Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to eBooks
Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for a staff or student number and pin to access the library's eBooks.
The Library has a large collection of eBooks and we are continually acquiring new titles as more content becomes available in an electronic format.
When searching for eBooks on your topic, use the advanced eWits catalogue search option as this provides a quick and effective way of identifying relevant titles. It searches across the Library's range of eBook collections, saving you time and the need to search each collection separately.
If books are available on your topic, they will display in your results list and may include a mix of both print and eBooks. You can easily identify an eBook from a print one as it will have the tag [electronic resource] next to its title.
If you want to limit your search to eBooks only, see the following:
How to Find eBooks on the library eWits Catalogue.
It is also possible to find eBooks by searching specific eBook collections. See the Library's individual eBook platforms for a list of available collections. To locate relevant eBooks, you will often have to conduct keyword searches within these collections or browse through their list of available titles.
Open Access eBook collections
Find millions of books you can preview or read for free.
Directory of Open Access Books
Access 4662 academic peer-reviewed books from 154 publishers.
Project Gutenberg offers over 50 000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Free eBooks Net
This collection is free to download, although there are some restrictions for standard membership holders.
AccessEngineering from McGraw-Hill
* access to 400+ books, including classic Engineering handbooks, Schaum's
* instructional videos
* interactive tables and charts
* personalization tools allowing users to organize project information as they work
EBSCOHOST eBook collection
Download the entire book for 14 days by creating an Ebsco login, OR;
Download a maximum of 60 pages per browser session (limit is publisher dependent).
The library has access to the following Knovel eBook collections.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Oxford Reference Online
Coverage comprises authoritative, highly accessible information on the very latest terminology, concepts, theories, techniques, people, and organizations relating to all areas of science and technology.
Offering comprehensive coverage of the full range of scientific disciplines. eBook content is displayed and can be downloaded chapter by chapter.
You are advised to find Springer books via the library eWits catalogue. Engineering eBooks for Springer include 2011 & 2012 as well as individually selected titles.
Kindles to Take Out
The Engineering library has three Kindles to download the PDF version of library e-books and journal articles. To borrow a Kindle please visit the library circulation desk. Each Kindle may be borrowed for two weeks and can be renewed once depending on demand.