Electronic Resources / Find Articles - Science - GeoMaths Library - Geosciences - LibGuides at University of the Witwatersrand

Access to Electronic Resources

Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for their staff or student number and library PIN to access the library resources.

Database search tips
This page is intended to give you general advice on how to get the best out of the search engines used by the kind of databases we provide. Unlike Internet search engines, these databases contain carefully catalogued information, and you can exploit this to improve your searching skills. You will find search tips and steps to follow in doing your research.

Bibliographic/Citation Databases

Geosciences - Subject Specific Databases

General Science Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Theses & Dissertations

WIReDSpace
e-Wits Catalogue Both Print & Electronic Theses & Dissertations completed at Wits can be located via the e-Wits catalogue. Choose the ADVANCED SEARCH option. You can search by Author, Title, Subject or the Note field. Select THESIS from the MATERIAL TYPE box.
more...less...
To search for theses/dissertations completed in a specific School, enter the name of the school e.g. 'School of Geosciences' in the ADVANCED SEARCH screen (ANY FIELD). Select THESIS from the MATERIAL TYPE box. PRINT COPIES will indicate the location/library of the print title. ELECTRONIC copies will have a link to the online title on WIReDSpace.

For more information on Open Access ETDs see the following LibGuide: Scholarly Research & Related Resources. Refer to the page/tab on Research Support/Resources:ETDs and Scholarly Repositories.

Africa Databases

Search for an e-journal

The E-journal Portal allows you to search for the online version of a JOURNAL TITLE subscribed to by Wits. It does not allow you to search for articles.

Science - GeoMaths Library - Geosciences: Electronic Resources / Find Articles