Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Terms and Conditions
Electronic databases by title
Terms and conditions of use
The licence agreements governing the electronic resources available through the University of the Witwatersrand Library permit the content to be used for non-commercial purposes only, by authorised staff and students of the University. The systematic downloading, distribution, printing or retention of substantial portions of content , such as entire journal issues, or the transmitting of online content to mailing lists, is strictly forbidden. Breaches of the University’s contractual arrangements with publishers could result in the suspension of access to the resource for the entire University community.
Remote Access to most of the electronic resources is available to current staff and students of the University. Off-campus users should note that they will be prompted for their staff- or student-number and PIN. For additional assistance, Ask Your Librarian (Khosi 011717-2277)
We have 3 user licenses, so three people can use this at one time. Please logout when you have finished using this resource.
LINK to McGraw-Hill Training session held 14 January 2021 16h00 ( copy URL to your browser and use passcode for access to the recording)
Anatomy TV covers a full range of interactive and accurate 3D models of human anatomy online, with specialised resources on various clinical areas and body systems. Includes comprehensive modules on the human body encompassing 3D anatomy and integrated physiology content..
Limit search term with Publication Type Questionnaire/Scale
ClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialities in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, customised patient education handouts and more. You will ensure that your care teams have access to evidence-based information, so they can answer complex questions related to their patients' conditions. For full access to all features you will need to register from a Wits (on campus) computer using your wits email details and activate the remote access option for 90 days. A link is then sent to your Wits email address which needs to be activated within 60 minutes of your registration. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password. You will be required to reactivate remote access at a Wits networked computer after every 90 days using your wits email details.
NB CLINICALKEY DOES WORK ON IPADS OR ANDROID TABLETS, BUT WITHOUT FULL FUNCTIONALITY
The gold standard source for evidence-based medical information. Includes systematic reviews.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to free full text articles as well as links to WHSL's subscribed content.
We are experiencing problems with remote access to PubMed via any of the libguide or library links. We have escalated the problem to Library Computer Services who are working on the problem. In the interim until there is a solution for remote access( not on Wits Network or Campuses ) please use the url below ( this will need to be typed into or copied into the browser bar)
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Coverage broader than PubMed. Provides citation data and h-index data. Excellent database for physiology.
Includes health sciences, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics. There are some links to full text. A large part of Embase is included.
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)
This is a US , peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Plain English Campaign
Includes useful tools to assist in writing of good Englsh
An electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine. "Designed to provide physicians access to current clinical information. It addresses specific clinical issues in the form of topic reviews. According to UpToDate, it “is designed to get physicians the concise, practical answers they need when they need them most—at the point of care.” Topic reviews are written by physician experts who review the literature then synthesize the information into specific recommendations for diagnosis, management, and therapy." (J.A.Garrison.2003)
You will require a Library PIN to access the e-resources from off campus. If you already have a PIN, use this together with your surname and student number to log on to the e-resources. If you do not have a PIN, you need to create one. Use this guide to help you create a PIN.
Search for library materials and digital content
This search tool allows you to find content from the library catalogue, all the library’s databases, journals, ebooks, the institutional repository WIReDSpace, and unique digital collections only available in the Wits library.
CEBM Stats Calculators
Diagnostic Test - calculates the Sensitivity, Specificity, PPV, NPV, LR+, and LR-
Prospective Study - calculates the Relative Risk (RR), Absolute Relative Risk (ARR), and Number Needed to Treat (NNT)
Case-control Study - calculates the O
Therapy, Risk Reduction, Number Needed to Treat, Harm, Risk Increase, Number Needed to Harm, Diagnosis, Likelihood Ratio, Agreement Calculator (Kappa)
Clinical calculators, creatinine clearance calculator, pharmacist calculators, clinical risk calculator, clinical tools, cancer drug dose calculator, drug potency conversion calculator, pharmacist dispensary calculation, pharmacist dilution calculator, fluid dilution calculator, medical calculator, medical formula calculators
Student Nurse Forum: Nursing Calculators
Dosages, unit conversions, IV rate, Scores, etc.
Calculators used in Cardiology, Critical Care, Emergency Medicine, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Haematology, Hospital Medicine, ID, Nephrology, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Paediatrics, Primary Care, Pulmonology, Rheumatology and Surgery
Search Engines: Google Scholar or Wikipedia or OpenMD or Mednar
Witwatersrand Health Sciences Library
7 York Road
Tel: 011 717-2348