PADRÃO DE SÃO GREGÓRIO
Bartolomeu Dias erected the cross in 1488 at what is today known as Kwaaihoek in the Eastern Cape, the most easterly point of his voyage. The broken pieces were discovered in 1936 by Professor Eric Axelson, a former staff member of the University of the Witwatersrand. Fragments of the original cross were assembled and given into the care of the University of the Witwatersrand, the reconstructed fragments are nestled in the foyer of the William Cullen Library.
This is South Africa's oldest historical monument held within Wits University. The cross was declared a national Monument in 1939. For more information, use the following link: http://www.historicalpapers.wits.ac.za/?inventory/U/collections&c=A28/R/