Skip to main content

Research Support: Publishing

Research support guide for faculty and students.

Department of Higher Education and Training Accredited Publications

Accredited Journals: To receive a subsidy and recognition for research output, you should select a journal which is commissioned by the Department of Higher Education and Training (see search engine link, below). The Accredited Journals database is a collection of journals indexed in Web of Science (Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index); the International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS), the list of South African published journals, SciELO SA, Scopus and the Norwegian list (Level 2) of accredited journals. The following list contains the titles of each of the above accredited lists for 2018.

For your convenience we include a SEARCH ENGINE FOR ACCREDITED JOURNALS where ALL the accredited journal lists can be searched simultaneously. ~ (Courtesy of Corrie Breitenbach and Elize van Eldik, North-West University Library)

Predatory Journals and Publishers

When considering where to publish, please be wary of 'predatory' journals.  Most of the journals you will come across are legitimate, however some are questionable.  These predatory journals may lack credibility and in a few cases may be a scam.

Not all Open Access journals are predatory. Check the credibility of any journal you are considering submitting to. For example, you can check if the journal is from a well established academic publisher. However, it can be harder to tell if a journal from a new publisher is credible or not. 


Jeffrey Beall, a librarian at the University of Colorado Denver, has compiled lists of "potential, possible, or probable predatory" journals and publishers. 

Important information regarding Beall's blog and lists, which are no longer active. If someone has more questions, please refer them directly to Jeffrey’s professional email (Jeffrey.Beall@ucdenver.edu), or to Emily in Media Relations.

​If you receive a solicitation to publish in a journal or with a publisher you are not familiar with, please contact your librarian to further investigate the issue.


FOR INTEREST:

Publication Strategy: Useful Sources

Consult the following resources and webpages to assist with your Publication strategy:

Relevant Electronic Resouces listed on Libguides: Scan the relevant databases and indexed journal titles in your research area.

Journal Citation Reports: Provides annual rankings of Thomson Reuters journals (Science: 8400+; Social Science: 3000+) by various measures, including Impact Factor.

Scopus: The Scopus Journal Analyzer provides a view of journal performance, enriched with two journal metrics - SJR (SCImago Journal Rank) and SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper).

Essential Science Indicators: Determine the most influential individuals, institutions, papers, and publications.

Journal Finder: From Elsevier. Includes open access options and provides information about publication speeds and impact factors.

Google Scholar Metrics: Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research.

Open Access: The Sherpa RoMEO site offers information about publishers' policies with respect to self-archiving pre-print and post-print research papers.

**For more information on Open Access and the University's policy consult the Scholarly Communcation/Publication Libguide.

For more information on author rights, also see University of Maryland's Author Rights libguide.

Publication Strategy: Criteria

Proofreading, editing and copywriting.

Open Access Publishing

The term open access (OA) describes the nature of access, rather than a specific business model, license or type of content.

The primary difference between traditional publishing and open access is that, in the OA model, the bills are not paid by readers or institution and do not function as access barriers.

The OA philosophy supports the goal of providing unrestricted access to data or published materials. The key objectives of the OA movement have significant benefits to researchers, listed below.

Maximizes dissemination 

Open access to material:

  • Removes cost barriers to broaden access.
  • Enables access for anyone with an internet connection.
  • Supports the philosophy of public access to publicly funded research.
  • Assists researchers in developing countries.  ​

Increases exposure and visibility

Material that is open access:

  • Will be more readily discoverable and retrievable.
  • May attract higher number of citations and greater impact.
  • Provides the opportunity for earlier access to material e.g. pre-prints

Enhances scholarly communication

Open access allows for:

  • Quicker dissemination to speed up the research process.
  • Increased awareness of current research to avoid duplication.
  • Enhanced collaboration through OA resource networks.
  • Archiving of material through hosting on secure networks.

Important: Authors should be able to choose the best publication venue for their research, whether open access or not. In addition to this decision researchers are encouraged to upload the pre-print, post-print or publishers PDF article in the Wits institutional repository, WIReDSpace.

For details on the publishers copyright and self-archiving policies consult Sherpa/Romeo.