LibGuides: BUILT ENVIRONMENT: Construction Economics and Management: Reference Sources

Dictionaries

These books are available in the library, ask at the desk.

Oxford English Dictionary
Dictionary of Building Terms
Visual Dictionary of Architecture and Construction
Dictionary of property and construction law
Construction Contract Dictionary
Dictionary of Architecture and construction
Connected Construction Information NBS is an integrated global platform for everyone involved in the design, supply and construction of the built environment

Encyclopedias

Useful tools

For accessing library resources

Statistics South Africa

Stats SA

Referencing and Plagiarism

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a Firefox add-on that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. Zotero is the only research tool that automatically senses content, allowing you to add it to your personal library with a single click. It allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies. It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.
How to interpret a Turnitin originality report (UCT)
Free TurnitoutSafely.com software for students
Includes Languages, Mathematics, Health & other Sciences, e-books, etc.

Standards

SABS - Complete Collection of Standards & Related Documents

PLEASE NOTE: The SEARCH block/functionality is currently not working. If you have the number of the standard/s you need you can however browse the COMPLETE LIST OF STANDARDS (underneath the SEARCH block) and download the standard you need.

Provides full text access to the complete collection of national regulations and guidelines issued by the South African Bureau of Standards. The standards are specifications, codes of practice, and standardized methods that relate to products or commodities. They include descriptions of the commodities, their method of manufacture, handling, materials, properties and other relevant aspects. Wits University has full-text access to the complete collection of SABS standards

Terms & conditions of use: The standards are for non-commercial use by authorised users only. Users are alerted to the fact that the systematic downloading of content, retention of substantial portions of content and the transmission of online content to mailing lists is strictly prohibited.

Annual book of ASTM standards 2010 / ASTM International.
A complete set of ASTM standards is available in the Engineering library.
IEEE Xplore
Access to full text IEEE standards.
Techstreet
The world's largest collection of industry codes and standards. The library does not have a subscription to this collection.
British Standards
National Standards body of the UK. The library does not have a subscription to this collection.

Recommended Referencing System for Wits BE Students

Recommended Referencing Guide for Wits BE Students
The information in this pamphlet is an extract from THE GRADUATE SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING & THE BUILT ENVIRONMENT. (2001). Style guide for theses and dissertations. Johannesburg: University of the Witwatersrand. The style guide can be purchased from the Faculty Office in the Chamber of Mines Building

Harvard Referencing System
A comprehensive template for the correct referencing of sources, both as in-text, as well as reference list entries
Easy referencing with Zotero (Stellenbosch Univ)
Cite them right
Cite them right offers advice on how to develop life long academic skills in categorizing sources of information and providing evidence to support your arguments. This book will support you from secondary-school assignments through to postgraduate research, in writing reports for employers or writing your own publications.