Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Terms and Conditions
Electronic databases by title
Terms and conditions of use
The licence agreements governing the electronic resources available through the University of the Witwatersrand Library permit the content to be used for non-commercial purposes only, by authorised staff and students of the University. The systematic downloading, distribution, printing or retention of substantial portions of content , such as entire journal issues, or the transmitting of online content to mailing lists, is strictly forbidden. Breaches of the University’s contractual arrangements with publishers could result in the suspension of access to the resource for the entire University community.
Remote Access to most of the electronic resources is available to current staff and students of the University. Off-campus users should note that they will be prompted for their staff- or student-number and PIN. For additional assistance, Ask Your Librarian (Khosi 011717-2277)
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy: These gross anatomy videos are comprised of 5 volumes, organized by region. Each volume offers in depth coverage of the bones, joints, muscles and more..
WORKS BEST WITH MOZILLA FIREFOX or CHROME as your BROWSER
It is a clinical search engine, including access to full text books, journals, guidelines and multimedia. For full access to all features you will need to register from a Wits (on campus) computer using your wits email details and activate the remote access option for 90 days. A link is then sent to your Wits email address which needs to be activated within 60 minutes of your registration. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password. You will be required to reactivate remote access at a Wits networked computer after every 90 days using your wits email details.
NB CLINICALKEY DOES WORK ON IPADS OR ANDROID TABLETS, BUT WITHOUT FULL FUNCTIONALITY
An archive of journals in the arts and sciences. Has some useful information on topics such as ethics, anthropology, paleontology, education and health policy. Includes 32 health sciences journal archives, particularly in the field of epidemiology, occupational health and nursing. Not useful for current journals information.
In addition to legal information, this includes news, pharmaceutical, company, ethics, patent and other information relevant to the health care field. It is US focused, but includes international information.
A collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Includes DSM-IV; APA Practice Guidelines; textbooks, journals and self-assessment.
International literature in psychology and related behavioural and social sciences, including psychiatry, neuro-psychology, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to free full text articles as well as links to WHSL's subscribed content.
We are experiencing problems with remote access to PubMed via any of the libguide or library links. We have escalated the problem to Library Computer Services who are working on the problem. In the interim until there is a solution for remote access( not on Wits Network or Campuses ) please use the url below ( this will need to be typed into or copied into the browser bar)
South African Legal information
Full text collection of South African electronic journals. Includes scholarly publications.
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Coverage broader than PubMed. Provides citation data and h-index data. Excellent database for physiology.
Includes health sciences, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics. There are some links to full text. A large part of Embase is included.
Visible Body is a suite of online programs that covers anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models , animations, quizzes and more.. WORKS BEST with CHROME as your BROWSER
Search Engines: Google Scholar or Microsoft Academic or Wikipedia or OpenMD or Mednar