Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
2019 January to May New Books
Sou Fujimoto by The first comprehensive monograph on Japan's most creative, experimental and visionary architect, Sou Fujimoto Occasionally an architect emerges whose vision is so fresh that it causes us to reconsider the very nature of architecture. Sou Fujimoto is one of those architects. Guided by instinct and keen observation, he casts convention aside. Instead he blurs boundaries and routinely rethinks basic building blocks. Both comfortably familiar and curiously enigmatic, Fujimoto's dynamic work grabs our attention then lingers on in our minds. Born and bred in Hokkaido, Fujimoto received his undergraduate degree in architecture from Tokyo University before embarking on an uncharted, solo exploration that probed the possibilities of architecture. Unfettered by the ideas and practices of others, Fujimoto's work has clarity of thought and purity of execution seldom seen. Fujimoto garnered significant international attention for his popular 2013 Serpentine Pavilion in London (Fujimoto was the youngest architect to receive the highly-regarded commission). In 2012 he was part of the Japanese team that won a Golden Lion award for Best National Participation at the Venice Architecture Biennale for their design of alternative housing concepts for the homes that were destroyed by the tsunami.
Call Number: NA 1559 FUJ POL
Publication Date: 2016-05-23
Material Architecture by Composed of a series of essays, this book deals with the broad issues affecting the nature of architectural materials and provides a focused review of the state of the art materials. It also provides designers with the tools they need to evaluate and select from the thousands of different materials that are available to them. The book is organized into three sections: 'Time' looks at how the materials used in architectural design have changed over the years showing how we have come to use the materials we do in contemporary design. 'Materials' covers all five material families; metals, polymers, ceramics, composites and natural materials giving in depth information on their properties, behavior, origins and uses in design. It also introduces a review of the cutting edge research for each family. 'Systems' outlines the technical design-orientated research that uncovers how new architectural assemblies can be designed and engineered. All of this practical advice is given along with many real case examples illustrating how this knowledge and information has been, and can be, used in architectural design.
Call Number: TA 403.6 FER
Publication Date: 2017-12-21
Don't Be Afraid to Participate! by The further development of housing in the major European cities faces a number of challenges in these days of rampant urbanization. This trend is coupled with a growing interest in home ownership and increasingly diverse domestic requirements as a result of demographic change. In response to these challenges, new building initiatives are being formed with the aim of meeting individual requirements through self-determined forms of organization. These housing projects take a communal approach to both the planning process and later day-to-day living: Participation!From A for Architect to Z for Zoning, this book provides a brief and informative overview of all the key terms describing communal planning and living. These terms accompany the development of ideas and concepts as well as the planning processes for housing projects and map their inner structure. They are part of the communication between residents, client and architect, and describe the path toward the ultimate goal of living in a functioning community. Exhibition: Architekturmuseum TU München in der Pinakothek der Moderne 17.3.-12.6.2016
Call Number: HE 305 REA
Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Repenser l'habitat : donner un sens au logement = Rethinking habitats : making sense of housing Architectenbureau Cepezed -- Catalogs.
Architecture -- Netherlands -- 20th century.
Architecture -- Netherlands -- 21st century.
Architecture, Modern -- 20th century.
Architecture, Modern -- 21st century.
Call Number: NA 7110 REP
Publication Date: 2014
Loose Fit City by Drawn from a lifetime's experience of shared city-making from the bottom up, within rapidly expanding urban metabolisms in Delhi, Mumbai, Agra, Kathmandu, West Africa and London, Loose Fit Cityis about the ways in which city residents can learn through making to engage with the dynamic process of creating their own city. It looks at the nature and processes involved in loosely fitting together elements made by different people at different scales and times, with different intentions, into a civic entity which is greater than the sum of its parts. It shows how bottom-up learning through making can create a more vibrant and democratic city than the more flattened, top-down, centrally planned, factory made version. Loose Fit Cityprovides a new take on the subject of architecture, defined as the study and practice of fitting together physical and cultural topography. It provides a comprehensive view of how the fourth dimension of time fits loosely together with the three spatial dimensions at different scales within the human horizon, so as to layer meaning and depth within the places and metabolism of the city fabric.
Call Number: GN 780.42.S7 FLE
Publication Date: 2017-09-22
The South African informal sector : creating jobs, reducing poverty by Although South Africa’s informal sector is small compared to other developing countries, it nevertheless provides livelihoods, employment and income for millions of workers and business owners. Almost half of informal-sector workers work in firms with employees. The annual entry of new enterprises is quite high, as is the number of informal enterprises that grow their employment. There is no shortage of entrepreneurship and desire to grow.
However, obstacles and constraints cause hardship and failure, pointing to the need for well-designed policies to enable and support the sector, rather than suppress it. The same goes for formalisation. Recognising the informal sector as an integral part of the economy, rather than ignoring it, is a crucial first step towards instituting a ‘smart’ policy approach.
The South African Informal Sector is strongly evidence- and data-driven, with substantial quantitative contributions combined with qualitative findings – suitable for an era of increased pressure for evidence-based policy-making – and utilises several disciplinary perspectives.
Call Number: HD 2346.S6 SOU
Publication Date: 2018
Seeing Like a City by Seeing like a city means recognizing that cities are living things made up of a tangle of networks, built up from the agency of countless actors. Cities must not be considered as expressions of larger paradigms or sites of human effort and organization alone. Within their density, size and sprawl can be found a world of symbols, bodies, buildings, technologies and infrastructures. It is the machine-like combination, interaction and confrontation of these different elements that make a city. Such a view locates urban outcomes and influences in the character of these networks, which together power urban life, allocating resources, shaping social opportunities, maintaining order and simply enabling life. More than the silent stage on which other powers perform, such networks represent the essence of the city. They also form an important political project, a politics of small interventions with large effects. The increasing evidence for an Anthropocene bears out the way in which humanity has stamped its footprint on the planet by constructing urban forms that act as systems for directing life in ways that create both immense power and immense constraint.
