Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh")
Zotero is a reference management tool that helps you collect, organise, cite, and share your research sources. It is an open-access, easy-to-use software that serves as your personal research assistant. With Zotero, you can save references from library catalogs, research databases, and the web. You can add various file types including PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and more. You can also write annotations and attach them to citations, and create bibliographies using most major citation styles.
Zotero was designed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media and was initially funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Institute of Museum and Library Services, and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. It runs on several operating systems including Windows, Mac X, and Linux.
To start using Zotero, you will need to open the Zotero download page and install the browser extension for Chrome, Firefox, or Safari. After installation, you may need to restart your browser before you can start working with Zotero. It is recommended that you back up your work by creating a Zotero account or saving it to your flash drive.
To install Zotero and its connectors, follow these steps:
1. Download Zotero from the Zotero download page https://www.zotero.org/
2. Make sure to also install a Zotero connector for your browser (Chrome, Firefox, or Safari).
3. If you're using Windows, run the setup program that you downloaded.
4. If you're on a Mac, open the .dmg you downloaded and drag Zotero to the Applications folder. You can then run Zotero from Spotlight, Launchpad, or the Applications folder and add it to your Dock like any other program.
5. If you're using Linux, download the tarball, extract the contents, and run Zotero from that directory to start Zotero.
Additionally, you can watch an installation video at http://www.zotero.org/support/installation
Zotero is a powerful tool that can take your research to the next level. With its ability to automatically capture citations from library catalogs and databases, Zotero is the perfect companion for any researcher. Whether you are a student or a professional, Zotero can help you organize your research materials with ease. It is compatible with the University of Witwatersrand Library Catalog, as well as many of the Library's electronic databases, making it a versatile tool for any researcher. Zotero can automatically detect library records, news items, journal articles, and other objects that you may like to save in your collection, saving you time and effort. Take advantage of this powerful tool today and see how it can transform your research process. Below is a list of databases or sites that are compatible with Zotero.
Are you looking for a way to manage your research more efficiently? Look no further than Zotero! By creating a Zotero account, you can easily sync your library, participate in groups, and get support from other users. If you already had a forum account, it has been automatically converted into a Zotero account, so you can start using it right away. To begin, simply visit https://www.zotero.org/user/register/ and sign up.
But that's not all! You can also install Zotero Bookmarklet by going to http://www.zotero.org/downloadbookmarklet. This handy tool allows you to add Zotero to your iPhone, Chrome for Android, Firefox Mobile Browser, and other relevant devices, making it even easier to manage your research on the go. So what are you waiting for? Sign up for Zotero and start streamlining your research today!
With Zotero, keeping your research data organized and up-to-date has never been easier. Whether you're working from your office computer or your home laptop, you can seamlessly add new content to your research library and organize your collections with ease. Zotero's automatic synchronization ensures that all your notes, files, and bibliographic data remain current and accessible, no matter where you are or what device you're using. When you return from fieldwork, your data will be waiting for you, ready to help you continue your research with ease and efficiency. For additional support, please visit: http://www.zotero.org/support/sync
