WHSL Occupational Therapy: Databases & Websites

Useful for general information at a junior undergraduate level. Includes some interdisciplinary material for the therapeutic health sciences and education.

AccessPhysiotherapy is an online resource designed to provide students, educators, and healthcare professionals with access to a wide range of educational materials related to physical therapy and rehabilitation. It offers a comprehensive collection of textbooks, multimedia content, and other resources to support learning and research in the field of physical therapy.
Search by modality or therapeutic goal. Full-text access to leading textbooks, basic anatomy & physiology, images, videos and demonstrations, self-assessment questions. PLEASE logout.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
https://mcgrawhill.zoom.us/rec/share/fCCdidUMsdHyFRW7Les_FPG_hLvv1dnBGoMYL4UBwQR1t80jxR2b7ocheupgF-8.HOI1WeVZBK74rka-
Passcode: WxR+s4k3

Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy: These gross anatomy videos are comprised of 5 volumes, organized by region. Each volume offers in depth coverage of the bones, joints, muscles and more..
WORKS BEST WITH MOZILLA FIREFOX or CHROME as your BROWSER

Anatomy TV covers a full range of interactive and accurate 3D models of human anatomy online, with specialised resources on various clinical areas and body systems. Includes comprehensive modules on the human body encompassing 3D anatomy and integrated physiology content..

CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.

ClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialities in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, customised patient education handouts and more. You will ensure that your care teams have access to evidence-based information, so they can answer complex questions related to their patients' conditions. For full access to all features you will need to register from a Wits (on campus) computer using your wits email details and activate the remote access option for 90 days. A link is then sent to your Wits email address which needs to be activated within 60 minutes of your registration. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password. You will be required to reactivate remote access at a Wits networked computer after every 90 days using your wits email details.
NB CLINICALKEY DOES WORK ON IPADS OR ANDROID TABLETS, BUT WITHOUT FULL FUNCTIONALITY

SAMRC subscription for SA.
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; CENTRAL (Controlled Trials); Database of Abstracts of reviews of Effects (DARE). Evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic reviews, clinical trials and reviews of effectiveness. Recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database of over 18000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines

First create a “My PsychiatryOnline” account at PsychiatryOnline from a Wits desktop.

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to free full text articles as well as links to WHSL's subscribed content.

Sage Research Methods is a tool designed to help researcher explore methods concepts, design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. The core subscription provides access to the e-book, reference and e-journal content only. It focuses specifically on research methodologies, and is not limited to specific disciplines

The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Coverage broader than PubMed. Provides citation data and h-index data. Excellent database for physiology.
Includes health sciences, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics. There are some links to full text. A large part of Embase is included.

Useful for a wide range of movement associated rehabilitation articles

MEDLINE Ultimate offers medical professionals and researchers access to unmatched evidence-based and peer-reviewed full-text content from more of the top biomedical journals. It also offers more international journal coverage than any other MEDLINE database.

The Acts can be found under the Documents link.

A US site focussed on facilitating the sharing of information between rehabilitation researchers in US and other countries.

Includes useful information for Occupational Therapists as well as health sciences education.

This Evidence-Based Occupational Therapy Web-portal has been designed in partnership with international colleagues to provide strategies, knowledge and resources to aid occupational therapists in finding out about and using evidence to support best practice in occupational therapy.

Free, instant access to locally relevant medicines info & clinical guidelines.Comprehensive clinical support platform created by medical professionals, for medical professionals.
The EMGuidance website and search engine is South Africa’s most comprehensive, evidence-based, consistently updated and fully-referenced medicines resource. It is created in partnership with a national network of pharmacologists, specialists and academic institutions.
The medicines information is intuitively searchable by trade name, active ingredient and registered indication. You required to create an account to access the resource.