Skip to Main Content

Linguistics: Electronic Resources

Electronic Databases

A-Z Database list

Cambridge Journals Online: A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to the journals published by Cambridge University Press

EBSCO Host: A multidisciplinary collection of databases.

JSTOR: A scholarly archive of journals in the arts and sciences, Provides access to a complete back run across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Nexus : The objective of the National Research Foundation (NRF) is to support and promote research through funding, to facilitate the creation of knowledge, innovation and development in all fields of science and technology.

Oxford Journals Online: Full text access to the complete Oxford University Press journal collection from 1849 - present. Covers the fields of Humanities, Medicine, Life Sciences, Social Sciences, Law, and Physical science.

ProQuest Central:  A multidisciplinary cross-searchable collection of full text databases including

Sabinet African Journals: Full text collection of South African and African electronic journals. Includes scholarly publications.
 
SAGE Premier Online: A multi-disciplinary database providing full-text access to over 400 of the journals published by SAGE from 1999 - present.
 
Sage Research Methods Core: 
Sage Research Methods is a tool designed to help researcher explore methods concepts, design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. The core subscription provides access to the e-book, reference and e-journal content only. It focuses specifically on research methodologies, and is not limited to specific disciplines.
 
ScienceDirect
A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to journals published by Elsevier, including the archival back issues. Strong in scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature, but also covers Arts, Humanities and Social sciences. Excludes association titles.
 
SpringerLINK: A full-text, multi-disciplinary database providing electronic access to all the journals published by Springer
 
Taylor & Francis: A multi-disciplinary database providing full-text access to over 1000 journals published by Taylor and Francis from 1997 - present.

Popular African Literature Journals

Journal of African Cultural studies: Available Online from 1998 onwards

English in Africa: Available Online from 2003 onwards

South African Journal of African Languages;    Current Writing: text and reception in Southern Africa: Available online from 1989 onwards

Scrutiny 2: Issues in English studies in Southern Africa;   Journal of African Language & Linguistics Available electronically from 2001. Note: There is a 12 month delay in accessing full text articles

Journal of sociolinguistics Available electronically from 1997. Note: there is a 12 month delay in accessing full text articles.

Language (Linguistics Society of America)  Available electronically. Note: there is a moving wall of 5 years.Available in print edition at: Main Journal P1.L1

Language in society Availalbe on JSTOR from 1972 - 2005, with links to 2006-2007. For access to current issues click on the link "Publication information"; find and click on the following: