LibGuides: Information Literacy: Post Graduate Libguide: Electronic Resources

Google Scholar (Note : databases are rich in scholarly articles)

Research Databases and Tools

DoE Approved Journal List
Department of Education approved list of accredited journals
IBSS (International Bibliography of Social Sciences)
Database of Approved Research Periodicals
InCites
InCites is a customized, citation-based research evaluation tool that enables you to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark your output against peers worldwide. There are three modules: Research Performance Profiles, Institution Profiles and Global Comparisons
Research Channel in Africa
Detailed reports on key industrial sectors such as steel, electricity, defence and telecommunications, as well as on important African minerals including gold, platinum, diamonds and copper. An important business resource providing intelligence on industry and mining in Africa.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It s designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
Web of Science
An academic citation index of scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes proceedings
of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

E-Wits Catalogue (Find Print Books, Journals, Theses and eBooks )

Search E-journals by Title

Journals Quick Search

Starts with ContainsExact

Turnitin

Turnitin is a system used by academics to assist with plagiarism detection. Wits want its students to be accountable for their own academic progress and to improve the quality of their scholarly work. Plagiarism, which is a failure to acknowledge other peoples work and ideas, undermines this accountability. Technology has made it possible for students to submit their assignments to a system that checks assignments for unoriginal content.

SAKAI

A vibrant community creating technology that enhances teaching, learning and research. Click any of the above icons to access SAKAI.

Multidisciplinary Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
more...less...
Proquest sub-database covering Business, Economic conditions, Corporate strategies, Management theory, Management techniques, Business trends, Competitive landscape and product information, Accounting, Finance Etc.
Academic Search complete
more...less...
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,200 journals and a total of more than 11,700 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Africa Wide Information
more...less...
Africa-Wide: NiPAD, produced by NISC South Africa, combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This includes content from South African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations. With over 3.2 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century.
Ebscohost
Emerald Fulltext
JSTOR
more...less...
A scholarly archive of journals in the arts and sciences, and general sciences. JSTOR's objective is to provide access to a complete back run -- reaching back to vol. I, no. 1 -- for every JSTOR participating journal, with the help of publishers and libraries.
Proquest
MasterFile Primier
more...less...
Ebscohost multidisciplinary sub- database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. Updated daily.
Ox Research
more...less...
Provides succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance. It evaluates issues and events within a coherent political, social and economic framework.
SAGE Premier Online
SA e-Publications
Science Direct
more...less...
Since its commercial launch in 1999, ScienceDirect has evolved from a web database of Elsevier Science journals to one of the world's largest providers of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Also covers Arts, Humanities and social sciences. Full text coverage of all Elsevier journals from date of inception to the present. Excludes association titles.
Taylor & francis