Skip to main content

Engineering: Civil: Electronic Resources

This Subject guide is your starting point for doing research in the most relevant resources in Civil Engineering. This include databases, reference materials, citing sources, and workshop programs to assist you with your research.

Electronic Resources Relevant to Civil Engineering

 Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for a staff- or student-number and pin to access the library resources.

Please see instructions if you a encounter security certificate warning. Examples for Chrome, Explorer and Firefox.

Search for library materials and digital content

This search tool allows you to find content from the library catalogue, all the library’s databases, journals, ebooks, the institutional repository WIReDSpace, and unique digital collections only available in the Wits library.

 

Search for library materials and digital content:
Encore Search:

  Advanced Search   Find e-books & e-journals    Search the catalogue  

Theses & Dissertations

     

  

For more information on Open Access ETDs see the following LibGuide: Scholarly Research & Related Resources.

Knovel Unit Converter

Knovel provides a web-bassed engineering unit converter which integrates technical information with analytical and search tools.  Designed to increase calculation efficiency while maintaining high levels of accuracy, this tool is freely available and is accessible on desktop and mobile platforms.

This release of Knovel Unit Converter includes over 1000 units and performs maths functions. Engineers can create custom units by selecting and combining appropriate units. Knovel Unit Converter incorporates a full-fledged maths engine.

COVID-19: FREE RESOURCES AVAILABLE FOR A LIMITED TIME

undefined

 

Whats's New?

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques.  Reduces lab training time for students by up to 75% It encompasses a range of experimental and instrumental techniques utilized in physics research and applied physics. Investigations in this area try to address and answer a broad range of scientific questions, such as device mechanisms and efficiencies, using physical tools. This approach often requires a combination of specialties, and research in this area tends to be interdisciplinary with contributions from mechanical, electrical, and chemical engineers.

Jove Journal. BioEngineering.

JoVE Bioengineering includes methods and tools that apply engineering to life science research for the study of biological processes and development of new therapies and diagnostics. (837 VIDEO ARTICLES)

Jove Journal. Chemistry.

Jove Chemistry includes techniques for fundamental and applied research in organic, inorganic, analytical and physical chemistry. (452 VIDEO ARTICLES)

Jove Journal. Engineering.

Jove Engineering includes research methods and protocols for mechanical, electrical, materials and chemical engineering applications. (454 VIDEO ARTICLES)

Jove Science Education. Engineering.

Jove Science Education. Engineering provides key concepts and fundamental techniques in Engineering - Bioengineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Structural Engineering, Biomedical Engineering and Materials Engineering. Aeronautical Engineering (launched in October 2019).

Standards

Tutorials for Electronic Resources