Call Number: JV 6021 SAS
Publication Date: 2017-01-09
Rethinking the Economics of Land and Housing by Why are house prices in many advanced economies rising faster than incomes? Why isn't land and location taught or seen as important in modern economics? What is the relationship between the financial system and land? In this accessible but provocative guide to the economics of land and housing, the authors reveal how many of the key challenges facing modern economies - including housing crises, financial instability and growing inequalities - are intimately tied to the land economy. Looking at the ways in which discussions of land have been routinely excluded from both housing policy and economic theory, the authors show that in order to tackle these increasingly pressing issues a major rethink by both politicians and economists is required.
Call Number: NA 6695 ART
Publication Date: 2017-02-28
The politics of conducting research in Africa : ethical and emotional challenges in the field by This edited volume investigates the ethical and emotional challenges of conducting fieldwork in Africa. It reflects on difficulties researchers face such as objectivity, access, gender issues and information risks. Focusing across a wide range of states and themes, the project makes an original contribution and builds upon existing strengths and insights in various disciplines by presenting research-practical insights from contemporary cases of fieldwork. As such, the book is an accessible and useful guide for students and scholars alike.
Publication Date: 2019
2019 October New Books
Avant Gardeners by 'Avant Gardeners' profiles 50 of the most exciting contemporary landscape practices from around the world. With case studies for each designer, it presents an encyclopaedic look at the most advanced thinking in garden design and offers a rich archive for practitioners and enthusiasts alike.
Call Number: SB 472 RIC
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
Building up and Tearing Down by PAUL GOLDBERGER ON THE AGE OF ARCHITECTURE The Guggenheim Museum Bilbao by Frank Gehry, the CCTV Headquarters by Rem Koolhaas, the Getty Center by Richard Meier, the Times Building by Renzo Piano: Pulitzer Prize-winning critic Paul Goldberger's tenure at The New Yorker has documented a captivating era in the world of architecture, one in which larger-than-life buildings, urban schemes, historic preservation battles, and personalities have commanded an international stage. Goldberger's keen observations and sharp wit make him one of the most insightful and passionate architectural voices of our time. In this collection of fifty-seven essays, the critic Tracy Kidder called "America's foremost interpreter of public architecture" ranges from Havana to Beijing, from Chicago to Las Vegas, dissecting everything from skyscrapers by Norman Foster and museums by Tadao Ando to airports, monuments, suburban shopping malls, and white-brick apartment houses. This is a comprehensive account of the best--and the worst--of the "age of architecture." On Norman Foster: Norman Foster is the Mozart of modernism. He is nimble and prolific, and his buildings are marked by lightness and grace. He works very hard, but his designs don't show the effort. He brings an air of unnerving aplomb to everything he creates--from skyscrapers to airports, research laboratories to art galleries, chairs to doorknobs. His ability to produce surprising work that doesn't feel labored must drive his competitors crazy. On the Westin Hotel: The forty-five-story Westin is the most garish tall building that has gone up in New York in as long as I can remember. It is fascinating, if only because it makes Times Square vulgar in a whole new way, extending up into the sky. It is not easy, these days, to go beyond the bounds of taste. If the architects, the Miami-based firm Arquitectonica, had been trying to allude to bad taste, one could perhaps respect what they came up with. But they simply wanted, like most architects today, to entertain us. On Mies van der Rohe: Mies's buildings look like the simplest things you could imagine, yet they are among the richest works of architecture ever created. Modern architecture was supposed to remake the world, and Mies was at the center of the revolution, but he was also a counterrevolutionary who designed beautiful things. His spare, minimalist objects are exquisite. He is the only modernist who created a language that ranks with the architectural languages of the past, and while this has sometimes been troubling for his reputation . . . his architectural forms become more astonishing as time goes on.
Call Number: NA 27 GOL
Publication Date: 2009-10-13
James Carpenter by James Carpenter is an artist and sculptor whose work focuses on developing new glass and material technologies. His interest in architecture has evolved into a unique design practice that ranges from technical glass and materials consulting to designing curtain walls, roofing systems, bridges, and sculptures. InJames Carpenter: Environmental Refractions, the artist's first monograph, author Sandro Marpillero explores the unique opportunities afforded by the transparency, reflectivity, and compressive strength of glass. With over 300 images, this book brings to light the work of an exciting designer crossing the boundaries between architecture, engineering, and fine arts. James Carpenter Design Associates, founded in 1978, has worked collaboratively with preeminent architects and engineers in the United States and abroadincluding Norman Foster, Richard Meier, SOM, and Michael Van Valkenburghcreating the artistic complement to many significant buildings. James Carpenter, in collaboration with Hellmuth, Obata + Kassabaum, have been chosen to design and build an undulating glass dome for the new Penn Station.
Call Number: NA 737 CAR MAR
Publication Date: 2006-08-31
Grammar and the Teaching of Writing Limits and Possibilities by 'City Riffs' traces the changing perspectives of urban design within an ever-changing global context. Moving between sixteen cities, the book also considers trans-disciplinary aspects of urbanism; formal and informal growth in Kumasi and Caracas, post-colonial structures in New Delhi and Prague, post-urban phenomena in Detroit and Brussels; cultural transitions in Antwerp and Salzburg; the changing nature of place in Seoul and Mostar; and new ecological realities in New York and Rome. Urbanism is viewed as the production of space-integrating aspects of design, ecology, and engineering, as well as other influences on urban cognition such as social, economical, and psychological interactions. As it covers a wide range of places and methods, this book will be an asset to anyone who works on, lives in, or thinks about cities. AUTHOR: Richard Plunz is Professor of Architecture and Director of the Earth Institute's Urban Design Lab at Columbia University, where he has also chaired the Division of Architecture and directed the Urban Design Program at the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation. SELLING POINTS: * Interlinks various disciplines of urbanism
Call Number: PE 1404 NOG
Publication Date: 1991-02-01
Pedagogy of the Oppressed by First published in Portuguese in 1968, Pedagogy of the Oppressed was translated and published in English in 1970. Paulo Freire's work has helped to empower countless people throughout the world and has taken on special urgency in the United States and Western Europe, where the creation of a permanent underclass among the underprivileged and minorities in cities and urban centers is ongoing. This 50th anniversary edition includes an updated introduction by Donaldo Macedo, a new afterword by Ira Shor and interviews with Marina Aparicio Barber¿n, Noam Chomsky, Ram¿n Flecha, Gustavo Fischman, Ronald David Glass, Valerie Kinloch, Peter Mayo, Peter McLaren and Margo Okazawa-Rey to inspire a new generation of educators, students, and general readers for years to come.
