Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Useful for general information at a junior undergraduate level. Includes some interdisciplinary material for the therapeutic health sciences and education.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy: These gross anatomy videos are comprised of 5 volumes, organized by region. Each volume offers in depth coverage of the bones, joints, muscles and more..
WORKS BEST WITH MOZILLA FIREFOX or CHROME as your BROWSER
Bates’ Visual Guide
Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course and features completely re-shot content and new clinical skills videos.
WORKS BEST WITH MOZILLA FIREFOX or CHROME as your BROWSER
Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health.
It is a clinical search engine, including access to full text books, journals, guidelines and multimedia. For full access to all features you will need to register from a Wits (on campus) computer using your wits email details and activate the remote access option for 90 days. A link is then sent to your Wits email address which needs to be activated within 60 minutes of your registration. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password. You will be required to reactivate remote access at a Wits networked computer after every 90 days using your wits email details.
NB CLINICALKEY DOES WORK ON IPADS OR ANDROID TABLETS, BUT WITHOUT FULL FUNCTIONALITY
ClinicalKey Student - Nursing, the platform that supports nursing students and faculty with trusted nursing content and comprehensive learning tools.
Clinical Skills gives you convenient access to evidence-based skills and procedures from any computer in your organization. The content has been adapted from the most authoritative resources, fused with insight from leading nursing societies.
Search here for health and medicine, as well as theses and dissertations. Includes books and conference proceedings.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to free full text articles as well as links to WHSL's subscribed content.
We are experiencing problems with remote access to PubMed via any of the libguide or library links. We have escalated the problem to Library Computer Services who are working on the problem. In the interim until there is a solution for remote access( not on Wits Network or Campuses ) please use the url below ( this will need to be typed into or copied into the browser bar)
Full text collection of South African electronic journals. Includes scholarly publications.
Sage Research Methods Core
Sage Research Methods is a tool designed to help researcher explore methods concepts, design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. The core subscription provides access to the e-book, reference and e-journal content only. It focuses specifically on research methodologies, and is not limited to specific disciplines
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Coverage broader than PubMed. Provides citation data and h-index data. Excellent database for physiology.
Includes health sciences, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics. There are some links to full text. A large part of Embase is included.
Visible Body is a suite of online programs that covers anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models , animations, quizzes and more.. WORKS BEST with CHROME as your BROWSER
ACP Medicine (American College of Physicians)
American College of Physicians produces this resource to help busy physicians keep up with changing guidelines in primary care, ACP Medicine is a continually updated, evidence-based reference of internal medicine. This is available via the STAT!Ref app.
These animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them.
Evidence-based resource for each condition including a summary, definition, aetiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment. There are links to the full text of Martindale. Also includes patient education.
There is BMJ BestPractice app available for Wits users
Essential Medical Guidance ( EMGuidance)
Free, instant access to locally relevant medicines info & clinical guidelines.Comprehensive clinical support platform created by medical professionals, for medical professionals.
The EMGuidance website and search engine is South Africa’s most comprehensive, evidence-based, consistently updated and fully-referenced medicines resource. It is created in partnership with a national network of pharmacologists, specialists and academic institutions.
The medicines information is intuitively searchable by trade name, active ingredient and registered indication. You required to create an account to access the resource.
Essential Resources for Nursing
From the Interagency Council for Information Resources in Nursing (free)
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Useful addition to content in CINAHL. This database provides cholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers generic drug patient education sheets with more than US brand names
Interactive Health Tutorials
MedlinePlus presents interactive health tutorials from the Patient Education Institute. Learn about the symptoms, diagnosis and treatment for a variety of diseases and conditions. Also learn about surgeries, prevention and wellness. Each tutorial includes animated graphics, audio and easy-to-read language.
Health information from the National Library of Medicine in the United States of America. Easy access to Medline and Health topics, medical dictionaries, directories, etc.
For grey literature, this searches across commercial databases, medical societies, NIH resources, and others
Search here for mongraphs on pathologies, remembering that this is an American database.
National Institute of Nursing Research: Publications
Every year the National Institute of Nursing Research (NINH) produces a raft of helpful research papers, plans, white papers, and other documents. On their Publications page, users can look through some of these documents, which include "Palliative Care: The Relief You Need When You're Experiencing the Symptoms of Serious Illness." The site also includes the FOCUS Series, which constitutes a collection of information sheets that provide current research findings on topic such as asthma, behavioral science and HIV/AIDS, pediatrics, and women's health. The site also contains fact sheets from the National Institute of Health (NIH) that cover matters directly related to the world of nursing research. [KMG] - From Scout Report
National League for Nursing: Teaching resources
The resources here are contained within nine areas, including Excellence Model, Hallmarks of Excellence, and Faculty Toolkits.
National Network of Libraries of Medicine: Nursing on the Net
Links to resources including "Martindale Virtual Nursing Center" where there are some video tutorials e.g. on physical examination.
Health search engine indexing billions of documents from government agencies, global health organizations, medical journals, and reference sites.
South African Department of Health
Search here for official fact sheets, statistics, etc.
South African Electronic Package Inserts
Inserts arranged by generic and trade names, and classes of drugs
CEBM Stats Calculators
Diagnostic Test - calculates the Sensitivity, Specificity, PPV, NPV, LR+, and LR-
Prospective Study - calculates the Relative Risk (RR), Absolute Relative Risk (ARR), and Number Needed to Treat (NNT)
Case-control Study - calculates the O
Therapy, Risk Reduction, Number Needed to Treat, Harm, Risk Increase, Number Needed to Harm, Diagnosis, Likelihood Ratio, Agreement Calculator (Kappa)
Clinical calculators, creatinine clearance calculator, pharmacist calculators, clinical risk calculator, clinical tools, cancer drug dose calculator, drug potency conversion calculator, pharmacist dispensary calculation, pharmacist dilution calculator, fluid dilution calculator, medical calculator, medical formula calculators
Student Nurse Forum: Nursing Calculators
Dosages, unit conversions, IV rate, Scores, etc.
Calculators used in Cardiology, Critical Care, Emergency Medicine, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Haematology, Hospital Medicine, ID, Nephrology, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Paediatrics, Primary Care, Pulmonology, Rheumatology and Surgery
Search Engines: Google Scholar or Microsoft Academic or Wikipedia or OpenMD or Mednar
Witwatersrand Health Sciences Library
7 York Road
Tel: 011 717-2348