WHSL Pharmacy and Pharmacology: Finding Drug or Chemical Information

The BP is the official collection of standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances, produced by the British Pharmacopoeia Commission Secretariat of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency.
NB: WORKS BEST WITH recent version of popular browsers, such as Chrome 22, Firefox 27, IE 8, 9 and 10, IE 11 or Safari 7

This is an AccessMedicine eBook

Videos on structure, reaction and other searching for Scifinder.
You need a username & password for access to Scifinder. Enquire at the library.

Chemical Abstract Services: Site of the American Chemical Society. Only available via Scifinder and only with username and password available from the Electronic Resources Librarian (Jo-Anne.king at wits.ac.za)

ClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialities in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, customised patient education handouts and more. You will ensure that your care teams have access to evidence-based information, so they can answer complex questions related to their patients' conditions. For full access to all features you will need to register from a Wits (on campus) computer using your wits email details and activate the remote access option for 90 days. A link is then sent to your Wits email address which needs to be activated within 60 minutes of your registration. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password. You will be required to reactivate remote access at a Wits networked computer after every 90 days using your wits email details.
NB CLINICALKEY DOES WORK ON IPADS OR ANDROID TABLETS, BUT WITHOUT FULL FUNCTIONALITY

PContains unique, validated chemical structures (small molecules) that can be searched using names, synonyms or keywords. The compound records may link to more than one PubChem Substance record if different depositors supplied the same structure. These Compound records reflect validated chemical depiction information provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance. Structures stored within PubChem Compounds are pre-clustered and cross-referenced by identity and similarity groups. Additionally, calculated properties and descriptors are available for searching and filtering of chemical structures.

When searching PubMed, use the Limit "Guidelines " under Type of Article. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine

Reaxys provides user-friendly access to experimentally validated data about chemical structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and properties. Includes medicinal chemistry.
Off Campus users need to register on the publisher's website using a Wits e-mail address.
A source of experimentally validated data about chemical structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and properties. It is made up of three chemistry databases:
Beilstein - information on the structures, reactions,and properties of organic carbon compounds, drawn from the journal literature back to the 18th century.
Gmelin - information on structures and properties of inorganic and metal-organic compounds, drawn from the journal and patent literature back to the early 19th century.
Patent Chemistry Database - a new file of organic chemistry information drawn from selected English-language chemical patents (US, WO, EP, 1976- ). Additional historical (1869-1980) patent coverage comes from the Beilstein and Gmelin files.

The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Coverage broader than PubMed. Provides citation data and h-index data. Excellent database for physiology.
Includes health sciences, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics. There are some links to full text. A large part of Embase is included.

Link to books on Pharmacology

Links to Pharmacopoeis in print

Espacenet offers free access to more than 80 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today

We have hundreds of gigabytes of full-text data which is keyword searchable using the most powerful search engine in the industry. In addition to our full-text data, we have terabytes (a terabyte is 1000 gigabytes) of images so that you can view patent diagrams.

Search and read the full text of patents from around the world.

The Lens serves integrated scholarly and patent knowledge as a public good to inform science and technology enabled problem solving.