Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Terms and Conditions
Electronic databases by title
Terms and conditions of use
The licence agreements governing the electronic resources available through the University of the Witwatersrand Library permit the content to be used for non-commercial purposes only, by authorised staff and students of the University. The systematic downloading, distribution, printing or retention of substantial portions of content , such as entire journal issues, or the transmitting of online content to mailing lists, is strictly forbidden. Breaches of the University’s contractual arrangements with publishers could result in the suspension of access to the resource for the entire University community.
Remote Access to most of the electronic resources is available to current staff and students of the University. Off-campus users should note that they will be prompted for their staff- or student-number and PIN. For additional assistance, Ask Your Librarian (Khosi 011717-2277)
It is a clinical search engine, including access to full text books, journals, guidelines and multimedia. For full access to all features you will need to register from a Wits (on campus) computer using your wits email details and activate the remote access option for 90 days. A link is then sent to your Wits email address which needs to be activated within 60 minutes of your registration. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password. You will be required to reactivate remote access at a Wits networked computer after every 90 days using your wits email details.
NB CLINICALKEY DOES WORK ON IPADS OR ANDROID TABLETS, BUT WITHOUT FULL FUNCTIONALITY
National Cancer Institute
This includes Cancer Types (with patient information), Clinical Trials, Statistics, Cancer Topics, Physician Data Queries (PDQ), as well as other useful links to information
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to free full text articles as well as links to WHSL's subscribed content.
We are experiencing problems with remote access to PubMed via any of the libguide or library links. We have escalated the problem to Library Computer Services who are working on the problem. In the interim until there is a solution for remote access( not on Wits Network or Campuses ) please use the url below ( this will need to be typed into or copied into the browser bar)
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Coverage broader than PubMed. Provides citation data and h-index data. Excellent database for physiology.
Includes health sciences, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics. There are some links to full text. A large part of Embase is included.
Evidence-based resource for each condition including a summary, definition, aetiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment. There are links to the full text of Martindale. Also includes patient education.
There is BMJ BestPractice app available for Wits users
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; CENTRAL (Controlled Trials); Database of Abstracts of reviews of Effects (DARE). Evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic reviews, clinical trials and reviews of effectiveness. Recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.
Digital Object Identifier
Use this site to find the DOI for a specific journal, essential for citing electronic articles.
Organizes information related to human medical genetics, such as attributes of conditions with a genetic contribution.
ScienceDirect has evolved from a web database of Elsevier Science journals to one of the world s largest providers of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Full text coverage of all Elsevier journals from date of inception to the present.
Spanish National Health System has English translations of clinical practice guidelines, as well as training materials, and materials related to evidence-based medicine
When searching PubMed, use the Limit "Guidelines " under Type of Article. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine
Microsoft Academic (academic.microsoft.com) is a project exploring how to assist human conducting scientific research by leveraging machine’s cognitive power in memory, computation, sensing, attention, and endurance.
Search Engines: Google Scholar or Microsoft Academic or Wikipedia or OpenMD or Mednar
Witwatersrand Health Sciences Library
7 York Road
Tel: 011 717-2348
Using Wits Resources from Home
You will require a Library PIN to access the e-resources from off campus. If you already have a PIN, use this together with your surname and student number to log on to the e-resources. If you do not have a PIN, you need to create one. Use this guide to help you create a PIN.
Creating library PIN
This will help you set a PIN which is essential for making use of library facilities, including opening full text electronic materials.
All Wits databases
For a list of all the University's databases click on the drop down arrow under the tab above: "Databases & Websites", and click on the tab: "All Databases listed Alphabetically"