Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Grey Literature?
So-called "grey literature" consists of documents that are not published through traditional commercial channels. Grey literature includes reports, conference papers, dissertations, technical & other trade papers and documents in repositories, as well as working papers and policy documents. The grey literature is extremely useful, especailly n the field of public health, but is very hard to locate.
This page contains some links that might be helpful when searching for grey literature.
Finding Grey Literature
Finding the Grey Literature is extremely difficult. A list of various databases that will help you to locate documents is included on this page, but that does not mean that every document will be available. Unfortunately, if there is no full text or PDF link to the document itself, the chances of obtaining this document are very limited.
You could try to contact the authors directly to ask for a copy. If all else fails, you might need to use the abstract only (if one has been provided).
Databases of Grey Literature
Digital archive of scientific research and literature produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Composed of curated collections tailored for public health research needs.
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
CRD is part of the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) and is a department of the University of York. Provides research-based information about the effects of health and social care interventions and systematic reviews evaluating the research evidence on health and public health questions of national and international importance.
A bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine Library alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics.
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
Research datasets and instruments/indices employed in Health Services Research, Behavioral and Social Sciences and Public Health with links to PubMed
NICE Guidance (Public Health topics)
NHS (UK) National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence
700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) from Europe
WWW Virtual Library: Epidemiology
Links to wide range of international epidemiological sources.
Global Burden of Disease Study 2010