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu, as well as foreign language titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Uganda and Zimbabwe.   


Library Wisdom Box

IEEE Popular Searches

IEEE Xplore offers full-text access to journals, magazines, conference proceedings and standards of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

The following five searches are ranked the most popular on IEEE:

Knovel eBook Collections

Knovel provides a searchable database of handbooks, datasets and reference sources in science, technology and engineering through a single interface. Knovel’s collection of reference works and databases from international publishers and professional societies covers subjects such as material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations, and more. The interactive tables and graphs allows users to manipulate, analyze, and export data.

This collection can be accessed by an unlimited number of users simultaneously.