| Status of user | Number of items allowed | Loan periods |
| Undergraduates | 6 | 7 Days |
| 4th Year & Honors students | 8 | 14 Days |
| Master students | 12 | 30 Days |
| PHD students | 15 | 30 Days |
| University staff & Academics | 30 | 45 Days |
| Wits Health Science Library | Number of items according to user status as above | 14 Days for all items |
| Most Corporate users | 2 | 7 Days |
| Most permit holders | 2 | 7 Days |
Blended Learning in Action by
Blended learning has the power to reinvent education, but the transition requires a new approach to learning and a new skillset for educators. Loaded with research and examples, Blended Learning in Action demonstrates the advantages a blended model has over traditional instruction when technology is used to engage students both inside the classroom and online.
Essentials for Blended Learning by
Essentials for Blended Learning: A Standards-Based Guide provides a practical, streamlined approach for creating effective learning experiences by blending online activities and the best of face-to-face teaching. This guide is: Easy to use: Clear, jargon-free writing; illustrations; and references to online resources help readers understand concepts. Streamlined: A simple but effective design process focuses on creating manageable activities for the right environment. Practical: Real-world examples from different subject areas help teachers understand principles in context. Contemporary: The variety of modern, connected technologies covered in the guide addresses a range of teaching challenges. Forward-Looking: The approach bridges the gap between formal classroom learning and informal lifelong learning. Standards-based: Guidelines and standards are based on current research in the field, relevant learning theories, and practitioner experiences. Effective blended learning requires significant rethinking of teaching practices and a fundamental redesign of course structure. Essentials for Blended Learning: A Standards-Based Guide simplifies these difficult challenges without neglecting important opportunities to transform teaching. This guide is suitable for teachers in any content area. Please visit www.essentialsforblended.com for additional resources.
Governance and the Postcolony by
Civil society, NGOs, governments, and multilateral institutions all repeatedly call for improved or 'good' governance - yet they seem to speak past one another. Governance is in danger of losing all meaning precisely because it means many things to different people in varied locations. This is especially true in sub-Saharan Africa. Here, the postcolony takes many forms, reflecting the imperial project with painful accuracy. Offering a set of multidisciplinary analyses of governance in different sectors (crisis management, water, food security, universities), in different locales (including the African Union and specific regional contexts from West Africa, Zambia, to South Africa), and from different theoretical approaches (network to adversarial network governance, and beyond), this volume makes a useful addition to the growing debates on 'how to govern'. It steers away from offering a 'correct' definition of governance, or from promoting a particular position on postcoloniality. It gives no conclusion that neatly sums up all the arguments advanced. Instead, readers are invited to draw their own conclusions based on these differing approaches to and analyses of governance in the postcolony. As a robust, critical assessment of power and accountability in the sub-Saharan context, this collection brings together topical case studies that will be a valuable resource for those working in the field of African international relations, public policy, public management and administration.
Introducing English Language by
Routledge English Language Introductions cover core areas of language study and are one-stop resources for students. Assuming no prior knowledge, books in the series offer an accessible overview of the subject, with activities, study questions, sample analyses, commentaries and key readings ¿ all in the same volume. The innovative and flexible ¿two-dimensional¿ structure is built around four sections ¿ introduction, development, exploration and extension ¿ which offer self-contained stages for study. Each topic can also be read across these sections, enabling the reader to build gradually on the knowledge gained. Introducing English Language: is the foundational book in the Routledge English Language Introductions series, providing an accessible introduction to the English language contains newly expanded coverage of morphology, updated and revised exercises, and an extended Further Reading section comprehensively covers key disciplines of linguistics such as historical linguistics, sociolinguistics and psycholinguistics, as well as core areas in language study including acquisition, standardisation and the globalisation of English uses a wide variety of real texts and images from around the world, including a Monty Python sketch, excerpts from novels such as Virginia Woolf¿s To the Lighthouse, and news items from Metro and the BBC provides updated classic readings by the key names in the discipline, including Guy Cook, Andy Kirkpatrick and Zolt¿D¿rnyei is accompanied by a website with extra activities, project ideas for each unit, suggestions for further reading, links to essential English language resources, and course templates for lecturers. Written by two experienced teachers and authors, this accessible textbook is an essential resource for all students of the English language and linguistics.