Call Number: LB 880 FRE
Publication Date: 2018-03-22
Course Design by Recognizing that teachers are often involved in planning and developing courses as part of their responsibilities, the authors have set out to describe the factors which must be considered in constructing courses and materials. They cover: the fact-finding stage, establishing realistic goals, surveying existing programmes, realizing goals through instructional plans, selecting the shape of the syllabus, and considerations involved in constructing communicative curricula and syllabuses. All of these aspects are considered against current theories of language learning. Examples of different types of materials are discussed, and the process of creating materials is described as the link between the syllabus and the audience. It ends with a survey of the practical issues involved in organizing writing projects. It is intended for teachers (and teachers in training) who may be involved in course planning and materials development either on a larger scale, or simply within their own institution.
Call Number: P 53.295 Dub
Publication Date: 1986-09-26
Reading Critically, Writing Well by Improve your collegiate writing abilities with the strategies for reading like a writer found in Reading Critically, Writing Well.
Call Number: PE 1417 AXE
Publication Date: 2016-10-14
Inside Out, Fourth Edition by "If you're ultimately helping students become creative individuals with a voice; fluent, context-aware experts with language; and engaged and thinking adults, we think you're doing your job as a writing teacher (above and beyond what the standards-of-the-week have to say on the matter)." -Dawn Latta Kirby and Darren Crovitz "To teach writing well, we don't look someplace 'out there' for rules, formulas, and mimicry," write Dawn Latta Kirbyand Darren Crovitz. "We begin, instead, by teaching students to attend to their inner language, to their individual sensations, perceptions, emotions, incipient understandings, observations, and perspectives. Writing, like all other acts of creation, develops from the inside out." In this highly practical guide filled with a wealth of activities for the classroom, Dawn and Darren continue the long-standing tradition of earlier editions of Inside Out with guidance for building a community of writers, providing innovative and effective strategies for meeting kids where they are and coaching them to write with passion and purpose across all genres. Readers will relish the somewhat irreverent tone that fans of earlier editions have come to expect. Dawn and Darren's updates and revisions in this edition speak directly to today's teacher, offering: new strategies and suggestions that incorporate technology in meaningful ways and speak to today's tech natives in terms they understand guidance for working with English language learners and their writing inventive, reality-based approaches to research options for using nonfiction and nontraditional texts in your teaching a fresh take on the importance of authentic literacy education, especially in the age of the high-stakes testing and the Common Core real-world wisdom and strategies for teaching writing from a team of middle and high school teachers. From theory to practice, this comprehensive text has everything you'll need to engage your students and get them writing from the inside out.
Call Number: LB 1631 KIR
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Elements of Argument by Build a better argument with the right skills as Elements of Argument teaches you how to approach, develop, and defend your position using claims, support, assumptions, and logic.
Call Number: PE 1431 ROT
Publication Date: 2017-12-08
New Housing in Zurich by Swiss architecture has come to be associated with iconic buildings and celebrated architects and firms like Peter Zumthor, Marion Botta, and Herzog & de Meuron. Yet there is a wide variety of other projects that contribute to a distinctly Swiss architecture, including private homes and housing developments. New Housing in Zurich looks specifically at the cooperative housing developments in the city of Zurich, as well as several examples outside the city's boundaries. Over the past two decades, the image of cooperative housing developments have changed significantly. Public funding and open competitions have created an environment in which a large number of highly innovative cooperative housing developments could be realized in Zurich. Many now also serve as models for how to meet the constantly increasing demand for urban housing. The first comprehensive survey on this topic, New Housing in Zurich features fifty projects, copiously illustrated with plans and photographs. Essays on the history of cooperative housing in Switzerland and its impact on urban development, new urban and architectural concepts, and social dynamics, among other topics, round out the book.
Call Number: QD 8.5 ACS
Publication Date: 2019-12-15
The Architectural Jewels of Rochester by Rochester may be better known for its rolling hills and lilac fields than for its architecture, but look closely and the city's hidden gems reveal themselves. In this survey of Rochester's historic architectural elements and styles, city planner Michael Behrendt encourages you to "slow down, look round...check out the fancy cornices on North Main Street and admire the brickwork on the few remaining mill structures." Impress your neighbors by pointing out the Italianate, Queen Anne, Georgian or Federal styles of their houses and identifying the mansard roofs, oriel windows and porticos around town. Drawing from his series of articles written for the Rochester Times, Behrendt examines everything from barns, churches and schoolhouses to the prominent Rochester Opera House. Discover Rochester's history as written in brick and stone, marble and mortar.
Call Number: NA 735.R58 BEH
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
The Architecture Concept Book by An inspirational andinsightful resource forarchitecture students andprofessionals that offersa new way of thinkingabout the architecture tomeet the challenges ofthe twenty-first century. Inspired by the complexity and heterogeneity of the world around us, and by the rise of new technologies and their associated behavior, The Architecture Concept Book seeks to stimulate young architects and students to think outside of what is often a rather conservative and self-perpetuating professional domain and to be influenced by everything around them. Organized thematically, the book explores thirty-five architectural concepts, which cover wide-ranging topics not always typically included in the study of architecture. James Tait traces the connections between concepts such as familiarity, control, and memory and basic architectural components such as the entrance, arch, columns, and services, to social phenomena such as gathering and reveling, before concluding with texts on shelter, relaxing, and working. Even in a digital age, Tait insists that "we must always think before we design. We must always have a reason to build." Each theme is accompanied by photographs, plans, and illustrations specifically drawn by the author to explain spatial ideas, form small scale to the urban.
