LibGuides: Library of Management: Services

Library Services

Library Home Page
Interlibrary Loans
Interlibrary loans (ILL) is a service which supports and enhances the University Library collections when these fail to meet the needs of the University academic staff and postgraduate students. ILLs are transactions between the libraries of institutions to facilitate access to information which extends beyond that held by any individual library. This service is available to Postgraduat Students and Wits Staff and is free of charge
Copyright Information
HOW TO GUIDES
~ How to create a PIN
~ How to renew checked out items
~ How to find a book
etc
Library Blog
Postgraduate Chat Service
Do you have a general libraries question and need a quick answer? Get instant answers?

Collections

COLLECTIONS

The WLM collection includes books and journals covering business, management, marketing, and public and development administration. Past exam papers are also available – Only for WBS

SPECIAL CONDITIONS

The library has a large selection of South African company reports and South African statistics published by Statistics SA.
All students in WBS and P&DM are required to submit bound copies of their research reports for storage in the WLM. ???? this has changed

MULTIMEDIA

The library has a small collection of multi-media material related to the fields of business and management. Videos are for loan to staff members only.

Loan Periods

Renewals, Fines, Bookings and Holds

Interlibrary Loans, for material not available in the University Library, are available to fourth year and postgraduate students and staff.

Photocopying, Printing & Scanning facilities are available in all libraries.

A substantial multi-disciplinary collection of audiovisual and multimedia material is available to all users in the Multimedia Centre on the second floor, Wartenweiler Library. An extensive range of electronic resources, electronic databases and electronic journals is accessible through the Library web site. These include the eWITS OPAC (the Library s online catalogue) and CDROM databases. Group training sessions on the use of these resources are offered by the Library s Education & Training section; individual assistance is always available from the branch librarians.

Click on the links for further information and access to services.

Loan Periods

Status of user	No. of items allowed	Loan period (days)
Undergraduates	6	7
4th year and Honours students	8	14
Masters students	12	30
PhD students	15	30
University staff	30	45
Wits Health Sciences Library	Number of items according to user status as above	14 days for all items, all users, except for short loans
Most corporate users	2	7
Most permit holders	2	7

The number of items is the total of items of all kinds on loan at any one time from one or more libraries.

Only 3 overnight items may be taken on any one night.

Eight (8) additional loan items for scores are allowed to staff and students in the School of Music.

The loan conditions for journals vary from branch to branch.