Learning Legal Rules by
Among the many new skills law students have to acquire, using legal method and solving legal problems are possibly the most important. Yet all too often these legal skills are ignored, and it is assumed that students will acquire them as they progress through their course.Learning Legal Rules brings together the theory, structure, and practice of legal reasoning in a readily accessible style. The book explains how to uncover and exploit the mysteries of legal materials. This is then used to draw the student into the techniques of legal analysis and argument and theoperation of precedent and statutory interpretation. Throughout the book the authors also examine the importance of human rights and the permeating influence of EC.Online Resource CentreLecturer resourcesTest bank - a ready-made electronic testing resource which can be customised to your teaching needs feedbackSeminar problems - additional seminar exercises to support teachingVLE ContentStudent resourcesGudiance on answering legal problems - working examples of how a lawyer has to approach the material availableGuidance on essay writing - supplements the materials available in chapters 2 and 3Self-test questions - enables students to test their knowledge of issues covered in the bookWeb links - links to other useful websitesGuidance notes on statutory interpretation and case law analysis - an exercise combining elements of case law analysis, reading statutes and statutory interpretation
The Selfless Constitution by
Do you possess 'freedom' - the will to do as you like - as an individual, as a participant in social affairs or as a citizen in the political realm? Well, no. Not as most of us understand a term loaded down with metaphysical baggage. Don't worry. You've got something better: a brain capable of carrying out the most complex analytical; membership in innumerable communities that provide you with huge stores of knowledge; and a politico-constitutional order that ought to provide the material goods and immaterial conditions that will enable you to pursue a life worth valuing. As many recent studies of consciousness reveal, our neurological systems are complex feedback mechanisms designed to create myriad opportunities for trial and error and the production of new stores of knowledge. Individuals - comprised of radically heterogeneous, naturally and socially determined selves - are always experimenting, attempting to divine through reflection and action, what works best: even when 'best' means fully embracing who we already are. A constitutional democracy, made up of millions of radically heterogeneous, densely populated individuals and a myriad of equally complex social formations, should regularly run experiments that attempt to eliminate our biases, and to deliver heuristics that nudge us away from negative defaults toward more optimal ends. Because South Africa's Constitution states only some of the norms that govern our lives, it remains for citizens, representatives and judges to create doctrines and institutions that serve its capaciously framed ends best. After canvassing the most recent literature in neuroscience, empirical philosophy, behavioural psychology, social capital theory, development economics, the capabilities approach and emergent experimental governance, The Selfless Constitution suggests that the promotion of experiments in living, married to a commitment to the expansion of individual capabilities, is likely to produce more optimal ways of being that can be replicated, and further enhanced, by other members of our polity. The book spins out its novel thesis against the concrete backdrop of political arrangements and judicial doctrines that have emerged during the first 18 years of South Africa's truly vibrant constitutional democracy. Its trenchant analysis of South African institutions and case law shows us how far we have come and how far we still have to go.
No Longer Whispering to Power by
Advocate Thuli Madonsela has achieved in her seven years as Public Protector what few accomplish in a lifetime; her legacy and contribution cannot be over-stated. In her final days in office she compiled the explosive State Capture report and, before that, the report on President Jacob Zumas Nkandla residence. Praised and vilified in equal measures, Madonsela has frequently found herself at centre stage in the increasingly fractious South African political scene. Yet, despite the intense media scrutiny, Madonsela remains something of an enigma. Who is this soft-spoken woman who stood up to state corruption? Where did she develop her views and resolve? This book attempts to answer these questions, and others, by exploring many aspects of Madonselas life: her childhood years and family, her involvement in student politics, her contribution to the constitution, her life in law. Madonsela once described her role as Public Protector as being akin to that of the Venda traditional spiritual female leader, the Makhadzi, who whispers truth to the ruler. When the sounds of the exchanges between the ruler and the Makhadzi grow loud, Madonsela said, that is when the whispering has failed. No Longer Whispering to Power is about Thuli Madonselas tenure as Public Protector, during which the whisper grew into a cry. It is the story of the South African peoples attempt to hold power to account through the Office of the Public Protector. More significantly, this important book stands as a record of the crucial work Madonsela has done, always acting without fear or favour.
Writing Essays in English Language and Linguistics by
English language and linguistics shares many of its writing conventions with those of other disciplines, but there are certain features and expectations that distinguish it as a subject. This book is written specifically to help undergraduate students of English language and linguistics develop the art of writing essays, projects and reports. Written by an author with over 30 years' experience of lecturing in the subject, it is a comprehensive and very readable resource and contains numerous discipline-related examples, practice exercises and an answer key. It includes chapters on referencing (including plagiarism, paraphrase and guidance on referencing styles), stylistic issues that often get overlooked, and writing a dissertation. The book offers practical guidance and a layout that guides students as they work though their project. It will be an invaluable reference tool that students can read cover to cover or dip into as and when required.
Helping Doctoral Students Write by
Helping Doctoral Students Write offers a proven approach to effective doctoral writing. By treating research as writing and writing as research, the authors offer pedagogical strategies for doctoral supervisors that will assist the production of well-argued and lively dissertations. It is clear that many doctoral candidates find research writing complicated and difficult, but the advice they receive often glosses over the complexities of writing and/or locates the problem in the writer. Kamler and Thomson provide a highly effective framework for scholarly work that is located in personal, institutional and cultural contexts. The pedagogical approach developed in the book is based on the notion of writing as a social practice. This approach allows supervisors to think of doctoral writers as novices who need to learn new ways with words as they enter the discursive practices of scholarly communities. This involves learning sophisticated writing practices with specific sets of conventions and textual characteristics. The authors offer supervisors practical advice on helping with commonly encountered writing tasks such as the proposal, the journal abstract, the literature review and constructing the dissertation argument. The first edition of this book has helped many academics and thousands of research students produce better written material. Now fully updated the second edition includes: Examples from a broader range of academic disciplines A new chapter on writing from the thesis for peer reviewed journals More advice on reading and note taking, performance and conferences, Further information on developing a personal academic writing style, and Advice on the use of social media (blogs, tweets and wikis) to create trans-disciplinary and trans-national networks and conversations. 　 Their discussion of the complexities of forming a scholarly identity is illustrated throughout by stories and writings of actual doctoral students. In conclusion, they present a persuasive and proven argument that universities must move away from simply auditing supervision to supporting the development of scholarly research communities. Any supervisor keen to help their students develop as academics will find the ideas and practical solutions presented in this book fascinating and insightful reading.