Call Number: NA 680 TAI
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
Repair (Reparatur) by Who doesn't know this? Things, bought just now, break down after a short time. Reparability is not considered, spare parts are not available. What to do? Repair Cafés try to help, but there is actually a need to rethink the construction and production of things. In order to counteract this development and to sensitize for a more sustainable use of resources, a repair course has been initiated at the Faculty of Architecture at the University of Applied Sciences in Munich. Concepts for the repair of various objects have been developed and conducted - by hand as well as by the help of digital fabrication tools. Some projects have already been exhibited and presented to the maker-scene at Make Munich, the biggest DIY-festival of southern Germany. This publication presents the whole spectrum for the first time. It doesn't only want to encourage thinking but also making - because exchange may not replace the concept of repair, neither in product design nor in the bigger scale of architecture.
Call Number: NK 1127.5 REP
Publication Date: 2018-06-12
California Houses of Gordon Drake by This reissue of California Houses of Gordon Drake by Douglas Baylis and Joan Perry (1956), richly illustrated with photographs and Drake's own drawings, includes a new introduction by esteemed architect Pierluigi Serraino. Serraino argues that Gordon Drake's work is of great value today because Drake, well ahead of his time, understood the structural relationship between architectural design, construction methods, and the environmental impact of architecture. Drake anticipated sixty years ago the environmental threats we are facing in our time. His understanding of how wasteful construction can be without a sensitive attitude to the rhythms of nature and how reckless it is to design without values are insights that continue to be relevant today.
Call Number: NA 737 DRA BAY
Publication Date: 2011-03-08
Corrugated Iron Buildings by Prefabricated corrugated iron buildings have been produced by manufacturers in Britain since the middle of the nineteenth century. Structures ranging from humble cottages to substantial churches, from halls to hospitals and hotels were produced, packed and consigned to destinations at home and abroad. Though often seen as cheap and temporary, these buildings are an expression of a progressive and vital chapter in the history of the construction industry. First used in 1829, corrugated iron has become a familiar element of vernacular building, bringing it's particular character and colour to the rural landscape or urban realm. The author draws on a wide range of research to highlight the significance of these often overlooked buildings in Britain and across the world.
Call Number: NA 8480 THO
Publication Date: 2011-02-10
Vertical by A revolutionary reimagining of the cities we live in, the air above us, and what goes on in the earth beneath our feet Today we live in a world that can no longer be read as a two-dimensional map, but must now be understood as a series of vertical strata that reach from the satellites that encircle our planet to the tunnels deep within the ground. In Vertical, Stephen Graham rewrites the city at every level: how the geography of inequality, politics, and identity is determined in terms of above and below. Starting at the edge of earth's atmosphere and, in a series of riveting studies, descending through each layer, Graham explores the world of drones, the city from the viewpoint of an aerial bomber, the design of sidewalks and the hidden depths of underground bunkers. He asks: why was Dubai built to be seen from Google Earth? How do the super-rich in São Paulo live in their penthouses far above the street? Why do London billionaires build vast subterranean basements? And how do the technology of elevators and subversive urban explorers shape life on the surface and subsurface of the earth? Vertical will make you look at the world around you anew: this is a revolution in understanding your place in the world.
Call Number: NA 9031 GRA
Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Future Cities Laboratory by This book, the first in a planned series, reports on the Future Cities Laboratory and its ambitious mission to shape sustainable future cities through science, by design, in place. It offers a global perspective on cities from the vantage point of Asia, where the laboratory is based. This view has particular significance today as the fortunes of Asia, the world's most populous and rapidly urbanising continent, will also delineate the prospects of the planet.The series as a whole will assemble the necessary indicia-indications, clues, evidence-on how cities grow and nourish, produce and innovate, consume and waste, threaten and destroy, to form practical strategies for future city making. The first volume in the series focuses on the challenges that future cities pose to sustainability. The second will concentrate on the innovative approaches necessary for addressing those challenges. The third will present concrete scenarios and action plans that emerge from such approaches.
Call Number: HT 166 FUT
Publication Date: 2018-01-23
Neighbourhood (Vizinhança) by As a response to the 2016 Venice Architecture Biennale challenging theme, Portugal presented a site-specific pavilion occupying an urban front in physical and social regeneration at the island of Giudecca. The pavilion exhibited four notable works by Álvaro Siza on Social Housing - Campo di Marte (Venice); Schilderswijk (The Hague); Schlesisches Tor (Berlin); and Bairro da Bouça (Porto) - revealing his participatory experience with the local inhabitants, and his peculiar understanding of the European city and citizenship. Those projects have created true places of neighbourhood, an important subject of the current European political agenda, towards a more tolerant and multicultural society. This book reveals the curatorial experience that supported the display of those works in the Venice Biennale, including unusual images of Álvaro Siza's recent visits to those four neighbourhoods; but also the major social and urban changes which took place in there: processes triggered by immigration, ghettoization, gentrification and "touristification" of cities.
Call Number: NA 1333 SIZ SIZ
Publication Date: 2018-01-23
3D Thinking in Design and Architecture by The geometric foundations, forms, and patterns in today's architecture, design and, decorative arts can trace their origins in past cultures. From humankind's first path-like doodles on cave walls through to the higher abstractions developed to make accurate measurements and predictions, the three-dimensional forms we design and build have always been dependent on available materials, human needs, and the limits of our imaginations.3D Thinking in Design and Architecture tells the story of the intimate relationship between geometry, mathematics and man-made design throughout human history, from the Neolithic period through the Indian, Egyptian, Babylonian, Chinese, Greek, Celtic, Islamic and Renaissance cultures, to the present and the possible future. Presenting key principles that can be applied across all design disciplines, design expert Roger Burrows relates how geometry as a visual language has evolved to meet our needs, initiated new technologies, and changed the way we think about the world around us. With a wealth of original artwork by the author to explain his ideas, this book will be an essential reference and source of inspiration for students and design professionals.
