Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to free full text articles as well as links to WHSL's subscribed content.
We are experiencing problems with remote access to PubMed via any of the libguide or library links. We have escalated the problem to Library Computer Services who are working on the problem. In the interim until there is a solution for remote access( not on Wits Network or Campuses ) please use the url below ( this will need to be typed into or copied into the browser bar)
Full text collection of South African electronic journals. Includes scholarly publications.
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Coverage broader than PubMed. Provides citation data and h-index data. Excellent database for physiology.
Includes health sciences, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics. There are some links to full text. A large part of Embase is included.
Web of Science
Interdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals
Legal/ Official Links
Government Gazettes (SABINET)
South African Government Gazettes from 1994 to present. Search the Government Gazettes. For older Gazettes, see Retrospective Government Gazettes.
Juta Law Online Publications
South African law reports, statutes, journals and other commentary publications to meet the requirements of a diverse range of legal information users. Subject coverage includes intellectual property.
In addition to legal information, this includes news, pharmaceutical, company, ethics, patent and other information relevant to the health care field. It is US focused, but includes international information.
Retrospective Government Gazette Archive
The Sabinet Retrospective Government Gazette Archive contains more than 22 000 Government Gazettes covering the period 1910 to 1993.
South African Legal information
South African Department of Health
Search here for official fact sheets, statistics, etc.
Southern African Legal Information Institute (SAFLII)
The Southern African Legal Information Institute publishes legal information for free public access which comprises mainly of case law from South Africa
Search Engines: Google Scholar or Wikipedia or OpenMD or Mednar
Useful databases for articles
Search for library materials and digital content
This search tool allows you to find content from the library catalogue, all the library’s databases, journals, ebooks, the institutional repository WIReDSpace, and unique digital collections only available in the Wits library.