LibGuides: Wits Mining Institute: Electronic Resources

Electronic Resources Relevant to Mining Engineering

Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for a staff- or student-number and pin to access the library resources.

Please see instructions if you a encounter security certificate warning. Examples for Chrome, Explorer and Firefox.

Security Certificate Warning

OneMine OneMine is a collaborative effort among multiple societies to place the world's most comprehensive collection of mining and minerals based research in one place. The goal of OneMine is to collect the most relevant and reliable aggregation of technical papers associated with mining and minerals in one, easy to navigate location. It also includes conference papers, articles, pre-prints and late papers.
Research Channel Africa Detailed reports on key industrial sectors such as steel, electricity, defence and telecommunications, as well as on important African minerals including gold, platinum, diamonds and copper. An important business resource providing intelligence on industry and mining in Africa.
Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
Web of Science Explore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool.
Taylor and Francis Journals A multidisciplinary database providing full-text access to over 1000 journals published by Taylor and Francis from 1997 - present.
GeoRef Online access to: Bibliography of North American Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Geophysical Abstracts, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology.
EbscoHost Select the following databases from EBSCOHOST Web: Academic Search Complete Business Source Ultimate GeoRef
Proquest Select Relevant Collection on Proquest Research Library.
Springer Collection A full-text, multi-disciplinary database providing electronic access to all the journals published by Springer.
Lyell Collection Database established by Geological Society of London in 2007. The collection holds earth sciences literature, including key journals, special publications and the Society’s book series.
Access World News Full text access to current African news sources, 1997- present. Consists predominantly of African newspapers, but also includes newswires, magazines and other sources.
World Bank Group Access data, research, projects and publications from the World Bank.
SABINET African Journals (formerly known as SA ePublications) SABINET African Journals is the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic African journals in the world (including reviews and studies), covering subjects such as business, education, humanities, science, medical and health sciences, law and theology.
Index to South African Periodicals Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP) covers indexed articles from more than 900 South African periodicals.

S&P Global Market Intelligence: Metals & Mining

Metals & Mining: S&P Global Market Intelligence

S&P Global (https://www.spglobal.com/en/) is a database that provides essential intelligence, data & analytics, research & commentary, credit ratings, benchmarks and ESG solutions.

Wits subscribes to the Metals & Mining component of S&P Global Market Intelligence.

PLEASE NOTE: Access is restricted to users (students & staff) from the School of Mining Engineering and the School of Geosciences.

ACCESS is via username & password. Please contact your librarian to register for access.

Data & research features:

Deep sector data, news, and supply chain intelligence
Broad global company coverage
Private company data
Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) data
Real-time and Aftermarket research reports
Daily news

Tech-forward productivity tools:

Real-time market monitoring, data visualization tools, and screening capabilities
Excel Add-In, Office Tools, and a library of hundreds of ready-to-use models and templates
Smart Search: Instantly find information across companies, news, documents, research, transcripts, investor presentations, and more
Mobile App: Set up alerts or push notifications and access news, watchlists, and corporate profiles to stay up-to-date even when you're away from your desktop

Whats's New?

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques. Reduces lab training time for students by up to 75% It encompasses a range of experimental and instrumental techniques utilized in physics research and applied physics. Investigations in this area try to address and answer a broad range of scientific questions, such as device mechanisms and efficiencies, using physical tools. This approach often requires a combination of specialties, and research in this area tends to be interdisciplinary with contributions from mechanical, electrical, and chemical engineers.

Jove Journal. Chemistry.

Jove Chemistry includes techniques for fundamental and applied research in organic, inorganic, analytical and physical chemistry. (452 VIDEO ARTICLES)

Jove Journal. Engineering.

Jove Engineering includes research methods and protocols for mechanical, electrical, materials and chemical engineering applications. (454 VIDEO ARTICLES)

Jove Science Education. Engineering.

Jove Science Education. Engineering provides key concepts and fundamental techniques in Engineering - Bioengineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Structural Engineering, Biomedical Engineering and Materials Engineering. Aeronautical Engineering (launched in October 2019).