Call Number: NA 2750 BUR
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Deleuze and the City by The city as complex compound of cultural and natural forces and flows is characterised in multifarious and contradictory ways. A city is never just a transforming built environment of a particular scale or global reputation, but located, specific, differentiated and impossible to grasp in allits complexity. The 16 contributors to this collection re-deploy conceptual tools of Deleuze and Guattari, and demonstrate in many instances how these tools can be altered and revised to meet the problematic urban fields in question. This also means calling on the legacy of Deleuze and Guattari by way of thosethinkers and practitioners who follow after, and who have augmented and altered their project.Deleuze and the City asks what a city can do, how its human and non-human relations can be made sufficiently durable, how we can make ourselves worthy of our encounters in the city, how we might expand and contract its influence, and participate in the formation of affirmative rather thandestructive subjective, social and environmental ecologies.
Call Number: NA 2500 DEL
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Climates by This book is a collection of essays at the intersection of architecture and climate change. Neither a collective lament nor an inventory of architectural responses, the essays consider cultural values ascribed to climate and ask how climate re? ects our conception of what architecture is and does. Which materials and conceptual infrastructures render climate legible, knowable, and actionable, and what are their spatial implications? How do these interrelated questions offer new vantage points on the architectural rami? cations of climate change at the interface of resiliency, sustain-ability, and ecotechnology? 'Climates' also contains a dossier of precedents for thinking about architecture and climate change drawn from a number of leading practitioners. New approaches to understanding climate in architecture make this book invaluable.This publication is a project by The Avery Review, a journal produced by the Of?ce of Publications at Columbia University's Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation. 150 images
Call Number: NA 2541 CLI
Publication Date: 2016-07-25
After Belonging by 'After Belonging' examines the objects, spaces, and territories of our transforming condition of belonging. The global circulation of people, information, and goods has destabilised what we under- stand by residence, questioning spatial permanence, property, and identity - a crisis of belonging. Circulation brings greater accessibility to ever-new commodities and further geographies. But, simultaneously, circulation also promotes growing inequalities for large groups who are kept in precarious states of transit. The publication examines both our attachment to places and collectivities as well as our relation to the objects we produce, own, share, and exchange. It analyses the architectures entangled in these definitions through a selection of projects, texts, and case studies. This publication is the result of the work and research leading up to Oslo ArchitectureTriennale 2016. AUTHOR: THE AFTER BELONGING AGENCY, a group of architects, curators, and scholars based in New York and Rotterdam, came together speci?cally for the Oslo Architecture Triennale 2016. 350 illustrations
Call Number: NA 680 OSL
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Municipal Dreams by A narrative history of council housing--from slums to the Grenfell Tower Urgent, timely and compelling, Municipal Dreams brilliantly brings the national story of housing to life. In this landmark reappraisal of council housing, historian John Boughton presents an alternative history of Britain. Rooted in the ambition to end slum living, and the ideals of those who would build a new society, Municipal Dreams looks at how the state's duty to house its people decently became central to our politics. The book makes it clear why that legacy and its promise should be defended. Traversing the nation in this comprehensive social, political and architectural history of council housing, Boughton offers a tour of some of the best and most remarkable of our housing estates--some happily ordinary, some judged notorious. He asks us to understand their complex story and to rethink our prejudices. His accounts include extraordinary planners and architects who wished to elevate working men and women through design; the competing ideologies that have promoted state housing and condemned it; the economic factors that have always constrained our housing ideals; the crisis wrought by Right to Buy; and the evolving controversies around regeneration. Boughton shows how losing the dream of good housing has weakened our community and hurt its most vulnerable--as was seen most catastrophically in the fire at Grenfell Tower.
Call Number: HD 7288.78.G7 BOU
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Against the Grain by An account of all the new and surprising evidence now available that contradicts the standard narrative for the beginnings of the earliest civilizations Why did humans abandon hunting and gathering for sedentary communities dependent on livestock and cereal grains, and governed by precursors of today's states? Most people believe that plant and animal domestication allowed humans, finally, to settle down and form agricultural villages, towns, and states, which made possible civilization, law, public order, and a presumably secure way of living. But archaeological and historical evidence challenges this narrative. The first agrarian states, says James C. Scott, were born of accumulations of domestications: first fire, then plants, livestock, subjects of the state, captives, and finally women in the patriarchal family--all of which can be viewed as a way of gaining control over reproduction. Scott explores why we avoided sedentism and plow agriculture, the advantages of mobile subsistence, the unforeseeable disease epidemics arising from crowding plants, animals, and grain, and why all early states are based on millets and cereal grains and unfree labor. He also discusses the "barbarians" who long evaded state control, as a way of understanding continuing tension between states and nonsubject peoples.
