Skip to Main Content
Directory of Open Access Journals
Provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published in open access - See more at: https://www.wits.ac.za/library/online-resources/databases/#g
Sabinet Open Access Journal Collection
A multidisciplinary collection of South African full open access journals. Includes titles that are accredited by the DHET; full text availablity varies according to title with journals going back to 2000 - See more at: https://www.wits.ac.za/library/online-resources/databases/#s
African Journal Archive
A full-text open access, multi-disciplinary digital archive of research published in Africa - See more at: https://www.wits.ac.za/library/online-resources/databases/#s
Music Theory Online
Music Theory Online is a journal of criticism, commentary, research and scholarship. The refereed open-access electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory, MTO has been in continuous publication since 1993. New issues are published four times per year and include articles, reviews, commentaries, and analytical essays. In addition, MTO publishes a list of job opportunities and abstracts of recently completed dissertations.
Duke University Press Journals Online
Provides full-text access to the journals published by Duke University Press. Multidisciplinary coverage; particularly strong in the humanities and social sciences, but includes some science titles - See more at: https://www.wits.ac.za/library/online-resources/databases/#g
Cambridge Journals Online
A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to the journals published by Cambridge University Press - See more at: https://www.wits.ac.za/library/online-resources/databases/#g
Oxford Journals Online
Full text access to the complete Oxford University Press journal collection from 1849 - present. Covers the fields of Humanities, Medicine, Life Sciences, Social Sciences, Law, and Physical science - See more at: https://www.wits.ac.za/library/online-resources/databases/#g
Ethnomusicology is an international, peer-reviewed journal published three times a year by the University of Illinois Press on behalf of the Society for Ethnomusicology. It features scholarly articles representing theoretical perspectives and research in ethnomusicology and related fields, as well as book, sound recording, film, video, and multimedia reviews.
Journal of Music Theory
Founded by David Kraehenbuehl at Yale University in 1957, the Journal of Music Theory is the oldest music-theory journal published in the United States and has been a cornerstone in music theory’s emergence as a research field in North America since the 1960s. The journal is edited by a consortium of music-theory faculty at Yale, where it is housed in the Department of Music.
Journal of New Music Research
Emphasizes an interdisciplinary foundation for music by means of the most advanced technologies. Covers musicology, psychology, information sciences, philosophy and brain sciences.
Leonardo Music Journal
Features the latest in music, multimedia art, sound science and technology.
Journal of Music Therapy
The Journal of Music Therapy (JMT) is a forum for authoritative articles of current music therapy research and theory, including book reviews and guest editorials.
Journal of Musicological Research
Covers a wide range of approaches to the study of music.
Journal of the Musical Arts in Africa
Aims to combine ethnomusicological, musicological, music educational and performance-based research in a unique way to promote the musical arts on the African continent.