LibGuides: School of Human & Community Development (SHCD): Speech Pathology & Audiology

WELCOME

Welcome to the LibGuide for Speech Pathology

Here you will find an introduction to some of the many resources available for Speech Pathology which should give you some handy starting points to carry out your research.

We look forward to seeing you in the library or hearing from you by phone or email if you are studying or working off-campus.

SPPA Homepage

http://www.wits.ac.za/umthombo/speechpathology/7527/speechpathology.html

Guides to Speech Pathology & Audio

Finding Articles

WHY USE JOURNALS ARTICLES

Great source for finding recent & credible info

You will need to refer to quality articles to support your own research arguments

Articles are published in journals & indexed in databases
You can search thousands of journals by searching databases

EBSCOHost Web
MEDLINE
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Available through Wits Libraries
Nexus: South African Research Database
The objective of the National Research Foundation (NRF) is to support and promote research through funding, human resource development and the provision of the necessary research facilities, in order to facilitate the creation of knowledge, innovation and development in all fields of science and technology. NRF host NEXUS for current and completed research and other databases. Please contact Mr Sello Borephe on x71912 for the password.
SpeechBite
CINAHL
Cumulated Index for Nursing & Allied Health Literature
EBSCO via Wits Libraries
SCOPUS
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
PsycBite
PsycBITE is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments
for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain
impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various
aspects of scientific rigour
Cohcrane

AudioVisual Collection

DVDs and CDs in the Audio Visual Collection are now located on 2nd floor in Wartenweiler Library, East Campus

Videocassettes are also housed in Wartenweleir Library on 2nd floor.

Video players are in Wartenweiler Library on 2nd floor

A designated CD-ROM machine are available in all Knowledge Commons (KCs)

Headphones and remote controls are available for loan from behind the Lending counter.

Library Skills

Hearing

E-Reference Materials

Gale Virtual Reference
Gale encyclopedia of nursing and allied health
Gale encyclopedia of medicine
STATref - a collection of key medical texts
Stedman's medical dictionary
Science Direct - Reference Works

Websites

Finding Journals

Accredited journals are recognized research output which meet specified criteria and therefore qualify for subsidisation by the Department of Education (DoE). To receive subsidy or recognition for an article you have written, you should select a journal which is accredited from one of the lists below.

The Department of Education's List of Accredited Journals is compiled from journals included in ISI and IBSS, as well as South African journals selected by the Department of Education for this purpose and listed under SA List of Accredited Journals (DoE).

School of Human & Community Development (SHCD): Speech Pathology & Audiology