LibGuides: Engineering Profession: Common First Year (FEBE1000A): Key Multidisciplinary Databases

Key Multidisciplinary Resources

Multidisciplinary Databases
Electronic Books

Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for a staff- or student-number and pin to access the library resources. For specific engineering disciplines, see the Engineering subject specific LibGuides on the left side panel of this guide.

Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
ScienceDirect A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to journals published by Elsevier, including the archival back issues. Strong in scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature, but also covers Arts, Humanities and Social sciences. Excludes association titles.
Web of Science Explore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 18,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 180,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool.
EbscoHost Web A multidisciplinary collection of databases.
ProQuest A multidisciplinary cross-searchable collection of full text databases. Select databases to search, then click Use selected databases to go to the search form.
Sabinet African Journals Full text collection of South African published journals articles.
SpringerLink A full-text, multi-disciplinary database providing electronic access to all the journals published by Springer.
JSTOR JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage begins at the first volume and issue of the journal ever published, and extends up to a publication date usually set in the past three to five years.
Taylor & Francis Online A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to over 1000 journals published by Taylor and Francis from 1997 - present.
Wiley Online Library A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to the journals published by Wiley. Strong focus on Science, Technology and Medicine. Most full text coverage from 1997 - present.

Looking for only eBooks in the eWits catalogue? This is how you do it.

More eBooks are available on different platforms. See the links below:

Oxford English Dictionary A guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
AccessEngineering from McGraw-Hill * access to 400+ books, including classic Engineering handbooks, Schaum's guides, etc. * instructional videos * interactive tables and charts * personalization tools allowing users to organize project information as they work
EBSCO eBook Collection A multidisciplinary collection of full text books.
Knovel: Chemistry & Chemical Engineering Covers both chemical processes and product development, including plant design and operation, as well as analytical chemistry, catalysis, separation, and synthesis used in the creation of new products. Industrial safety and process refinement are highlights of the collection. Of use to chemists and materials scientists, chemical, petroleum, and process engineers working on applications as broad as food production, petrochemical processing and nanotechnology. Includes a collection of Knovel Equation Solver interactive equations.
Knovel: Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering Covers design of motors and drives, pipe design, hydraulics, fluid mechanics and rheology, boiler and pressure vessel design, HVAC, systems and equipment, ship and vehicle design and manufacturing, Finite Element Method, and control of vibration. Of use to mechanical, aerospace, manufacturing, plumbing, and automotive engineers designing mechanical devices for improved performance, increased energy efficiency and user satisfaction. Includes a collection of Knovel Equation Solver interactive equations.
Knovel: Mining Engineering & Extractive Metallurgy Covers field geophysics, soil testing, tunnel and open pit designs, belt conveyance, blasting guidelines, soil and rock strength, road design, mine ventilation and dust control, ergonomics, mineral processing methods, waste treatment, recycling and disposal, and guidelines for working with local populations and communities impacted by the operation. Of use to geologists, and mining, civil, and environmental engineers developing new mineral deposits, or extending the operational life of existing mines to maximize the value extracted, while minimizing cost, risk to workers, or environmental impact.
Oxford Reference Online A multidisciplinary reference and research collection; covers 25 subject areas from architecture to zoology. Provides quick reference information together with authoritative, in-depth articles by world-famous authors. It also offers excellent functionality, and a wide range of additional material such as maps, illustrations and timelines.
ScienceDirect Provides access to multidisciplinary electronic books.