Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for a staff- or student-number and pin to access the library resources.
Africa PortalA full-text collection of books, journals and documents on African policy issues. Covers conflict resolution, food security, health, migration and climate change. Part of the African Initiative project of the Centre for International Governance Innovation, and the SA Institute of International Affairs.
ARTStorA collection of over a million images in the arts, architecture, humanities and social sciences sourced from prestigious museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists.
Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsAn index covering worldwide research in architecture, urban design, historic preservation and urban planning history. Covers both scholarly and popular periodical literature.
EBSCO HostA multidisciplinary collection of databases
Emerald InsightProvides access to articles in various areas of management, accounting, finance and economics, as well as education, and information and knowledge management. Full text from 1994 - present.
Filmakers Library OnlineA multidisciplinary database of nearly 1000 internationally sourced documentary films produced from 1978 - present by national film bodies and notable independent film makers. Covers areas such as race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature and more.
Journal Citation ReportsThe Journal Citation Reports is an essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 11655 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,300 publishers in 80 nations.
JStorJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Oxford Journals OnlineFull text access to the complete Oxford University Press journal collection from 1849 - present. Covers the fields of Humanities, Medicine, Life Sciences, Social Sciences, Law, and Physical science
Pidgeon DigitalAn audiovisual collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers
Proquest CentralA multidisciplinary cross-searchable collection of full text databases.
RIBAThe Royal Institute of British Architects is a global professional membership body driving excellence in architecture. The RIBA cares for one of the largest and most diverse architectural collections in the world. There are over four million items in the collections, including models, drawings, photographs, and archival documents. The library holds around 150,000 books and periodicals covering every aspect of architecture and architectural history, including the most significant new publications on architecture from around the world.
Sabinet African JournalsA full-text collection of more than 430 African and Southern African journals focusing on information originating from or pertaining to Africa.
SABINET OnlineA multidisciplinary collection of bibliographic reference and South Africa journal databases
SAGE Journals OnlineA multi-disciplinary database providing full-text access to over 400 of the journals published by SAGE from 1999 - present
SAGE Research Method CoreSage Research Methods is a tool designed to help researcher explore methods concepts, design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. The core subscription provides access to the e-book, reference and e-journal content only. It focuses specifically on research methodologies, and is not limited to specific disciplines.
ScienceDirectA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to journals published by Elsevier, including the archival back issues. Strong in scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature, but also covers Arts, Humanities and Social sciences. Excludes association titles.
South African National StandardsProvides full text access to the complete collection of national regulations and guidelines issued by the South African Bureau of Standards. The standards are specifications, codes of practice, and standardized methods that relate to products or commodities. They include descriptions of the commodities, their method of manufacture, handling, materials, properties and other relevant aspects
ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It is designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
SpringerLinkA full-text, multi-disciplinary database providing electronic access to all the journals published by Springer
Taylor & Francis JournalsA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to over 1000 journals published by Taylor and Francis from 1997 - present.
Web of Science: 1945 - presentAn academic citation index of scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops and conventions.
WileyA multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to the journals published by Wiley. Strong focus on Science, Technology and Medicine. Most full text coverage from 1997 - present.
Discovery tool: Search for library materials and digital content
This search tool allows you to find content from the librarycatalogue,all the library’sdatabases, journals, ebooks, the institutional repository WIReDSpace, and unique digital collectionsonly available in the Wits library.