Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Britannica Online - Academic Edition
Britannica Online Academic edition
Full text online version of the well-known encyclopedia; an authoritative multidiscinplinary reference and research resource; includes Britannica's latest article database, articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), Britannica's Book of the Year, as well as links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
Government publications in Mining
Please go the the Mining Government Publications portal for the following information:
Policy / Acts
Frequently used Referencs Sources (Handbooks)
Oxford English Dictionary Online
The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
Dictionary of Earth Sciences. by
The third edition of this leading dictionary offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics, including geology, oceanography, paleontology, minerology, volcanology, and planetary science as well as climatology, geochemistry, and petrology. The fully updated dictionary also provides additional coverage of process geomorphology and physical geography, as well as around 130 line drawings - of which more than 50 are new - to accompany descriptions of forms and processes.
Golden Oldies in the Engineering Library