Discovery tool: Search for library materials and digital content

This search tool allows you to find content from the library catalogue, all the library’s databases, journals, ebooks, the institutional repository WIReDSpace, and unique digital collections only available in the Wits library.

Advanced Search Find e-books & e-journals LibGuides e-Wits Catalogue

Tutorials for Electronic Resources

Web of Science
This tutorial will give you an overview of the product and how to use it in your research.
Scopus
Tutorials on the use of specific functions in Scopus.
EBSCO
Detailed tutorials on every feature of EBSCO.

LibKey trial

Standards

SABS - Complete Collection of Standards & Related Documents

PLEASE NOTE: The SEARCH block/functionality is currently not working. If you have the number of the standard/s you need you can however browse the COMPLETE LIST OF STANDARDS (underneath the SEARCH block) and download the standard you need.

Provides full text access to the complete collection of national regulations and guidelines issued by the South African Bureau of Standards. The standards are specifications, codes of practice, and standardized methods that relate to products or commodities. They include descriptions of the commodities, their method of manufacture, handling, materials, properties and other relevant aspects. Wits University has full-text access to the complete collection of SABS standards

Terms & conditions of use: The standards are for non-commercial use by authorised users only. Users are alerted to the fact that the systematic downloading of content, retention of substantial portions of content and the transmission of online content to mailing lists is strictly prohibited.

Annual book of ASTM standards 2010 / ASTM International.
A complete set of ASTM standards is available in the Engineering library.
IEEE Xplore
Access to full text IEEE standards.
Techstreet
The world's largest collection of industry codes and standards. The library does not have a subscription to this collection.
British Standards
National Standards body of the UK. The library does not have a subscription to this collection.

Patents

Patents on SCOPUS
SCOPUS covers 23 million patents from 5 patent offices (US Patent and Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and UK Intellectual Property Office)
SEARCHING:
Conduct your search
Select the “Patent" link at the top of your search results
NOTE: The View patents results link appears only if there are patent results that matched your search terms.
CIPC Intellectual Property Online
South Africa's official portal for IP services. Search SOUTH AFRICAN patents
USPTO Full-Text Database
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the Federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.
ESP@CENET
Europe's network of Patent Databases.
PatentScope (WIPO)
Provides international patents and patent applications from the Word Intellectual Property Organization, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.

Technical Reports

CiteSeerX
Searches publicly-available grey literature from governmental and academic servers throughout the world.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.

Mining Journal and Mining Magazine

Mining Journal

Mining Magazine

Theses & Dissertations

WIReDSpace
e-Wits Catalogue Both Print & Electronic Theses & Dissertations completed at Wits can be located via the e-Wits catalogue. Choose the ADVANCED SEARCH option. You can search by Author, Title, Subject or the Note field. Select THESIS from the MATERIAL TYPE box.
more...less...
To search for theses/dissertations completed in a specific School, enter the name of the school e.g. 'School of Geosciences' in the ADVANCED SEARCH screen (ANY FIELD). Select THESIS from the MATERIAL TYPE box. PRINT COPIES will indicate the location/library of the print title. ELECTRONIC copies will have a link to the online title on WIReDSpace.

For more information on Open Access ETDs see the following LibGuide: Scholarly Research & Related Resources. Refer to the page/tab on Research Support/Resources:ETDs and Scholarly Repositories.

Knovel Unit Converter

Knovel provides a web-bassed engineering unit converter which integrates technical information with analytical and search tools. Designed to increase calculation efficiency while maintaining high levels of accuracy, this tool is freely available and is accessible on desktop and mobile platforms.

This release of Knovel Unit Converter includes over 1000 units and performs maths functions. Engineers can create custom units by selecting and combining appropriate units. Knovel Unit Converter incorporates a full-fledged maths engine.

Knovel Unit Converter
Features include:

search and sort units by properties and/or alphabetically
enter numerals, mathematical operators and functions; value is calculated automatically
customisable units
built-in keyboard for special characters and maths operators
settings to format results (decimal or scientific) and precision (significant digits)
controls located next to output result

Wits Mining Institute: Electronic Resources