Find Articles / Electronic Resources - Science - GeoMaths Library - Actuarial Science - LibGuides at University of the Witwatersrand

Access to Electronic Resources

Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for their staff or student number and library PIN to access the library resources.

Database searching

Tips on Database searching
This page is intended to give you general advice on how to get the best out of the search engines used by the kind of databases we provide. Unlike Internet search engines, these databases contain carefully catalogued information, and you can exploit this to improve your searching skills. You will find search tips and steps to follow in doing your research.

Bibliographic/Citation Databases

Multidisciplinary Bibliographic databases
Subject Specific Bibliographic databases

Subject specific databases

Here you will find full text articles for Actuarial Sciences.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidiscipliniary databases cover a number of subjects from the Sciences to the Arts.

ScienceDirect
more...less...
Collection of multidisciplinary full text journals.
Selected full text books available.
EBSCOhost
more...less...
Select the collection of databases on the list and continue.
ProQuest Central
more...less...
A multidisciplinary cross-searchable collection of full text databases.
Emerald Full Text
more...less...
Provides access to articles in various areas of management, accounting, finance and economics, as well as education, and information-and-knowledge management. Full text from 1994 - present .
EMIS Global
more...less...
Provides company, industry, macroeconomic and financial data over more than 80 emerging markets worldwide.
JSTOR
Quantec
more...less...
An online collection of analytical databases of South African socio-economic indicators.
World Development Indicators
more...less...
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

Google Scholar

Africa Databases

African Wide
Multi-disciplinary database covering Information on Africa and South Africa.
Easy Data
South Africa macro-economic industry, trade and regional indicators. Easy to use navigation, analytic tools, graphic presentation and the ability to download data in MS Excel, CSV and other popular file formats. (Create a personal user account)
INET BFA Expert
South African financial reporting database; provides historical and fundamental information on South Africa and international listed and unlisted companies. Access is limited to ten concurrent users. Kindly log out at the end of your session.
SABINET Online
A multidisciplinary collection of bibliographic reference and South Africa journal databases.
SA ePublications
Full text collection of South African and African electronic journals. Includes scholarly publications.

Search Tips

Theses & Dissertations

WIReDSpace
e-Wits Catalogue Both Print & Electronic Theses & Dissertations completed at Wits can be located via the e-Wits catalogue. Choose the ADVANCED SEARCH option. You can search by Author, Title, Subject or the Note field. Select THESIS from the MATERIAL TYPE box.
more...less...
To search for theses/dissertations completed in a specific School, enter the name of the school e.g. 'School of Geosciences' in the ADVANCED SEARCH screen (ANY FIELD). Select THESIS from the MATERIAL TYPE box. PRINT COPIES will indicate the location/library of the print title. ELECTRONIC copies will have a link to the online title on WIReDSpace.

For more information on Open Access ETDs see the following LibGuide: Scholarly Research & Related Resources. Refer to the page/tab on Research Support/Resources:ETDs and Scholarly Repositories.

Search for library materials and digital content

This search tool allows you to find content from the library catalogue, all the library’s databases, journals, ebooks, the institutional repository WIReDSpace, and unique digital collections only available in the Wits library.

Advanced Search Find e-books & e-journals LibGuides e-Wits Catalogue

Tutorials for Electronic Resources

Here you can teach yourself how to use the various databases.

Science - GeoMaths Library - Actuarial Science: Find Articles / Electronic Resources