Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A full alphabetical list of online research databases available through the Wits Library. Please note that you need a library PIN to access these databases off campus.
Wits subscribes to EBSCO Host database for 30 multidisciplinary subjects.
International Monetary Fund e-Library
The IMF eLibrary provides powerful and convenient online access to the complete collection of authoritative global economic content published by the International Monetary Fund (IMF). With more than 11,000 text publications and full access to the IMF’s statistical databases, the IMF eLibrary is an important resource for economic study and analysis.
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
An online collection of analytical databases of South African socio-economic indicators. EasyData is divided into the following 4 data collections: RSA Economic Indicators; RSA Standardised Industry; RSA International Trade; RSA Regional Indicators.
Global Consumption Database
Provides data sets covering consumer spending patterns in developing countries, based on government surveys of more than one million households in more than 90 countries.
Citation of Datasets
Data requires citations for the same reasons journal articles and other types of publications require citations: to acknowledge the original author/producer and to help other researchers find the resource.
How to Cite Datasets and link to Publications
This guide will help you create links between your academic publications and the underlying datasets, so that anyone viewing the publication will be able to locate the dataset and vice versa. It provides a working knowledge of the issues and challenges involved, and of how current approaches seek to address them.
Data collection is the systematic recording of information;
Data analysis involves working to uncover patterns and trends in datasets;
Data interpretation involves explaining those patterns and trends. Scientists interpret data based on their background knowledge and experience; thus, different scientists can interpret the same data in different ways. By publishing their data and the techniques they used to analyze and interpret those data, scientists give the community the opportunity to both review the data and use them in future research.
Data Analysis Software
Below is a list of available software, to help you analyze, manage, and visualize data. Contact your Data Services Librarian for assistance.
Gapminder offers a web-service displaying development statistics for all countries and many sub-national regions. Gapminder world uses "Google Motion Charts" to power its downloadable graphics.
R is open source statistical analysis and visualization software.
Stata software provides data analysis, management, and graphics.
Atlas.ti is one of the CAQDAS (Computer-Aided Qualitative Data Analysis Software) programs. It is a useful tool for supporting the process of qualitative data analysis. You will be able to analyze textual, graphical, audio and video data.
Results can be presented in textual and non-textual form. See the resources below, for best practices on non-textual data presentation (i.e. charts, tables, etc.).
Dozens of federal funding agencies, many non-profit granting agencies, and some corporate funders now require grant applicants to submit a "data management plan" document.
See Yale's Research Data Management guide for more information.