Call Number: GN 799.A4 SCO
Publication Date: 2017-08-22
Discovering Downtown Cairo by For the first time, a detailed survey is presented of the architectural plans and typologies of Downtown Cairo's apartment buildings. Linking the apartments to their inhabitants' memories and stories, this book maps changes over time in how space was used in Cairo. In doing so, it illuminates some of the workings behind changes in Cairo's society. The book contains thirty-eight building profiles with technical and historical descriptions; they are organised in chronological order to give a panorama of the developmental history of Downtown architecture. Interspersed short texts provide insider glimpses into specific aspects of Downtown, such as historical backgrounds, narratives of private spaces, and observations on particular architectural phenomena. The buildings featured are connected through an overview map with five walking tours for navigating and discovering Downtown: the Dolce Vita tour includes cinemas, bars, cafes, and the homes of the stars of yesterday and today; the romantic tour explores buildings with elaborate staircases, interesting balconies, and fascinating architectural details; the modernist tour surveys striking buildings with clear lines and modern shapes; the urban context tour points out buildings with a special relation to their urban context. Finally our best-of guide leads the readers to the authors' favourite buildings, as their personal declaration of love to the inhabitants and the buildings of Downtown Cairo. 100 colour images
Call Number: NA 1583 DIS
Publication Date: 2015-07-28
Landscape of Faith by La Ruta del Peregrino (the pilgrimage route) stretches a distance of 117 kilometers through the vast and imposing mountain range of Jalisco, Mexico. Approximately two million people participate each year in this religious phenomenon to meet the Virgin of Talpa as an act of devotion, faith, and gratitude. This book conveys the feeling of travelling on the pilgrim's route and encountering architectural monuments and their infrastructure, like shelters and viewpoints, embedded in the harsh landscape. Each introduced landmark, designed by renowned architects, sparks a dialogue about sustainability and austerity, landscape and architecture. Landscape of Faith is a documentation of the way architecture can increase the identity of a pilgrimage route and add layers of meaning that reach far beyond the religious. AUTHOR: Tatiana Bilbao (born1972) is a Mexican architect. She developed the architectural project along the Ruta del Peregrino and recipient of the Global Award for Sustainable Architecture. Iwan Baan (born 1975) is an architecture and documentary photographer. His photographs are published regularly in architectural magazines and he has worked for renowned offices. SELLING POINTS: * Impressive images of the religious Mexican landscape * Projects by Ai Weiwei (FAKE Design), Luis Aldrete Arguitectos, Alejandro Aravena (Elemental), Godoylab, HHF Architects and Rozana Monteirl (Periferica) 80 images
Call Number: NA 755.65.P55 LAN
Publication Date: 2018-03-27
Making Heimat by The refugee situation in the autumn of 2015 was the starting point for the controversial exhibition Making Heimat: Germany, Arrival Country for the German Pavilion at the 15th Venice Biennial of Architecture. The Flüchtlingsbautenatlas (Atlas of Refugee Housing) expands upon the observations made about the German arrival cities in the first volume. What roles are played by architects and urban planners when it comes to executing sustainable solutions for housing new arrivals in Germany? Which construction projects could serve as prototypes for affordable housing? Through about fifty-five exemplary construction projects, we take a look at the future of German cities. Photographs by Anja Weber and extensive descriptions of the projects written after site visits provide insight into the everyday life in German refugee accomondations. Exhibition: Deutsches Architekturmuseum, Frankfurt am Main, 3.3.-September 2017
Call Number: HV 640.4.G3 MAK
Publication Date: 2017-05-23
Empire, State and Building by This book considers the material basis of building as a key impetus of both urbanization and the energetics of urban life. The otherwise externalized material geographies and thermodynamics of building's material basis reveal much about the dynamics and efficacy of how we build. This book plots the material history and geography for one plot of land in Manhattan--the parcel of land under the Empire State Building--over the past two hundred years. Through rich illustrations, it tracks all the building material that have passed through this parcel or remain in its geographic and ecological dynamics: spatially (in terms of their geographic material footprints and industrial processes) and quantitatively (in terms of embodied energy, embodied carbon, and emergy flow). In successive chapters, the book articulates the empire and states that are inherent to building, but remain unconsidered--abstract and unknown--by architects.
Call Number: NA 2542.35 MOE
Publication Date: 2017-09-15
2018 November New Books
Gerold Tagwerker: zero 1 2 3 4 5 by "At first sight, Gerold Tagwerker`s work calls for review against the backdrop of the terms and formulations of minimal art, something the artist takes references to time and again; on second sight, his work relinquishes not only acknowledgement of this background, but also playful defamiliarization and reinterpretation (40 years down the road, any other approach seems inconceivable) without, however, making any efforts at critical analysis or deconstruction. Present-day discourse on artistic practices serving as constructing of identity and cognitive productin leaves little room for minimalist convictions whose rejection of narration, reference, and aura seems unable to function consistently in the context of contemporary perception. Nowadays, its breaking with European traditions, too, appears as almost nostalgic."
Call Number: N 6811.5 GER
Publication Date: 2006
Lluis Bussé - Barcelona's Multiverse by Lluis Buss 's black-and-white photographs of iconic sights around the city of Barcelona come with a twist: this is the Barcelona of a parallel universe. Each image is a collage creating surprising conjunctions. The book also contains texts from scientists around the world, as well as Buss 's own story.
Call Number: DP 402.B25 BUS
Publication Date: 2012-09-30
Karin Kneffel by The pictorial language of Karin Kneffel has grown and grown since her beginnings as a master student of Gerhard Richter. Extreme realism and abrupt disjunctions between near and far are among the main ingredients of her paintings. This volume surveys a cycle of paintings developed for Haus Esters in Krefeld, Germany.
Call Number: ND 588 KNE KNE
Publication Date: 2010-05-31
Variations by Independently and through prestigious commissions, photographer Jenny Okun has traveled the world for more than twenty-five years creating dazzling, multi-layered interpretations of buildings by Frank Gehry, Richard Meier, Richard Rodgers, and many other renowned architects. Commissions have included the J. Paul Getty Museum; the Tate Modern; and the Whitney Museum of American Art. This is the first major book of Okun's photography. "Okun's artwork," writes Craig Krull, "consists of large-scale color photographic abstractions of architectural works. Rather than produce literal representations of buildings, Okun distills the essential qualities of form, texture, color, and detail . . . developing a Cubist interpretation of forms." "Looking at architecture," Okun has written, "is like listening to music. Both are dramatic forms that reveal multiple, repeating themes. Above all, both need time. Just as a symphony cannot be experienced in a few seconds, it is impossible to see a whole building, all at once. When I photograph a building, I feel as if I am conducting with my camera, as I explore the architect's themes in time and space. The harmonious overlapping shapes create new playful variations on the theme of the original architecture." The preface to the book is by Pritzker Prize-winning architect Thom Mayne. With essays by Henry T. Hopkins and Michael Webb.
