Skip to Main Content
University of the Witwatersrand
LibGuides
Open Access, A2K & Scholarly Communication
OA Images/Photos
Search this Guide
Search
Open Access, A2K & Scholarly Communication: OA Images/Photos
This LibGuide provides useful information about the Open Access Movement, open access publishing and open scholarly communication trends.
Intro
Toggle Dropdown
What is Open Access (Green Route)?
What is Open Access (Gold Route)?
Open Access Initiatives (incl. Developing Countries)
IFLA and eIFL and Open Access
OA Policies/Guidelines
The Public Domain
Benefits of Open Access
OA@Wits
Toggle Dropdown
Wits Open Access Policy 2018
Wits OA Brochure
Wits Author's Addendum
Open Access Events at Wits (2012-2019)
Open Access Week Events - December 2020
Wits Open Education Resources Strategy
OA Books
OA Journals
OA Libraries/IRs/ETDs
Toggle Dropdown
Intro/Guidelines re: Digital Libraries/IRs
Finding OA ETDS & Repositories
Digital Libraries/ETDs/Scholarly Repositories
Digital Libraries/ETDs/Scholarly Repositories (South Africa)
Accredited Journals (incl.OA)
OA Media & Law
Toggle Dropdown
OA Films/Videos/
OA Music
OA Podcasts/Blogs
Vimeos on OA
OA Images/Photos
Open Source
OERS
A2K
Authors' Rights
Toggle Dropdown
Wits Addendum to Publication Agreement
OA & Scholarly Communication
OA Publishers
Predatory Publishers
Toggle Dropdown
Fake Conferences
Beall's List Closes - Articles about the closure
Research Metrics
Research Process
Library
Images
30,000 Works of Art by Edvard Munch & Other Artists Put Online by Norway’s National Museum of Art
85 Free Stock Photo Resources – How to Use Them (CC licences)
The 100 Most Influential Photographs: Watch TIME’s Video Essays on Photos That Changed the World
178,000 Images Documenting the History of the Car Now Available on a New Stanford Web Site | Open Culture
Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources (AMIR): Open Access Images Library: Saudi Aramco World Photo Archive
American Religion Image Library
Archive of Over 95,000 Aerial Photographs Taken Over Britain from 1919 to 2006
Art in the Christian Tradition:
Artstor Public Collections
ATLA CDRI
Biblical Art on the WWW
Book images (Internet Archive)
British Library Photostream (Flickr)
British Library Puts 1000000 images into public domain
Calisphere (Univ. of California)
Some public domain images, others are copyrighted - check first before using
Collections Search Center, Smithsonian Institution (CC licensed)
Compfight
Digital Library of the Commons Image Collection
Europeana Collections
Finding and Using Online Images – Creative Commons
Finding Copyright-Free and Creative Commons Images (Sonoma)
Finding Open Access Images
Flickr
FLICKR
Flickr Commons
Flikr Creative Commons
Free 2.6 Million Images from Books Published Over Last 500 Years on Flickr | Open Culture
Free Photos
Free photos (Burst) (Creative Commons licences)
Free Photos (Dreamstime)
Getty Images
The Getty Open Content Program
Gratisography: Free, use as you please, high-resolution pictures.
Guide to Finding Interesting Public Domain Works Online
A Guide to the Web's Growing Set of Free Image Collections
Holy Land Photos (for personal/non-commercial use)
International Mission Photography Archive
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Library of Congress (free to use images)
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Lunacommons
The Met Collection
NASA images
National Gallery of Art OA images
National Portrait Gallery (UK)
New Old Stock
New York Public Library Digital Gallery | European History Primary Sources
New York Public Library puts more than 180,000 images online
OA Images (University of Washington Libraries)
Open Access Images Collections (University of the Highlands and Islands)
Open Access Photographs
Open Collections Program: Women Working, Photographs
OpenGlam Public Domain Collections
Open Research - Gallery
Photopin (CC licensed material)
Picjumbo (cartoons)
Pitts Theology Library: Digital Image Archive (for personal,non-commercial use)
Princeton University Digital Library -- Historical Photograph Collection: Grounds and Buildings Series
The prometheus Image Archive: (for educational purposes)
arts, culture
Public domain images (UPenn)
Public Domain Pictures
Teacherfiles.com
The Ultimate Student Guide to Images
UnSplash
Victoria and Albert Museum (for non,commercial & educational purposes)
Web Gallery of Art
Wellcome Images
Wikimedia Commons
Wikipedia:Public domain image resources -
World Images
WPClipArt
Wylo (find CC licensed images)
Yale Digital Content
Yale Photogrammar
Anatomical/Medical Images : CC licensed
Free Human Anatomy Images and Pictures
HEAL Collection (University of Utah)
MedPix (medical images)
National Cancer Institute (USA) visuals online
Open i - An Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
Public Health Image Library
Specimens
Trauma Image and Procedure
How to Cite OA Images
Finding OA Images
Online Logo Makers
The 20 Best Free Online Logo Makers: Create a Professional Brand Identity
Social Media images
The Complete Guide to Social Media Image Sizes 2020
<<
Previous:
Vimeos on OA
Next:
Open Source >>
