Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental law South Africa- Books
Principles of International Environmental Law by The third edition of this classic textbook offers comprehensive and critical commentary on international environmental law. It fully covers the key topics of the course and is clearly structured to include the history and framework in which international environmental law exists, key areas of regulation and implementation, links to other areas of law and future developments. It has been updated to incorporate all the latest developments in treaty and case law. Extensive feedback on previous editions results in a restructuring of material, including a new part focused on linkage to other areas of international law including human rights, international trade and foreign investment. There is also a new chapter on future developments charting the directions in which the subject is moving. Specialist authors writing on oceans, seas and fisheries and biodiversity add to the expertise of the two principal authors for an authoritative overview of the subject.
Publication Date: 2012-05-03
Environmental Law and Local Government in South Africa by Environmental Law and Local Government in South Africa is the first work of its kind to extensively analyse South African environmental law and policy for local government. This novel collection of theoretical scholarship and real-life examples presents different features of the interface between local government and environmental law. Each chapter is accessible yet detailed enough to be useful. In the scope of this comprehensive work, thirty-two authors collectively answer the question: 'What is the role of local government in moving South Africa towards a sustainable future, considering the dictates and scope of environmental law?'.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Environmental Law by
Publication Date: 2011-08-15
Planning Law by
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Planning Law Casebook by Understanding how to use, interpret and apply case law is perhaps the most difficult aspect of planning law. Part I of the Planning Law Casebook describes the different parts of a typical court case. Part II briefly explains how the Casebook should be used. Part III contains discussions and analyses of 18 key planning law cases, which reflect the different components of current planning law. Part IV is a glossary in which the relevant legal concepts and terminology are defined. Part V includes extracts from applicable legislation. Part VI provides examples of typical planning documents, such as a deed of transfer, a notice of the removal of a restrictive condition or rezoning, and a part of a schedule to a town planning scheme indicating one of the zoning categories.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Hydraulic Fracturing in the Karoo by Hydraulic Fracturing in the Karoo: Critical Legal and Environmental Perspectives explores a broad-ranging set of questions related to proposed hydraulic fracturing or 'fracking' in the Karoo. The book is multidisciplinary, with contributors including natural scientists, social scientists, and academics from the humanities, all concerned with the ways in which scientific facts and debates about fracking have been framed and given meaning. work comprises four parts: Part 1 provides an international, legal, energy, economic, and revenue overview of the topic. Part 2 has a physio-geographic theme, with chapters on the interrelated aspects of water, geology, geo-hydrology, seismicity and biodiversity, as well as archaeological and palaeontological considerations. Part 3 focuses on public health, and sociological and humanities-related aspects, and Part 4 addresses the relevant laws, emphasising their implementation and the role of governance. The underlying theme of Hydraulic Fracturing in the Karoo: Critical Legal and Environmental Perspectives is one of caution. The book emphasises the need for collaboration between the natural and social sciences and the responsibilities of those charged with the implementation and governance of the fracking enterprise if South Africa hopes to effectively manage fracking at all.
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Poverty Alleviation and Environmental Law by This timely book explores the complex relationship between the alleviation of poverty and the protection of the environment.There is every reason to believe that these issues are in many ways interdependent. However this book demonstrates that there are
Publication Date: 2012-06-29
Writing Essays in English Language and Linguistics by English language and linguistics shares many of its writing conventions with those of other disciplines, but there are certain features and expectations that distinguish it as a subject. This book is written specifically to help undergraduate students of English language and linguistics develop the art of writing essays, projects and reports. Written by an author with over 30 years' experience of lecturing in the subject, it is a comprehensive and very readable resource and contains numerous discipline-related examples, practice exercises and an answer key. It includes chapters on referencing (including plagiarism, paraphrase and guidance on referencing styles), stylistic issues that often get overlooked, and writing a dissertation. The book offers practical guidance and a layout that guides students as they work though their project. It will be an invaluable reference tool that students can read cover to cover or dip into as and when required.
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
The Elements of Academic Style by Eric Hayot teaches graduate students and faculty in literary and cultural studies how to think and write like a professional scholar. From granular concerns, such as sentence structure and grammar, to big-picture issues, such as adhering to genre patterns for successful research and publishing and developing productive and rewarding writing habits, Hayot helps ambitious students, newly minted Ph.D.'s, and established professors shape their work and develop their voices. Hayot does more than explain the techniques of academic writing. He aims to adjust the writer's perspective, encouraging scholars to think of themselves as makers and doers of important work. Scholarly writing can be frustrating and exhausting, yet also satisfying and crucial, and Hayot weaves these experiences, including his own trials and tribulations, into an ethos for scholars to draw on as they write. Combining psychological support with practical suggestions for composing introductions and conclusions, developing a schedule for writing, using notes and citations, and structuring paragraphs and essays, this guide to the elements of academic style does its part to rejuvenate scholarship and writing in the humanities.
Publication Date: 2014-08-26
EU Environmental Law by This highly accessible book gives readers a thorough and nuanced overview of European environmental law, covering on the basic framework and principles as well as substantive law. It provides much-needed insight into a crucial area of legal practice throughout the EU; at a time when environmental law in Member States is becoming ever less 'national' and EU regulation is growing in scope and importance. The book provides state-of-the-art insights into key pieces of legislation and topical developments in various areas of environmental regulation.The first part offers a succinct overview of the framework of European environmental law and the fundamental principles that govern it. This part covers the creation, implementation and enforcement of environmental regulations and includes dedicated chapters on in particular environmental impact assessment and environmental liability. The chapters in the second part offer in-depth analysis of the substantive law in key areas, including biodiversity, air quality, waste and chemicals regulation, and climate change.European environmental regulation is becoming more complex and interrelated, making it a crucial field of study for European law graduates and an area of increasing exposure to the legal profession and in industry. This much-needed book combines detailed legal analysis with a concise and accessible style, making it an ideal companion for students, academics and professionals alike.
Publication Date: 2017-02-24