Call Number: TR 659 OKU OKU
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Kees Christiaanse: Textbook by Illustrations, personal notebook pages and watercolors complement this collection of the thoughts and writings of urban designer and architect Kees Christiaanse (born 1953). Responsible for such projects as Hamburg's HafenCity and London's Olympic Legacy Plan, Christiaanse is one of the most influential forces in urban design.
Call Number: NA 1153 CHR CHR
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Urban planning in the global south: conflicting rationalities in contested urban space by Chapter 1. Introduction -- Chapter 2. Conflicting Rationalities and Southern Planning Theory -- Chapter 3. African Cities: Planning Ambitions and Planning Realities -- Chapter 4. Struggles for Shelter and Survival in Post-Apartheid South African Cities: The Case of Langa -- Chapter 5. Voices From and Within the State -- Chapter 6. Conflicting Rationalities in the N2 Gateway Project: Voices from Langa -- Chapter 7. Implications for Southern Planning Theory and Practice -- Chapter 8. Conclusion.
Call Number: HT 149.5 DES
Publication Date: 2016-02-23
Defining the Urban by What is "urban"? How can it be described and contextualised? How is it used in theory and practice? Urban processes feature in key international policy and practice discourses. They are at the core of research agendas across traditional academic disciplines and emerging interdisciplinary fields. However, the concept of "the urban" remains highly contested, both as material reality and imaginary construct. The urban remains imprecisely defined. Defining the Urbanis an indispensable guide for the urban transdisciplinary thinker and practitioner. Parts I and II focus on how "Academic Disciplines" and "Professional Practices," respectively, understand and engage with the urban. Included, among others, are Architecture, Ecology, Governance and Sociology. Part III, "Emerging Approaches," outlines how elements from theory and practice combine to form transdisciplinary tools and perspectives. Written by eminent experts in their respective fields, Defining the Urbanprovides a stepping stone for the development of a common language--a shared ontology--in the disjointed fields of urban research and practice. It is a comprehensive and accessible resource for anyone with an interest in understanding how urban scholars and practitioners can work together on this complex theme.
Call Number: HT 151 IOS
Publication Date: 2017-10-02
Hostels in South Africa by This book is about the transformation of KwaMashu Hostel in Durban in the twenty-first century-from a single-sex men's hostel to family accommodation in community residential units. It presents the continuities and discontinuities that take place as hostel-dwellers grapple with their everyday struggles. The broader South African labour market does not make it easy for rural-urban migrants, who continue to make the same journeys their grandfathers, fathers, and uncles-and later their grandmothers, mothers, and aunts-took in search of employment opportunities. Hostels in South Africa engages with the challenges and triumphs of hostel-dwellers, as they both resist and embrace the process of transformation, the clashes between men and women and across generations, and feelings of nostalgia for the past. The author's time spent living at KwaMashu Hostel during the two years of her fieldwork allowed her an intimate view of hostels from the inside. [Subject: African Studies, Sociology, Gender Studies, Labor Studies]
Call Number: NA 7800 XUL
Publication Date: 2018-01-08
The Politics of the Urban Sustainability Concept by The Politics of the Urban Sustainability Concept explores the widely proclaimed urban sustainability vision that has swept across urban landscapes of the global west like a tidal wave. This planning vision, mixing with notions of "smart growth," "regional planning," and "sustainable cities," now dots urban environments in cities big, medium, and small. This book critically interrogates this vision and practices for the concrete material realities it produces for all urban citizens. This book is inspired by recent calls for a "just sustainability." Here, urban sustainability is considered through the lenses of things scantily considered: human rights, equality in access to resources and facilities, and the production of economic opportunities and decent qualities of life for all. This book reveals a city growth and redevelopment vision that can be deeply problematic in who it serves and how it reconfigures urban environments. Often, favoring of the affluent in orientation, this problematic vision too often relies on a failed expectation that benefits will trickle down to all. It legitimizes the building of flagrantly segregated, profoundly splintered cities as a now powerful neoliberal tool in current political and economic realities. Cloaked in a mix of ambiguity and class-based specificity the urban sustainability vision threatens to magnify already vexing inequalities in many cities across the globe.
Call Number: HT 241 POL
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
What's in a Name? by In What's in a Name? editors Richard Harris and Charlotte Vorms have gathered together experts from around the world in order to provide a truly global framework for the study of the urban periphery.
Call Number: HT 351 WHAT
Publication Date: 2018-09-28
Suburban land question: a global survey by The purpose of The Suburban Land Question is to identify the common elements of land development in suburban regions around the world.
Call Number: HT 351 SUB
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Suburban Governance by Suburban Governance: A Global View is a groundbreaking set of essays by leading urban scholars that assess how governance regulates the creation of the world's suburban spaces and everyday life within them.
Call Number: HT 351 SUB
Publication Date: 2018-09-28
Secondary Cities and Development by The role secondary cities play in the global space economy and national urban hierarchies is increasingly receiving attention from scholars and international agencies, most notably the Cities Alliance. Secondary Cities and Developmentconsiders the role of secondary cities through the lens of South Africa, a middle-income country with characteristics of both the developed and developing worlds. This book brings together a broad overview of international literature on secondary cities in South Africa and mirrors them against global experience. Chapters emphasize the importance of secondary cities as regional services areas, their potential roles in rural development, the vulnerabilities to which they are prone and their signifcant potential. By means of review, six South African case studies, and an assessment of contemporary policy approaches towards these cities, this unique volume provides insight into a spectrum of globally significant challenges. This book would be of interest to academics and policy makers working in urban studies or regional development.
