Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Humanities: Prescribed, Recommended and Open Textbooks: French

Prescribed and Recommended

                                                                                     Image result for french book images

MDLL 1003 AND 1009

MDLL 1003 : BASIC FRENCH LANGUAGE AND CULTURE

SEMESTER 1  : BLOCKS 1 - 2

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Alter ego +. Méthode de français I. A1.

Berthet, A; Hugot, C; Kiziran, V; Sampsonis, B & Waendendries, M

Recommended - Strongly

Collins-Robert French English Dictionary. 2010 edition

 

Recommended - Strongly

Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary

Correard M, Grundy V.

Recommended - Strongly

Bescherelle Complete Guide to Conjugating: English edition.

 

Recommended - Strongly

 

MDLL 1009 : INTERMEDIATE FRENCH LANGUAGE AND CULTURE

SEMESTER 2  : BLOCKS 3 - 4

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Alter ego +. Méthode de français I. A1

Berthet, A; Hugot, C; Kiziran, V; Sampsonis, B & Waendendries, M

 

Collins-Robert French English Dictionary. 2010 edition

Correard M, Grundy V. 

Recommended - Strongly

Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary

Correard M, Grundy V.

Recommended - Strongly

Bescherelle Complete Guide to Conjugating: English edition  

 

Recommended - strongly

MDLL 2001 - 2002

MDLL 2001 : FRENCH LANGUAGE AND TEXT PRODUCTION

SEMESTER 1  : BLOCKS 1 - 2

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Alter ego +. Méthode de français II A2

Berthet, A; Hugot, C; Kiziran, V; Sampsonis, B & Waendendries, M

 

Collins-Robert French English Dictionary. 2010 edition

 

Recommended - Strongly

Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary

Correard M, Grundy V.

Recommended - Strongly

Bescherelle Complete Guide to Conjugating: English edition

 

Recommended - Strongly

 

MDLL 2002 : FRENCH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE

SEMESTER 2  : BLOCKS 3 - 4

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Alter ego +. Méthode de français II A2

Berthet, A; Hugot, C; Kiziran, V; Sampsonis, B & Waendendries, M

Recommended - Strongly

L’étranger

Camus, Albert

 

Reine Pokou

Tadjo, Véronique

 

Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary

Correard M, Grundy V.

Recommended - Strongly

Bescherelle Complete Guide to Conjugating: English edition

 

 

 

MDLL 3001; 3005; 3008; 3011

MDLL 3001: ADVANCED FRENCH COMPOSITION & STYLISTICS

SEMESTER 1 : BLOCKS 1 - 2

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Alter ego +. Méthode de français III B1

Berthet, A; Hugot, C; Kiziran, V; Sampsonis, B & Waendendries, M

 

Bescherelle Complete Guide to Conjugating: English edition

 

 

Collins-Robert French English Dictionary. 2010 edition

 

Recommended - Strongly

Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary

Correard M, Grundy V.

Recommended - Strongly

 

MDLL 3005: FRENCH LITERATURE

SEMESTER 2 : BLOCKS 3 - 4

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

L’Amant (1984)

Duras, Marguerite

 

Le ventre de l’Atlantique (2005)

Diome, Fatou

 

La Pirogue (DVD – Zone 2) ASIN: B00A4MXTZM

Touré, Moussa

Recommended - Strongly

Un Barrage Contre Le Pacifique (DVD –Zone 2) ASIN: B0029KH7BE

Huppert I., Gaspard U. et al.

Recommended - Strongly

MDLL 3008: NEGOTIATING LANGUAGE

SEMESTER 2 : BLOCKS 3 - 4

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Alter ego +. Méthode de français III B1

Berthet, A; Hugot, C; Kiziran, V; Sampsonis, B & Waendendries, M

 

Collins-Robert French English Dictionary. 2010 edition

 

Recommended - Strongly

Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary

Correard M, Grundy V.

 

Recommended - Strongly

 

MDLL 3011: SELECT TOPIC IN FRENCH LITERATURE

SEMESTER 1 : BLOCKS 1 - 2

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Papa doit manger (2003)

Ndiaye, Marie

 

L’ex-père de la nation (2000)

Sow Fall, Aminata

 

Onitsha. 1991 edition

Le Clézio, J M G

 

Collins-Robert French English Dictionary. 2010 edition

 

Recommended - Strongly

Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary

Correard M, Grundy V.

Recommended - Strongly

MDLL 4017 AND 4056

MDLL 4017 : FRANCOPHONE AFRICAN LITERATURE

SEMESTER 2 : BLOCKS 3 - 4

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

L'ombre d'Imana : Voyages jusqu'au bout du Rwanda (2005)

Tadjo, Véronique

 

Soundjata Ou I’Epopée Mandingue

Niane, DT

 

Nouvelle anthologie africaine d’expression française, la poésie. 2007 ed

Chévrier, J

 

 

MDLL 4056 : SELECT TOPIC IN FRENCH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE

SEMESTER 2 : BLOCKS 3 - 4

TITLE

AUTHOR

 

Collins-Robert French English Dictionary. 2010 edition

 

Recommended - Strongly

Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary

 

Correard M, Grundy V.

 

Recommended - Strongly