Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Heritage of World Civilizations by
Publication Date: 2011-06-26
A global perspective on the major narratives of world history. Written by leading scholars in their respective fields, The Heritage of World Civilizations offers compelling and thorough coverage of the unique heritage of Asian, African, Middle Eastern, European and American civilizations while highlighting the role of the world's great religious and philosophical traditions. This comprehensive yet accessible survey of world history has been extensively revised to provide an even more global and comparative perspective on the events and processes that have shaped our increasingly interdependent world.
Publication Date: 2012-10-17
Historic sites, memorials, national parks, museumsewe live in an age in which heritage is ever-present. But what does it mean to live amongst the spectral traces of the past, the heterogeneous piling up of historic materials in the present? How did heritage grow from the concern of a handful of enthusiasts and specialists in one part of the world to something which is considered to be universally cherished? And what concepts and approaches are necessary to understanding this global obsession? Over the decades, since the adoption of the World Heritage Convention, various e~crisese(tm) of definition have significantly influenced the ways in which heritage is classified, perceived and managed in contemporary global societies.
Arts,Culture And Heritage Focus
Welcome To The Arts,Culture and Heritage Management Subject Guide!
This subject guide is specially prepared for Arts,Culture and Heritage Management Students and Academics. You will find resources specifically related to the subject areas in focus.
Useful links to information resources are included to facilitate a smooth, smart and efficient information retrieval process.
Please feel at liberty to send any suggestions or advice you may have to the Principal Librarian: Humanities at firstname.lastname@example.org
Academics and students are encouraged to engage through this portal, via the discussion page.
African Activists Archive
African Activist Archive Project
The African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s. The website includes:
growing online archive of historical materials - pamphlets, newsletters, leaflets, buttons, posters, T-shirts, photographs, and audio and video recordings
personal remembrances and interviews with activists
an international directory of collections deposited in libraries and archives
The African Activist Archive Project is collaborating with activists across the U.S. who supported African liberation struggles to create this online archive of more than 5,000 items. The project also assists individuals and groups to deposit their collections in public repositories, including the African Activist Archive collections in the Michigan State Universi
Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. “Aluka,” is derived from a Zulu word meaning “to weave,” reflecting our commitment to connect resources and scholars from around the world. Aluka is a part of JSTOR, a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive.
SA National Arts Council
The NAC was established in April, 1997 through an act of parliament (Act no.56 of 1997). The vision of the NAC is to promote, through the arts, the free expression of South Africa’s cultures.
The NAC is a national agency mandated by the Department of Arts and Culture, with the responsibility of developing South Africa’s creative industry by awarding grants to individuals and organisations in the arts. This is embedded in our mission which is to develop and promote excellence in the arts. The NAC operates by inviting applicants to submit their project proposals and applications for bursaries once per annum, in which an independent panel of experts in each of the seven arts disciplines adjudicates on each application and makes recommendations to council.
South Africa History Archive
SAHA aims to bring history out of the archive and into schools, colleges and universities in innovative ways!
UNESCO Convention Website
The UNESCO Convention On Cultural Expressions!
Anti-Apartheid Information Database
A new website drawing on the Anti-Apartheid Movement archive at the Bodleian Library, University of Oxford, launched at a reception at South Africa House, London, on 20th March. ‘Forward to Freedom: the history of the British Anti-Apartheid Movement, 1959-1994’ (http://www.aamarchives.org) features video, documents, posters, photographs, badges and other items and interviews with 30 activists and supporters including politicians Barbara Castle and David Steel, both AAM Presidents in the 1960s, trade union leader Ron Todd and musician Jerry Dammers. The website summarises the history of the Movement and describes the campaigns it organised, such as the consumer and sports boycotts, arms embargo and support for political prisoners, and the groups involved, ranging from students and trade unions to local authorities and professional groups.
Microsoft Academic Search
WARTENWEILER LIBRARY HOURS
MON,TUES,THURS 8.00 -23.00
WED 9.00 - 23.00
FRI: 8.00 - 17.00
SUN: 14h00 -20h00
MON,TUES,THURS,FRI 8.00 - 17.00