Call Number: HT 148.S6 SEC
Publication Date: 2016-06-06
New cities and community extensions in Egypt and the Middle East by This book seeks to push forward the boundaries of current practices and knowledge to embrace innovative solutions, novel approaches, and grounded technologies within realistic comprehension of economic risks and environmental implications. It investigates different scales and situations, various urban forms and morphology, and various localities and totalities. The book presents a platform of recent research, findings, and answers to pressing issues of building new cities and expanding existing ones in the Middle East and Egypt, within their ecological limits, formulating images, architecture, and public spaces to create liveable, working, and productive cities.
At the time of transformation, people continue to influence their habitat and beyond. While facing the compelling challenges of the present, innovative development poses itself as an inevitable response to future demands. In socio-economic disparities and environmental crises, innovation necessitates a mode of action to act responsibly in addressing issues in unconventional manners. The production of space becomes a responsibility towards the development of human resources, promoting their needs, capacities, and advancing a decent quality of life.
Call Number: HT 166 NEW
Publication Date: 2019
Reading the Architecture of the Underpiviliged Classes by The expansion of cities in the late C19th and middle part of the C20th in the developing and the emerging economies of the world has one major urban corollary: it caused the proliferation of unplanned parts of the cities that are identified by a plethora of terminologies such as bidonville, favela, ghetto, informal settlements, and shantytown. Often, the dwellings in such settlements are described as shacks, architecture of necessity, and architecture of everyday experience in the modern and the contemporary metropolis. This volume argues that the types of structures and settlements built by people who do not have access to architectural services in many cities in the developing parts of the world evolved simultaneously with the types of buildings that are celebrated in architecture textbooks as 'modernism.' It not only shows how architects can learn from traditional or vernacular dwellings in order to create habitations for the people of low-income groups in public housing scenarios, but also demonstrates how the architecture of the economically underprivileged classes goes beyond culturally-inspired tectonic interpretations of vernacular traditions by architects for high profile clients. Moreover, the essays explore how the resourceful dwellings of the underprivileged inhabitants of the great cities in developing parts of the world pioneered certain concepts of modernism and contemporary design practices such as sustainable and de-constructivist design. Using projects from Africa, Asia, South and Central America, as well as Austria and the USA, this volume interrogates and brings to the attention of academics, students, and practitioners of architecture, the deliberate disqualification of the modern architecture produced by the urban poor in different parts of the world.
Call Number: NA 2543.S6 REA
Publication Date: 2014-11-13
Out of Water by Water scarcity is becoming increasingly familiar to us. Although access to water resources is an issue of global concern, arid climates are where necessity begets inventions that may serve as examples for action or prevention across a multitude of climate zones and geographies. In facing the prevalence of water scarcity across the globe, due to a mix of climatological and man-made factors, the question we must ask ourselves today is Water for What? Which approaches can landscape, urban and architectural designers take in order to apply their specific professional skills and means? What potential do available technologies and materials offer, and what methods and tools can be derived from social engagement? Based on five years of research, the preparation of and feedback on a traveling exhibition, as well as a major conference, the results of the Out of Water project are laid out here in a series of case studies and essays by international experts, including analytical drawings of both projected and implemented solutions.
Call Number: TD 388.5 MAR
Publication Date: 2014-10-27
Urban Land Rent by In Urban Land Rent, Anne Haila uses Singapore as a case study to develop an original theory of urban land rent with important implications for urban studies and urban theory. Provides a comprehensive analysis of land, rent theory, and the modern city Examines the question of land from a variety of perspectives: as a resource, ideologies, interventions in the land market, actors in the land market, the global scope of land markets, and investments in land Details the Asian development state model, historical and contemporary land regimes, public housing models, and the development industry for Singapore and several other cities Incorporates discussion of the modern real estate market, with reference to real estate investment trusts, sovereign wealth funds investing in real estate, and the fusion between sophisticated financial instruments and real estate
Call Number: HD 890.67.Z63
Publication Date: 2015-10-07
From Student to Urban Planner by For many young planners, the noble intentions with going to planning school seem starkly out of place in the neoliberal worlds they have come to inhabit. For some, the huge gap between the power they thought they would have and what they actually do is not only worrying, but also deeply discouraging. But for some others, practice means finding practical and creative solutions to overcome challenges and complexities. How do young planners in different settings respond to seemingly similar situations like these? What do they do - give up, adjust, or fight back? What role did their planning education play, and could it have helped in preparing and assisting them to respond to the world they are encountering? In this edited volume, stories of young planners from sixteen countries that engage these questions are presented. The sixteen cases range from settings with older, established planning systems (e.g., USA, the Netherlands, and the UK) to settings where the system is less set (e.g., Brazil), being remodeled (e.g., South Africa and Bosnia Herzegovina), and under stress (e.g., Turkey and Poland). Each chapter explores what might be done differently to prepare young planners for the complexities and challenges of their 'real worlds'. This book not only points out what is absent, but also offers planning educators an alternative vision. The editors and esteemed contributors provide reflections and suggestions as to how this new generation of young planners can be supported to survive in, embrace, and change the world they are encountering, and, in the spirit of planning, endeavor to 'change it for the better'.
Call Number: HT 166.F75 FRO
Publication Date: 2017-12-06
Justice and Fairness in the City by With more than half the world's population now living in urban areas, 'fairness' and 'justice' within the city are key concepts in contemporary political debate. This book examines the theory and practice of justice in and of the city through a multi-disciplinary collaboration, which draws on a wide range of expertise. By bringing diverse disciplinary and theoretical perspectives into conversation with each other to explore the (in) justices in urban environment, education, mobility and participation the book makes a significant contribution to our understanding of justice and fairness in and of the city. It will be a valuable resource for academic researchers and students across a range of disciplines including urban and environmental studies, geography, planning, education, ethics and politics.
Call Number: HM 671 JUS
Publication Date: 2016-04-27