LibGuides: BUILT ENVIRONMENT: Construction Economics and Management: Electronic Resources

Electronic Theses and Dissertations

Search for Electronic Theses & Dissertations

Electronic Resources

Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for a staff- or student-number and pin to access the library resources.

Africa Portal A full-text collection of books, journals and documents on African policy issues. Covers conflict resolution, food security, health, migration and climate change. Part of the African Initiative project of the Centre for International Governance Innovation, and the SA Institute of International Affairs.
African Journal Archive A full-text open access, multidisciplinary digital archive of research published in Africa
more...less...
Sabinet
ARTStor A collection of over a million images in the arts, architecture, humanities and social sciences sourced from prestigious museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals An index covering worldwide research in architecture, urban design, historic preservation and urban planning history. Covers both scholarly and popular periodical literature.
Cambridge Core Books and Journals A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to the journals published by Cambridge University Press
Current & Completed Research A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to the journals published by Cambridge University Press
Directory of Open Access Journals Provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed scholarly journals published in open access.
EBSCO Host A multidisciplinary collection of databases
Emerald Insight Provides access to articles in various areas of management, accounting, finance and economics, as well as education, and information and knowledge management. Full text from 1994 - present.
Filmakers Library Online A multidisciplinary database of nearly 1000 internationally sourced documentary films produced from 1978 - present by national film bodies and notable independent film makers. Covers areas such as race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature and more.
Journal Citation Reports The Journal Citation Reports is an essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 11655 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,300 publishers in 80 nations.
JStor JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Oxford Journals Online Full text access to the complete Oxford University Press journal collection from 1849 - present. Covers the fields of Humanities, Medicine, Life Sciences, Social Sciences, Law, and Physical science
Pidgeon Digital An audiovisual collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers
Proquest Central A multidisciplinary cross-searchable collection of full text databases.
RIBA The Royal Institute of British Architects is a global professional membership body driving excellence in architecture. The RIBA cares for one of the largest and most diverse architectural collections in the world. There are over four million items in the collections, including models, drawings, photographs, and archival documents. The library holds around 150,000 books and periodicals covering every aspect of architecture and architectural history, including the most significant new publications on architecture from around the world.
Sabinet African Journals A full-text collection of more than 430 African and Southern African journals focusing on information originating from or pertaining to Africa.
SABINET Online A multidisciplinary collection of bibliographic reference and South Africa journal databases
SAGE Journals Online A multi-disciplinary database providing full-text access to over 400 of the journals published by SAGE from 1999 - present
SAGE Research Method Core Sage Research Methods is a tool designed to help researcher explore methods concepts, design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. The core subscription provides access to the e-book, reference and e-journal content only. It focuses specifically on research methodologies, and is not limited to specific disciplines.
ScienceDirect A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to journals published by Elsevier, including the archival back issues. Strong in scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature, but also covers Arts, Humanities and Social sciences. Excludes association titles.
South African National Standards Provides full text access to the complete collection of national regulations and guidelines issued by the South African Bureau of Standards. The standards are specifications, codes of practice, and standardized methods that relate to products or commodities. They include descriptions of the commodities, their method of manufacture, handling, materials, properties and other relevant aspects
Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It is designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
SpringerLink A full-text, multi-disciplinary database providing electronic access to all the journals published by Springer
Taylor & Francis Journals A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to over 1000 journals published by Taylor and Francis from 1997 - present.
UCTD (Union Catalogue for Theses and Dissertations) A list of these and dissertations submitted to south African universities; includes honorary doctorates.
Web of Science: 1945 - present An academic citation index of scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops and conventions.
Wiley A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to the journals published by Wiley. Strong focus on Science, Technology and Medicine. Most full text coverage from 1997 - present.
ArchUP

Discovery tool: Search for library materials and digital content

This search tool allows you to find content from the library catalogue, all the library’s databases, journals, ebooks, the institutional repository WIReDSpace, and unique digital collections only available in the Wits library.

Advanced Search Find e-books & e-journals LibGuides e-Wits Catalogue

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Republic of South Africa Act

Council for the Built Environment Act

Financial and Data Management

BankFocus
A global database of banks' financial statements, ratings and intelligence from Fitch. Moody's, Standard & Poor's and Capital Intelligence. Includes risk profiles, economic and financial country-reports, stock data for listed banks, original filings, detailed bank structures, business and M&A news.
Bankscope
A global database of banks' financial statements, ratings and intelligence from Fitch. Moody's, Standard & Poor's and Capital Intelligence. Includes risk profiles, economic and financial country-reports, stock data for listed banks, original filings, detailed bank structures, business and M&A news.
EquityRT
A global financial markets, company and economic research data platform. Provides detailed information for over 122 000 listed companies from 130 stock exchanges, plus over 21 000 economic data series from 70 sources for over 250 countries. Company information includes market data (price data and estimates), shareholding and ownership, company news, currencies, commodities, indices, fundamental analysis, peer analysis and stock screening. The wide range of economic data includes economic time series data, economic news and publications, and an economic calendar tracking release dates of key economic data events.
Note: No passwords required. Click on the "Sign in" button to begin

Note: No passwords required. Click on the "Sign in" button to begin

IRESS Expert
A South African financial reporting database; provides historical and fundamental information on South African and international listed and unlisted companies. Covers published financials from 1988, standardised financials from 1971, and preliminary and interim financials.
** Access is limited to ten concurrent users. Kindly log out at the end of your session.

** Access is limited to ten concurrent users. Kindly log out at the end of your session. **

Quentec EasyData
** First-time users will need to register on the site to gain access
An online collection of analytical databases of South African socio-economic indicators. EasyData is divided into the following 4 data collections:

SA Economic Indicators - indicator time-series covering all aspects of the S.A. economy.
SA Standardised Industry - disaggregated, consistent long-term view of S.A. economic structure by industry.
SA International Trade - S.A. International trade by destination and origin at the HS 8-digit and SIC 4-digit levels.
SA Regional Indicators - sub-national socio-economic and demographic statistics
more...less...
** First-time users will need to register on the site to gain access
Global Financial Data
A comprehensive source of historical economic and financial time-series data covering 150 countries and 6,500 different data series. Includes data on stock markets from 1690, exchange rates from 1590, interest rates from 1700, commodities from 1500, and inflation from 1264.

Access to the data is by username and password. First-time users need to register online here for an account.