WHSL Evidence-Based Medicine: EBM Resources

Evidence-based resource for each condition including a summary, definition, aetiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment. There are links to the full text of Martindale. Also includes patient education.
There is BMJ BestPractice app available for Wits users

Features evidence-based filters for searching (see panel on the left hand of the screen for study types, and panel on the right-hand side of the screen for EBM filters). Includes Clinical Overviews. Register from a Wits (on-campus) computer for full access to all features. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password.

SAMRC subscription for SA.
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; CENTRAL (Controlled Trials); Database of Abstracts of reviews of Effects (DARE). Evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic reviews, clinical trials and reviews of effectiveness. Recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.

DynaMed - a clinical reference tool that clinicians go to for answers. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesise the evidence and provide object analysis.

Combines the best of Evidence-Based Health Care, information technologies and a network of experts to provide a unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions.

Essential Evidence Plus is the only evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries.

Available via ClinicalKey. Log on to ClinicalKey with your individual user name and password; and search for topic. Remember to Logout when done.

Evidence-based clinical practice guidelines

Use the Clinical Queries feature to filter results for evidence-based searching

A clinical decision support system that helps provide the best patient care by using current evidence to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care.

Customised Google evidence-based practice search engine. From ScHARR Library - carries the WHSL seal of approval.

Clinical Search Engine. Clinical research tool for health professionals for rapid identification of clinical evidence. Free registration adds extra features

Searches simultaneously for original studies, systematic reviews and practice guidelines

Search MEDLINE/PubMed via PICO.

The hub aims to guide you through using the Cochrane Library by providing access to quick training videos, user guides and webinars.

Continues Evidence-Based Healthcare. Title discontinued from 2006

Title discontinued from 2007

A collection of tools for identifying, assessing and applying relevant evidence for better health care decision-making.

Inspiring and enabling those guiding the humanitarian sector to apply an evidence-based approach.

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine, Toronto

Free, instant access to locally relevant medicines info & clinical guidelines.Comprehensive clinical support platform created by medical professionals, for medical professionals.
The EMGuidance website and search engine is South Africa’s most comprehensive, evidence-based, consistently updated and fully-referenced medicines resource. It is created in partnership with a national network of pharmacologists, specialists and academic institutions.
The medicines information is intuitively searchable by trade name, active ingredient and registered indication. You required to create an account to access the resource.

This tutorial is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-Based Practice. Upon completion of this self-paced tutorial, you will be able to:
•define Evidence-Based Practice (EBP)
•identify the parts of a well-built clinical question
•identify searching strategies that could improve PubMed searching
•identify key critical appraisal issues that help determine the validity of a study

Acknowledgement : Duke Program on Teaching Evidence-Based Practice.

Articles from the British Medical Journal ( BMJ)

Articles from the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)

American College of Physicians produces this resource to help busy physicians keep up with changing guidelines in primary care, ACP Medicine is a continually updated, evidence-based reference of internal medicine. This is available via the STAT!Ref app.

Evidence-Based Palliative Care

Provides patient-oriented evidence in the field of primary health care

This is available on the STAT!Ref app for iPad, iPhone, Blackberry & Android

How to Read a Paper describes the different types of clinical research reporting, and explains how to critically appraise the publications. The book provides the tools to find and evaluate the literature, and implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centered way. Written for anyone in the health care professions who has little or no knowledge of evidence-based medicine, it provides a clear understanding of the concepts and how to put them into practice at the basic, clinical level.

Better research for better healthcare. Shows how robust evidence from research can shape the practice of healthcare in ways that allow treatment decisions to be reached jointly by patients and clinicians.

Explains the underlying principles of EBM with extra resources such as EBM worksheets

a practical tool for searching health-related grey literature