WHSL Chemical Pathology: Databases & Websites

ClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialities in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, customised patient education handouts and more. You will ensure that your care teams have access to evidence-based information, so they can answer complex questions related to their patients' conditions. For full access to all features you will need to register from a Wits (on campus) computer using your wits email details and activate the remote access option for 90 days. A link is then sent to your Wits email address which needs to be activated within 60 minutes of your registration. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password. You will be required to reactivate remote access at a Wits networked computer after every 90 days using your wits email details.
NB CLINICALKEY DOES WORK ON IPADS OR ANDROID TABLETS, BUT WITHOUT FULL FUNCTIONALITY

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to free full text articles as well as links to WHSL's subscribed content.

An electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine. "Designed to provide physicians access to current clinical information. It addresses specific clinical issues in the form of topic reviews. According to UpToDate, it “is designed to get physicians the concise, practical answers they need when they need them most—at the point of care.” Topic reviews are written by physician experts who review the literature then synthesize the information into specific recommendations for diagnosis, management, and therapy." (J.A.Garrison.2003)

Access the publications of the ACS

Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies. Includes Biological Abstracts, plus proceedings, book- and patent-records.

This is a source of national and international news and resources about the latest developments concerning DNA databases.

PContains unique, validated chemical structures (small molecules) that can be searched using names, synonyms or keywords. The compound records may link to more than one PubChem Substance record if different depositors supplied the same structure. These Compound records reflect validated chemical depiction information provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance. Structures stored within PubChem Compounds are pre-clustered and cross-referenced by identity and similarity groups. Additionally, calculated properties and descriptors are available for searching and filtering of chemical structures.

Links to many relevant forensic web sites. Created by a retire New York City forensic scientist

Includes full text journals, books, and Chemspider with comprehensive compound data

The Royal Society for Chemistry is a major publisher and provider of chemical information. Includes MedChemComm; Molecular BioSystems. Includes full text journals, books, and Chemspider with comprehensive compound data

A core research tool for Chemical Abstracts databases. Access to the database is by username and password, and is restricted to currently registered staff and students of the university.
** First-time users will need to register and create an account in order to access the database
To register Link https://0-origin--scifinder-cas-org.innopac.wits.ac.za/registration/index.html?corpKey=B720CD5EX86F350ABX3256183B5D4D65995D.
A core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering fields. The database has five components:
Chemical Abstracts (CAplus) A bibliographic database that indexes journal articles and patent records, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations and meeting abstracts
CAS registry A comprehensive list of organic and inorganic substances and sequences dating from 1957 - present
CASREACT A database of single and multi-step reactions indexed from journal articles and patents dating from 1840- present
CHEMCATS A catalogue of commercially available chemicals from more than 900 commercial chemical suppliers
CHEMLIST A database of substances regulated national and international agencies. Includes the EINECS and Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA) Inventory

Searchable for information on compounds

A virtual endocrine pathology slide atlas with links to scanned slides

History of forensic medicine

Includes useful tools to assist in writing of good Englsh